We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Excellent Staff, Nice Family Stay”
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Hotel is situated well. Walk anywhere in Amalfi town from here. Lots of restaurants nearby. The hotel is family run and everyone cares and is willing to help. They have parking at a nominal cost and want to arrive, park and then walk around. The rooms are comfortable and air conditioning is good. We had a sea facing room with balcony which was great. Staff keeps place clean.

For improvements, hotel can upgrade its towels, they are showing their age. Near beach so perhaps provide existing towels as beach towels. The bed mattresses can also begin to be changed. The bathroom fixtures are fine, lighting and A/C are fine. Sea breeze comes in for rooms facing sea. The have elevators and stairs, and breakfast service is nice. Very helpful staff in recommending things to do. I would go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing room with balcony. Inform them that you need parking early when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shehryar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

I really wanted to like this hotel for all its old school 60's charm, but nothing about this hotel is 4 stars. I'm a fair reviewer, but wow. It's not charming, it's terrible.

Pros
I'm fair as a reviewer but I had to really stretch to find some pros: terrace area off room. location that's metres from the water. Private swim deck for guests. Good coffee. friendly servers at breakfast.

Cons
To say I was deflated by the tiny room with chipped floor tiles and dirty gold satin bedspread would be an understatement. The shower stall was so small I had to scrape skin to get in. Unable to move as it meant bumping the mixer tap off!
The toiletries were tattered old sachets and a mini cake soap that remain untouched. Bed was two old singles pushed together.
Only English Channel was CNN. Useless wifi. A front desk that had zero interest in guests.

Breakfast buffet: u can't ruin toast. Package included dinners but i chose to pay to eat elsewhere. I didn't trust the kitchen would be up to scratch.

It needs a huge makeover to become 4 stars again. the vibe i got was that the owners know this but are just too weary. Just resting on their location.

You can find better. Like the hotel in The Shining.

Nb: I paid a 4 star rate via a Viator package and will reserve my overall complaint for them. I have done my best to review this hotel on its own merits.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank 2007jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore H, Direttore at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

We gladly found that our location was our 4th floor terrace and "Good coffee. Friendly servers at breakfast"
Too bad you did not want to try our restaurant. We could have amazed you with good service and great local produce.
We have different types of rooms, unfortunately for the contract you were with your agency, maybe you received a room that you did not like.
Every year we work and improve the services, renovate some rooms, hopefully next time you will book a larger room.
We are waiting for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Very old, smells, wifi doesn't work fast and old retired crowd stays here. Worst part is we got married in this hotel and we didn't even receive a congratulations. Forget a congratulation card or bottle of wine but not even a recognition. My wedding planner had this hotel arranged for us so they knew 9 months ahead we would be staying here and should have been prepared to have made us feel special. If your hotel is this old and doesn't meet my needs and standards of cleanliness, at least be nice so I can have good memories and want to come back for the sake of good customer service. I don't recommend staying here there are plenty of other hotels nearby with cleaner, newer, better wifi with better service.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Aline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore H, Direttore at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for your judgment

We like to see that our location, our beautiful terrace on the 4th floor was positive.

The kindness of our staff is highly appreciated by everyone, every day we do our best to help our guests.
Sorry if you did not appreciate our help in your ceremony, which you celebrated in another structure of Amalfi, not us.
We hope Amalfi has left a good memory in you
Wishes for a happy matrimonial life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

My husband and I and another couple had adjoining rooms in June for two nights. There were lovely views from each room and a fourth floor lounging area with more spectacular views. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Nice selection of breakfast and a bar off the large lobby. Best of all was parking was included which is very hard to find in Amalfi!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore H, Direttore at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for your judgment
We like to see that it has found our location positive, our beautiful terrace on the 4th floor and ... the parking lot.
We are one of the few hotels in the center to have private car parking
The kindness of our staff is highly appreciated by everyone, every day we do our best to help our guests.
We are delighted that Amalfi has left a good memory in you
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We stayed for six nights. Very cheerful and helpful staff. Loved them, very helpful and extremely knowledgable. . The furnishings need to be updated, otherwise clean. Enjoyed our terrace so much, beautiful view and having coffee in the morning on the terrace with the room service breakfast was such a treat. The terrace on the top floor has an amazing view of the Amalfi, unfortunately we did not have enough time to take a drink upstairs to enjoy it at night. The breakfast was not too bad. Hope there's a next time. Centrally located, restaurants all around, loved the restaurant right across from the hotel, service impeccable and great food. Will def visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hasmig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
0.1 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 km away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
659 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
831 reviews
0.3 km away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare Dei Cavalieri di Gerusalemme 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: RM575 - RM1,399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing