We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Real Jamaica”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ColeBailey Manor

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
9 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mandeville, Manchester Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Nomoneyfo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Jamaica”
Reviewed 25 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019
1
person found this review helpful

We had an impromptu stop over in madeville for a family of four and needed a place to stay and for a last minute stop over and price this place absolutely can not be beaten. It’s basically what the locals call “Country” real rural and hardly any tourists.......like none. We arrived mid afternoon on a random and luckily we managed to get a room that night that sleep 4. We got a taxi from madeville and it seems every taxi driver knows the place and we arrived in quick time. The place is clean and tidy and suited our requirements. If you’re looking for a 5 star concierge type of apartment then this isn’t what your looking for. This is self catering but it has working WIFI which does fluctuate but most of the times it’s bang on. It’s a great dark space for Astro Photography and cooler than other parts of the island. There’s locals around to point you in the right direction and all are very pleasant and helpful. If you need a drink or some authentic fried fish then there’s “Uncle Sam” up the road who’s a great character and runs the bar just a few yards up. All in all it was Avery pleasant stay and we will be returning next year for another stop over and hopefully grab some of “ Uncles Sams” fish

Date of stay: August 2019
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batsonjay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic vacation!!”
Reviewed 2 February 2019 for a stay in January 2019
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I just completed a week's long vacation at Cole Bailey Manor. Our stay there was fantastic! Nothing better than waking up to a beautiful sunrise in the country. Our unit was spacious, quiet, clean and had all the amenities we needed for our stay. Service was excellent with warm, friendly smiles and a great host who took care of our needs. Tours of the island were arranged and I experienced authentic Jamaican culture. This was my first visit to Jamaica and I will certainly be back at Cole Bailey Manor in the future! Thanks Rebecca for a wonderful vacation!

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikuyaso
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing even for the rate”
Reviewed 30 January 2019 for a stay in November 2018

Customer Service could be improved. Including housekeeping, management and security.

Family run business with low standards and sketchy pricing that seems to fluctuate.

Canadian based owner also has no concept of customer service or privacy.

Housekeeping is irregular but friendly. Very little cleaning was done. Dust everywhere, dirty kitchen and bathroom on arrival. Nothing to clean with.

House is not well appointed with basics for a week long stay. Such as dishes, pots, appliances, clothes hangers, bathroom supplies. Towels were all different sizes and colours. Pillows too. Sheets too. No rugs. On and on.

The shower has hot water but zero pressure.

Sometimes burning in the back let’s in a lot of smoke

No AC

No window in the bathroom

TV and WiFi are available. No channels on TV. Some suites don’t have a TV

The location and directions are difficult to get and give others. Taxi got lost. No clear address or signage.

Poorly managed (service hours aren’t clear, inconsistent presence, slow response, grudging accommodation, difficult lady managing the place and some other family are even worse)

Priced at an affordable rate but it’s equally uncomfortable.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyrone188
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Pretty Decent”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This little spot was not bad. It is a little bit out of Mandeville town but it served it's purpose for what I needed at the time.
Somethings were out of their control while I was there and they tried their best to make it right. The cable was spotty due to it being windy and the antenna kept getting blown around on the roof. Not watching Tv didn't bother though because I was hardly there. The solar water heater didn't kick it until my last day there, again, out of their control because the 1st 2 days were rainy and cloudy.
The host was super accommodating and tried everything to make us feel at home and comfortable.
Thank you and will definitely rent again in the future.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you felt the information on the webpage to be misleading.

Cole Bailey Manor is a brand new building which has been operational for just over a year, with modern furnishings and decor. As we pride ourselves in being fair and honest we feel that our description on all media sites are accurate. Below is what is specifically stated on the tripadvisor site:

“Cole Bailey Manor is located in the South Manchester area, close to the town of Mandeville.
Its a two storey apartment building which consists of 9 self contained units, the units sleep from 2-4 people. All units include stocked kitchen, living and dining rooms and balcony space overlooking Manchester's country greenery.
Cole Bailey Manor is a quick 12 minute drive into the town of Mandeville and 20 minutes from Little Ochi where you can enjoy an authentic Jamaican seafood meal.”

All potential guests are made aware that the manor is a guest house and not a typical hotel and certainly not a motel. Once a reservation is made we always ask that expected arrival time is communicated to us and updated accordingly; as we understand that there can be delays while travelling. Due to the nature of our business, there is not a full time staff on the premises. Staff is available based on reservation bookings. However, staff can always be contacted via phone and will do their best to address any requests or concerns in a timely manner.

While we do realize that our location is not for everyone, being in a quiet area outside of Mandeville; we compensate for the location by offering an exceptional rate not comparable to guest homes, hotels or motels in the city.

Thank you for your comments, all feedback is taken under review as to help us to continue to grow and improve.

Cole Bailey Manor
Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.