We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Gnocchi!”

Chef Squillante al Ghibli
Reserve with
Chef Squillante al Ghibli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 290 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$71
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Ghibli was recommended by our hotel. The food was very good; however, the gnocchi was the best I've ever had. It absolutely melted in my mouth. Both my husband and I loved it.
Be sure to take a jacket if you go on a chilly night.
The owners son, picked us and another couple up at our hotel, There was a little confusion as to how we were going to get back due to May Day. However, it was all sorted and the young man that picked us up also returned us. We promised to bring him back a beautiful Canadian girl to marry when we return to Italy! :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lolla_b4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant_Ghibli, Direttore at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit to Ghibli restaurant. It’s our pleasure to know all your expectations were exceeded and you were satisfied with our food and atmosphere.
We all look forward (especially me, because of the promise) to welcoming you back in the near future!
Kind regards
Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by a local. If you want fresh seafood this is the place for you. The starters were delicious and unusual. Freshly baked bread was served with the starters. We had the fish of the day cooked in a crust of bread and salt, excellent. The desserts were divine! Good wine list. Highly recommend it.

Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant_Ghibli, Proprietario at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for recommending us. We are pleased you enjoyed dining in our restaurant and look forward to welcome you in the very near future.
Best regards,
the Squillante family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Nice location on the beach but it was April so not very warm and the gazebo had lots of draughty gaps so not that comfortable. Food was good and reasonable service though staff were in a hurry and didn't speak that much English. Food was good but not quite up to our expectations. Probably good if warmer and more guests

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lothome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant_Ghibli, Proprietario at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are sorry to read, you left with a bad view regarding our costumer service, however we are glad that you appreciate the food. I will personally discuss your comment with the entire team in order to make improvement, where necessary. The quality of service and the quality of food for us are very important and we have to ensure the whole team is respecting this.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
The Squillante Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Lovely location. Great service. Great food
Atmosphere not quite refined but they make it up in the service and taste.
They sent a car to pick us up from the hotel to avoid the steps and at the end got us back.
Its a Family run restaurant where the the husband is the Chef and the wife and sons are serving.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NJTriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant_Ghibli, Proprietario at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review and for the compliments. It’s a great satisfaction for us to know that our clients appreciate the constant efforts we made to make sure our guests are fully satisfied. Your review it’s a great incentive to keep working hard.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Squillante Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Nice owners, solid cuisine, not quite a refined atmosphere. The cuisine as what you would expect and top half of solid restaurant quality but i was expecting more based on the 4 1/2* reviews. I was there for lunch but I'm betting the dinner atmosphere brings it up a notch. Try it for dinner... grilled calamari was good and the ravioli were tasty.

Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant_Ghibli, Proprietario at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear Mr. Eric,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments about us here on TripAdvisor. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day ,to provide that quality customers service is that our guests expect.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
the Squillante family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef Squillante al Ghibli also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Chef Squillante al Ghibli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing