We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Hotel in Pietra
Nearby Hotels
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita(Matera)
US$1,339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sassi(Matera)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$118
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
US$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel(Matera)
US$435
US$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$377
US$366
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
559
144
13
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
144
13
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentury churchold churchthree levelstrap doorspiral staircasebeautiful hotelboutique hoteldeluxe roomsound systemunique experiencesmall roomheavy bagslower levelrock churchcave hotelsplit levelloved matera
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Is you are headed to Matera don’t miss the chance to stay at this beautiful place
It’s a renovated ancient church from the 12th century. I am a solo traveler and stayed in the small single room and was amazed by the comfort, style, price, cleanliness and ambiance.
I had the pleasure of viewing some of the other larger rooms and they were exquisite. Just blown away by the style and what they have done with this old genuine place. The breakfast that is included was bountiful and delicious. What a selection! The owner and his team are super friendly and helpful in every way. I cannot say enough good things to say about this place!!
PS. The location and view alone is reason to stay here!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank marmaowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

The 9 bedroom L'Hotel in Pietra is in the heart of Sasso Barisano, reached by flights of stone steps from a nearby piazza. Formerly a thirteenth century rock church with adjoining caves it has been transformed with great care and imagination into a hotel of remarkable beauty and simplicity with all modern comforts. Each room has a window and dehumidifier along with a mini-bar, air-conditioning/heating and other facilities. Roberto, the owner, and his staff could not be more helpful and attentive and the warmth of their welcome and the love of their environment mean one feels immediately at home. Matera is a magical place and the staff at L';Hotel in Pietra want to help guests understand and enjoy it to the full. A small outdoor seating area affords wonderful views in which to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting. There are good restaurants in the immediate vicinity and the town with its shops and museums is also nearby. A more rewarding experience than a stay in L'.Hotel in Pietra I cannot Imagine.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank adevoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We stayed in 1004, the suite which was Simply amazing. This boutique hotel is somewhat magical, and when you learn that it is an old church that has been discovered and then refurbished, you appreciate the effort that has gone into making it what it is today.
We spent the first few minutes wandering around the suite, taking it all in. The bathroom was without doubt our favourite place, which we we spent plenty of time relaxing in. Candle lit with a movie on the laptop! perfect.
This hotel, is simply perfect, and surrounded by lots of sights and history to take in, when you eventually leave the suite.
Breakfast here was the perfect choice of pastries, meats and fruits accompanied by great coffee.
Staff here will do anything they can to make your visit perfect, and are excellent at giving you the benefit of their local knowledge.
We will most certainly return here in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I stayed in L'Hotel in Pietra's single room, a cozy little space just off the main patio that was great for a solo traveller. The location is right in the middle of the sassi but very quiet, and you have beautiful views of the cathedral out of your window. The staff were friendly and helpful, and made a solo traveller feel fully welcome.

The room has a single bed, chair with a small shelf, fridge and compact bathroom and rainfall shower, decent TV and a built-in radio/sound system - so all you need without any waste. Yet unlike some single rooms, everything was comfortable and high-end (great bed and bedding, for example). Any time I wanted more space, I just want to the main room of the B&B, which had good fast wifi and plenty of comfortable sofas.

The breakfast was very good - plenty of options, including great cappuccino, baked goods, etc.

Absolutely loved it and would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeMidd2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Stayed here for three nights and want to thank Francesca, Marta, Lucia and Roberto..
Stayed in room 1009 which has 4 windows overlooking the valley so the views are gorgeous. Location is very central as well. We just loved Matera and both the town and this hotel exceeded our expectations.
Room has great windows and door hardware, HUGE shower and really comfortable, firm bed. Lighting is well done. Fast wifi.
Good breakfast served in the main hall.
Room tip — room 1009 is right on top of the hotel but entry is from a back lane, so don't haul your luggage down to below to check in as you will just have to drag it back up again.
We have no hesitation recommending this property.

Room Tip: Room 1009 has the best view. Every time you go b6 a window you just have to look out.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DUHCAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews