We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
US$254
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agli Archi(Matera)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
127
31
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
31
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful oasisother guestsamazing placelocation is greatpoolcheesesuitereceptiontowncarcave
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

next time we´ll definitly come back to Masseria Fortificata San Francesco
very nice area if you like to have a silent hotel, first class rooms which offers very great comfort , see the wonderful landscap and enjoy the breakfast

Room Tip: rooms to the south offers the best viwe and are very quit
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans-Christoph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We loved this beautiful tranquil hotel, just outside the town, which is a stunning place to visit. A car is advisable unless your keen to walk which is also possible. The staff were so welcoming and although we don't speak much Italian they were always keen to help and we managed to get everything we needed. We were lucky enough to get this hotel mostly to ourselves as it was late in the season and newly opened, I think probably a one off as it's fantastic. The pool area is beautiful and we spent afternoons with a bottle of wine from the bar and some deli style meats and bread from the town, just perfect. The hotel only provided breakfast when we stayed which was very good, that suited us just fine as the restaurant options in Matera are fabulous, and not too expensive. We would recommend this hotel, and hope to visit Matera again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Beautiful relaxing resort with excellent new, large, fully equipped and nicely decorated rooms with a beautiful pool.
Meditative environment, ideal for winding down and reenergize after sightseeing or a long day.
B’fast is served in an authentic cave, tastefully renovated to today’s standard.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IsidoroGeretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We got a good discount just ahead of the high season, with the hotel not very busy. Our room included use of the pool (dramatic views) and mid-level breakfast (also discounted). Room was quite elegant, much above what we found in smaller cities in the Italian south. A quick drive into town, with lot of free parking on site makes this a good choice for those with a car. Matera, BTW, is a must see if you are anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank born_to_run_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Located just a little outside the old town and the Sassi is this stunning Masseria with gorgeous and well-attended rooms, and a pool of its own. Hotels in the Sassi are stunning but from chatting with others, we got the impression that hotels in the area often have a more rustic feel, and are geared to B&B style stays. Certainly none of them have a pool , and lots of space to lounge by it! This Masseria is in a league of its own.

Parking is available and there is plenty of it, which is harder in town, another tick in the box!

The service here is incredible and the team really couldn’t do enough for us, friendly and polite and always available for any request. The rooms were made up in minutes whilst we were at breakfast with fresh towels and everything tidied.

The Masseria is about a 10 Euro cab ride into town, which goes up to 20 Euro after 11pm. The concierge team can book for you.
You could walk it if you felt like it and it’s about 40 minutes. Better to walk back to the Masseria as it is downhill.

Breakfast is served in the main dining room, which often hosts weddings and parties as well so is a beautiful cave space styled beautifully. Lots of breads, sweet cakes, healthy yoghurts, juices and fruit available, as well as meat and cheese for a continental style breakfast. Advised to try and get there earlier to avoid being disappointed when everything gets eaten by the other guests!

We had a Dolce Gusto Coffee Machine in the room, so if you plan ahead you can bring yourself some capsules! They are replaced each day and you get a couple for free, and they are only a couple of Euro each if you want more.

During the day if you are hanging by the pool, there is a small menu of meat and cheeses with fruit platters and plenty of drinks. Not full-on meals, but filling and good value for money.

We cannot recommend the Masseria enough – the pool alone is worth experiencing, especially in the hot September sun.

Room Tip: The family suites near the pool are quiet and a quick walk to the pool
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TonyWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews