We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view and more!!”
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Reviewed 10 May 2017

My work ski club picks a ski destination and a non ski destination for its spring european ski trip. This year it was Cortina for skiing and Amalfi for non skiing.

We were so lucky to have selected this beautiful hotel! Breakfast each morning was included and we were on our own for dinner. The dining room was beautiful before went on our Amalfi excursions each day, but there is plenty to do within walking distance of the hotel including restaurants, history, churches, the beach and more. A great place to call your Amalfi home base. I would love to come back here again!!

Room Tip: All rooms have partial or full view of the bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank astrojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore H, Direttore at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thanks for the nice review of the hotel, your home in Amalfi.
It is interesting to combine sea and mountains.
As you can see, Amalfi is interesting even in the winter.
Our hotel is ideal for stays all months.
Come back, we'll wait for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

The only thing going for this hotel is location. Good location. And that's it. Rooms are awful. The basic room is just that. Basic. With an awful awful smell. Was forced to get an upgrade. The superior rooms aren't that much better. Very basic, bad wifi, bad service. This hitel should do better for the prices they charge.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank Derin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore H, Direttore at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for your judgment.
Sorry for not being able to fully meet your expectations, and we apologize.
Our rooms have all the traditional furnishings of our coast with different ceramics in each room.
Superior rooms have a jacuzzi bath and a balcony directly on the sea.
The location and convenience of access are our strengths.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

I love this hotel and would highly recommend it. It is perfectly located very close the the center of Amalfi, close to the pier to pick up boats for excursions, and close to pick up a bus or taxi. Rooms have amazing views, the hotel is very clean and staff are excellent. I have stayed in many hotels in Amalfi and on the Amalfi Coast, and I prefer this one for the reasons mentioned above.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

It is definitely not a 4 stars hotel. The room is very poorly furnished and the bed is very low quality. But the worst thing is the smell in the room. It stinks of naftalina! It made me feel sick! Good that we booked it only for 1 night, as I would run away even without refund. It is a shame because the building decorations are nice and location & view are great. They should take a better care of it!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore H, Direttore at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Sorry for not meeting your needs.
Our staff always airs all the rooms and we do not use artificial scents, we are lucky to have great sea air.
We are committed to improving every time.
Our Superior Rooms are recently renovated and would certainly have pleased you more.
If you return to book a Superior or a Prestige that will surely satisfy you more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel with a beautiful view - good friendly service, rooms could use a bit of attention but overall a really lovely hotel. 1st floor balconies are stunning overlooking the sea. Staff definitely deserve 5 bubbles!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank HelenaHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore H, Direttore at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

thanks for judgment
There is pleasure to know the memories that we leave in them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
0.1 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 km away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
659 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
831 reviews
0.3 km away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare Dei Cavalieri di Gerusalemme 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: RM641 - RM1,400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing