We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place. Tranquil. But not quite perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Masseria Fortificata San Francesco
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Matera
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Wow!

One word!

It is a beautiful oasis - on a remote hillside on the very edge of town, in keeping with Matera's cave-like dwellings. Perfectly appointed; large bedrooms (we had a suite near the pool area); which looked brand new, and were spotlessly clean. Mini-bar (but had to pay for anything); coffee machine (two free pods a day); walk-in rain shower; flat-screen TV with lots of channels. Even a weird separate smoking "room" at the rear of each room.

The pool area is even more beautiful - well proportioned sunbathing beds, umbrellas, free towels... and a wonderful infinity pool over-looking the amazing hillside opposite. Just gorgeous. Quiet and peaceful and romantic. We were out-of-season (September), so there were only half a dozen other couples there... but there aren't that many bedrooms, so would hope would be the same at peak times.

Gardens are equally amazing, as you walk up to reception and breakfast.

Breakfast was a little disappointing. In an amazing cave room, but the choice limited. Orange juice had run out by 9.30am (with no more); bread limited (no croissants); nice ham, but only tiny slices of cheese; some OK cold pizza; no fruit (apart for some grapes); loads and loads of cakes (nice, but a little odd that this was the focus); great coffee freshly made; and a huge honey comb. It felt very much Five Star, but lacked the delivery - perhaps better at peak season.

Worth pointing out it is out of town, and not an easy walk in, so need to drive. Would be lovely if they had a bar in the hotel or something

Room Tip: The suites by the pool are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

next time we´ll definitly come back to Masseria Fortificata San Francesco
very nice area if you like to have a silent hotel, first class rooms which offers very great comfort , see the wonderful landscap and enjoy the breakfast

Room Tip: rooms to the south offers the best viwe and are very quit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans-Christoph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We loved this beautiful tranquil hotel, just outside the town, which is a stunning place to visit. A car is advisable unless your keen to walk which is also possible. The staff were so welcoming and although we don't speak much Italian they were always keen to help and we managed to get everything we needed. We were lucky enough to get this hotel mostly to ourselves as it was late in the season and newly opened, I think probably a one off as it's fantastic. The pool area is beautiful and we spent afternoons with a bottle of wine from the bar and some deli style meats and bread from the town, just perfect. The hotel only provided breakfast when we stayed which was very good, that suited us just fine as the restaurant options in Matera are fabulous, and not too expensive. We would recommend this hotel, and hope to visit Matera again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Beautiful relaxing resort with excellent new, large, fully equipped and nicely decorated rooms with a beautiful pool.
Meditative environment, ideal for winding down and reenergize after sightseeing or a long day.
B’fast is served in an authentic cave, tastefully renovated to today’s standard.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IsidoroGeretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We got a good discount just ahead of the high season, with the hotel not very busy. Our room included use of the pool (dramatic views) and mid-level breakfast (also discounted). Room was quite elegant, much above what we found in smaller cities in the Italian south. A quick drive into town, with lot of free parking on site makes this a good choice for those with a car. Matera, BTW, is a must see if you are anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank born_to_run_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
2.8 km away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
2.5 km away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
2.8 km away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#6 of 32 in Matera
478 reviews
2.7 km away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
2.2 km away
Basiliani Hotel
Basiliani Hotel
#3 of 32 in Matera
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Fortificata San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Fortificata San Francesco

Address: Contrada San Francesco, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Matera
Price Range: RM 526 - RM 1,347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria Fortificata San Francesco 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Masseria Fortificata San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing