We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option”
Review of Il Giglio Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Giglio Bianco
Ranked #98 of 143 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We stayed 3 nights at this place. Our experience was probably a bit different from the usual as the owner and wife were away as the wife was giving birth. This means that we were looked after by the brother who actually lived 30 minutes away. Prior to arrival, we phoned the place saying that we'd arrive between 14:00 and 15:00. So at 14:00 on the given day, we are at the door and no answer. I had to call and the brother's owner said he was on his way and that he'd be with us in 15 minutes (which means 30 minutes in Italy). Not very impressed to have had to wait 30 minutes at the door while I made the effort to give an arrival time. Anyhow, the brother was very nice.
The B&B was really good. Nice and clean room. The private balcony is a real highlight. The room was cleaned every day. Good bathroom.
The breakfast is good too.
Again because there was nobody in the B&B apart from at breakfast time, it meant that in case of issues, you couldn't ask anyone. Example: the coffee machine didn't work on the day we arrived so we were not able to make a coffee. There was no more milk n the coffee machine. Also, the air con unit was a bit noisy (even when off) and it would have been nice to ask someone about it.
I think the negative points I've made are due to the fact that the owner was away. The B&B has many good points. The location is great and the price is fair.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2015

I'm really disappointed with this B&B for a number of reasons which I will list below:

The owners - We were barely acknowledged by the owners while we were here, I felt as if they couldn't be bothered with us. On one occasion we heard the couple having a very aggressive argument in the whole which is completely inappropriate and also very concerning. On leaving the B&B my boyfriend and I went to get cash to pay, I thought the owner was going to turn us upside down and shake the money from us! It was as if he thought we were going to run away without paying even though we had nothing with us but our bank cards. After my boyfriend paid we never saw him again, not even to say goodbye or help us with our bags.

Cleanliness - In the week we stayed here the room was not cleaned and the bed sheets were not changed once. My boyfriend had a small nosebleed one night and instead of changing the sheets the pillow was simply turned over. Our towels were only changed once but even when "clean" they were grey and smelly.

Facilities - The hairdryer was broken (surely this should be checked?), the TV did not work, the balcony light did not work and the fridge was very noisy, the fridge in the communal area was moldy, there was food and mold splattered on the walls in the breakfast area

The location of the property is very good for Sorrento but apart from that I was extremely let down by this B&B. You could definitely find better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat_binn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

Giglio Bianco is located on third floor of lovely old apartment building...excellent location for walking just 10 minutes to SITA bus stop (access to Amalfi, Possitano, etc.) and Circumvesuviana train station (access to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Napoli). Clean and comfortable...lovely balcony views of nearby villas, green spaces, and hills...had air conditioning but did not need it. Salvatore gave excellent dining suggestion (Trattoria di Emilia).Nice, large airy room. We would return!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We had a wonderful time here. No disappointment at all. Mario and Salvatore are really nice persons, we are glad to meet them. We can recommend them and we got what we expected. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Close to the city center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank timibp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Giglio Bianco and were delighted with our stay. Our room was spacious and spotless with a lovely balcony, which was very much appreciated. It had everything we needed. Breakfast was typically Italian (lots of pastries, biscuits, yoghurt and coffee) and very nicely presented. The location was perfect, just out of the hustle-and-bustle of the main streets but very convenient and close to a little grocery shop and other amenities. Angelo was incredibly helpful and even picked us up at the station. The hike up the stairs may not suit everyone but it was fine for us and we, and other guests, were offered help with their luggage. Hard to beat in the price range - would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank laurakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 km away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,025 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio Bianco

Address: Via Parsano 25 | località S. Lucia, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: RM312 - RM860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B located in an historic and aristocratic building in the Centre of Sorrento with budget and spacious rooms. Free WI_FI for all guests. This is one of the few bed and breakfast located precisely in the heart of Sorrento. There is no need to take either car or public transport to visit Sorrento and both the train station and harbor where Ferries leave for Capri and Ischia are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Il Giglio Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing