We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Paseo del Arte(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mediodia(Madrid)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Artrip Hotel(Madrid)
US$87
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

VP Jardin Metropolitano(Madrid)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$74
US$63
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
12
34
32
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
34
32
12
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my grandmother. The hostel is on the second level of an apartment building. The building itself is beautiful. Osvaldo was so friendly every time we saw him. There's someone there 24/7 to open the doors for you. Your key only opens your room. The room was totally basic but all you need. Madrid is lovely and you want to be out all day so it's just a place to sleep. There's gorgeous bars and restaurants around. The shopping along the street nearby is amazing. Walk out of the hostel then left then immediately right (heading north) and you'll find amazing restaurants and shops in the local area rather then turning left onto gran via- tourist area, Main Street.
One negative, it is extremely noisy. People in Spain stay up late and since there's bars nearby you can hear them. There's really loud trucks and construction sounds that also go on through the night. This wasn't an issue too much for me as we were so worn out from the day! But if you're a light sleeper this will frustrate you. Perhaps ask for a room to the left from room 12 but you won't get a window necessarily. And you'll want the fresh air.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Aiyana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

A good reasonably-priced Hostal very close to Gran Via and well within walking distance from Pueto del Sol and Plaza Mayor. Staff very friendly but they have limited English. Rooms clean; typical small balcony with shuttered windows; flat screen TV small and no English channels (ie not even CNN or BBC). Good security from the street door.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCondestable, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Condestable, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017


Thank you very much for taking your time to leave these positive feedback. For us, these comments are the best of the rewards to our efforts to provide the best service in our hands.
At Hostal Condestable we are happy to know that you have enjoyed Madrid and we will be happy to see you again on future visits to Madrid city center. Do not stop visiting our official website to find the best prices and guaranteed conditions at hostalcondestable.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

I heard that the hotel is very noisy in the night and it really is, in my case I arrived to Europe starting in Madrid and I slept in the Condestable 2 nights, first of all, I had jet lag, and when I tried to sleep I couldn't because of the noise, there is not clubs outside there is regular bars but you can hear the noise of somebody walking, talking. The staff is friendly in the terms of Spain (nobody is friendly in Spain) they are direct! The location is great, you can get down in the touristic bus blue lane (Gran Via 30) and walk 2min and you will reach the hotel. Is near of the subway Callao, and you can walk from there to the Puerta de Alcala in 15mn. The room was clean, the restrooms are clean as well and the price is great, doesn't have breakfast but you have many cafeterias really close.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCondestable, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Condestable, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave these feedback. For us, these comments help us improve and look forward to give better service. Sorry about the noise, but some times city center can be like that, we are also putting on new anti-noise windows in the next weeks.
At Hostal Condestable we are happy to know that you have enjoyed Madrid and we will be happy to see you again on future visits to Madrid city center. Do not stop visiting our official website to find the best prices and guaranteed conditions at hostalcondestable.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel room was nice and clean and very convenient in terms of location. There's plenty of space for luggage and the bathroom is just big enough for basic needs.

However, if you are planning to sleep forget about it. The noise from the street is relentless and goes on all night long. Especially when the delivery trucks or garbage collection arrive early in the morning the noise is unbearable.

I asked the gentleman in the front desk to give me a different room but denied me all 4 days.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
3  Thank Alexandris1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCondestable, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Condestable, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear Guest,

First I wanted to thank you devote your time to leave us your rating.
We feel sorry not have lived up to your expectations, your feedback helps us improve. We are aware that a weekend can be noisy, and that is why, we are starting a project soundproofing with double glazed windows and PVC. They will be installed in the coming weeks. We are fully booked this days so it was impossible to change the room, we will always give you a solution if it´s in our hands to do it, sorry about this.
Once again, we will like to apologize as we strive to give the best service and hope that in future visits to Madrid you give us another opportunity with the new facilities now available and installed.

Sincerely,

Noemi Sandor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

This place is nothing flash but perfectly adequate for a short stay. It's in a great location for eating out with plenty of really good restaurants, bars and cafes in the surrounding streets. I'd recommend asking for a room away from the streets as it can be quite noisy. They didn't provide hair dryers in the room and we had to keep asking to borrow one so next time I'd bring my own.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Emza82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCondestable, Responsable de reputación online at Hostal Condestable, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time leaving us this feedback, it always help us to improve.
We are a guesthouse and as you mentioned hairdryer or iron are provided on request at reception.
Hope you had a good time in Madrid.

Best regards,

Noemi Sandor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews