We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small characterful comfortable boutique hotel.”
Review of Albergo del Sedile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo del Sedile
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a few days in August 2015. The hotel is right at the top of Matera and conveniently located within walking distance of the entire old town. The only downside of that is that if you descend into the valley to sample the many outstanding restaurants then you have to allow for quite a few stairs back up to the hotel. Or you may take the view that it's free exercise you'd pay for elsewhere and helps to burn off some of those delicious excess calories you've just been eating and drinking...

The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and stylish but ladies will notice the lack of a dressing table. Our room had a shower but others have baths if you prefer them. A minor complaint is that a table and a couple of chairs would have been appreciated; if located near a window that would have also sorted out the dressing table problem.

The room has a fridge and a safe, but the safe is a little small by the latest standards and so we couldn't fit all our cameras and lenses inside and the laptop had to take its chances outside the safe. On the plus side, it's not an easy hotel for strangers to just wander into. They have to pass the front desk which doubles as a coffee and refreshment bar and then get in the single lift, or must enter via the stairs and back door using a resident's key.

The hotel has a breakfast room serving a cold buffet, the selection was limited but good quality and there was a member of staff present to attend to our requests for properly boiling water (to make tea) and to keep things clean tidy and replenished. Little things matter: the buffalo mozzarella at the breakfast buffet was absolutely the very finest my wife and I have ever tried, and was served as small hand-knotted pieces which gave it a wonderful texture.

The hotel has free wifi but our room (101) was too far from the router to get it. But just after the breakfast area is a small and comfortable lounge area for guests and the signal was fine there.

In the few days we were staying we appeared to be the only guests except for one night when signs were seen of one other room having been booked.

Only one receptionist spoke English and while we were staying she was there for the afternoon and evening shifts, but the other staff and ourselves still managed to communicate adequately for most things.

Very happy with this little gem of a four star hotel and would have no regrets staying there again. And Matera is so wonderful that we really hope to return there at some point for another few days.

Room Tip: Room 101 has great views (and a circular bed!) but is too far from the wifi router to get a signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obertelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Perfect 4-star hotel in the Centre of Matera. Breakfast was ok. Hotel room was very clean and friendly staff. If we would return to Matera, we would stay there again. We had the junior suite and we can recommend it!!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

The outstanding aspect of this hotel, besides its good location, was the kindness its employees showed an exhausted American tourist. After arriving 10 hours earlier than I had reserved, a clerk showed me a room where I promptly showered and rested. When I arrived there in early July, I did not see many American tourists. It was also difficult to find Materans who spoke English. Thanks especially to Maria at Albergo del Sedile for all of her help to me: locating a guide and sending me to her family's good restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony facing away from Piazza dei Sedile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

This hotel has perfect location: in the center of Matera. My room had great view on the beautiful square. Every evening the music was coming from the music school which was near. The coffee was great and the room very nice.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank DiDi_girly_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

The location of this hotel is amazing! Right in the center of the old city, walking distance to anywhere. It's new, very modern and also offers nice breakfast.
The standard double room was huge!! With a balcony overlooking the city. Unfortunately there was an ants issue in the room so we were moved to the junior suite - which was strangely smaller and with a see through tab located right behind the bed - uncomfortable to say the least.
Staff was nice and welcoming. Would definitely recommend this hotel but go for the standard room, not the suite :)
They also offered valet parking for 20 Euros per day, very convenient as there's no parking around the hotel.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank taranmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.8 km away
Casino Ridola Hotel Relais
0.4 km away
Hotel San Domenico Al Piano
0.2 km away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.3 km away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#6 of 32 in Matera
478 reviews
2.5 km away
Masseria Fortificata San Francesco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Sedile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Sedile

Address: Recinto del Sedile 4, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Matera
Price Range: RM 213 - RM 938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo del Sedile 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Albergo del Sedile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing