We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This is a great hotel. We came to Matera to see the antiquity of the place but the fresh, modern ambience of this hotel is highly refreshing. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The staff, which I suspect are members of the one family, are just delightful. Most gracious and helpful. The hotel is about 2km out of the main town, but I see this as an advantage. Finding any hotel in the main town would be difficult. It is a short taxi ride to all facilities and the hotel arranges it all. Easy. In short, fabulous.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank 255060John_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2016

Situated just off a main road this hotel is about 3 Km from the centre of town. Nice modern and boutique style hotel has 16 rooms and 3 villas. Reception staff speak good English and are warm, friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious, well fitted and comfortable. Unfortunately there were no English channels available in the TV. Breakfast is simple but adequate. Certainly a good place to park yourself on a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Raja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review!
We are very happy that you have appreciated your stay!
We are sorry for the lack of English channels. We will add this service as soon as possible.
We really hope to see you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The place is just on the outskirts of Matera, easy to access, plenty of car park and easy access if we kids. We stayed in an apartment: nice kitchen area (small fridge, stove and plenty of plates and cultelery :) with a sofa bed where our 2 daughters slept. Nice bathroom and big enough bedroom. The wardrobe is in the kitchen/living room space. The breakfast is nice but european (nice fresh pizza!). The surroundings of the hotel are not that nice but the little garden at the back is very pretty. The place is on the road leading to the park and the Belvedere( few kms only).
The best thing about this place, beside being very clean and new, is the people: extremely nice and helpfull!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gabrimar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review!
It is very important for us knowing that your stay was good and that you have appreciated everything! We are also very happy to know that the staff was nice and helpful, we always try to do our best to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible!
We really hope to see you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Very clean, light, modern hotel. Large terrace for lounging on or having breakfast outside. Good sized bedroom with en suite shower, loo, bidet and basin. Excellent shower. Lovely white fluffy towels. Although situated on a busy road, the hotel is extremely quiet. We had a good night's sleep in comfortable beds. We also had a small kitchenette with fridge. Double doors opened out onto a communal balcony with far reaching views across the valley.
Good breakfast. No other food is served here.
Only downside is the difficulty we had in actually finding the hotel. The satnav said the road didn't exist and we ended up on an industrial estate ! Finally found it quite by accident. The management are looking into this as I fear custom may be lost as a result. It is several miles from the old town so getting there can be difficult until you have done it a few times in a car. If at all unsure of driving, I would suggest a taxi.
Hopefully, the above won't put people off as it deserves to be a success. The staff couldn't have done more for us, especially Lorenzo and Sylvia.

Room Tip: We had room 208 at the back of the hotel and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandim203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!!!
It is very important for us knowing that you have enjoyed your stay very much!
We are happy that you liked everything and that the staff has done the best for you! Thank you!!!
We are very sorry for the difficulty you had to find the hotel.
The menagement is providing in these days to solve this problem with new signage.
We hope to see you again!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Has everything you want for a 1/2 night stay visiting Matera. Large comfortable rooms and reception staff who speak English. When visiting Matera 3 miles away day or night the parking is horrendous, so get clear instructions to go to a pay car park, or better still get the hotel to arrange taxi, let them fix the price, we paid too much. The 'Resort and Beauty' facility is only a dream, no building start in the plans yet, which is a shame, would be great to relax in after walking round the amazing sights in Matera.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank smithbenrhydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you very much for your review!
It is very important for us knowing our guests' opinion about their stay!
We are happy that you appreciated the large and comfotable rooms of the hotel and that our suggestions about car parking were useful.
The "Resort and Beauty" facility will soon become true. The owners are doing their best to ensure that service in the shortest time as possible!
We hope to have you as our guests again...Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
2.6 km away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
2.3 km away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
2.6 km away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 32 in Matera
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel San Giorgio Matera Albergo Diffuso nei Sassi
2.4 km away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
2.9 km away
Basiliani Hotel
Basiliani Hotel
#3 of 32 in Matera
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty

Address: Contrada La Vaglia sn, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Matera
Price Range: RM 347 - RM 747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole is an ancient typical house renovated in original style, with all modern comforts. Surrounded by the Parco della Murgia Materana landscape, the hotel is situated in a wide area of 18th century quarries. The hotel has an elegant ambiance, comfortable and wide rooms, terraces with beautiful view, garden with native plants.Guests can choose between 16 rooms with different kind of furniture and design accessories. 3 rooms are independent apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing