We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have luggage take a cab”
Review of Hotel Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Girasole
Ranked #59 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you have luggage take a cab”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We really likes the staff who were friendly and very helpful, the hotel was clean with great views and the breakfast was nice.. Only draw back was that it was quite a walk to the town center or dock. We had quite a bit of luggage, as we were on a 3 week trip, they told us to get off the stop before Sorrento and walk - there were lots of stairs at the station and a very narrow and bumpy sidewalk. Leaving we took a cab to Sorrento - much easier and no stairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    191
    55
    25
    11
See reviews for
123
300
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had a great time at the Girasole Hotel. All the staff were friendly and always ready to offer help. The rooms were always clean and tidy. The food quality was fantastic. Our boys especially loved the lunch menu of Lasagna and we loved David`s special. We would recommend this hotel to all our friends and hope to go back some time soon.
From Tony , Renata, Gianni and Rocco Coviello

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel has some of the nicest staff you could wish for. It is not often the hotel manager comes and waves you off personally, but here they did! The view from our room was amazing, a full view of Mount Vesuvius and some pretty gardens. The room was basic but had all you needed. The only downside we found is that it is very noisy in the mornings. We could even hear alarms going off in other peoples rooms, which resulted in no lay in's past about 7.30am.The location was good, with the circumvesuviana just a short walk away (St Agnello station, 15 mins walk) and a short (30 min) walk down to Sorrento. The walk is not hazardous (although there is not much of a pavement) but I am not sure I would want to attempt it with small children. The staff are very helpful suggesting good restaurants and trying to accomodate everyones wishes. All in all a really nice, reasonably priced and friendly hotel, just not great if you want a lay in!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the garden for a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayReviews1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Having decided to go back again almost as soon as we got home last year, because it had been so relaxing, we were not disappointed this year. We were greeted like long lost friends by Rita, the management and their staff.
This is a 3-Star hotel and the rooms were good at that standard. I preferred our room on the 2nd floor last year because it had a better view of the bay, but a room on the first floor is a relief after you have walked back from Sorrento in the heat.
The breakfasts were very nice with a good cold selection of food from cereals to cooked meats.
The pool, set in the lovely citrus orchard, is very relaxing and good snacks are available at lunchtime until 3pm.
The hotel is a 20 minute walk from Sorrento centre but we never found that a problem, though it may be for older guests. The pavement is very narrow near the hotel but you can cross the road near the chapel whilst you can still see both ways !
This year we made more use of the station at Sant'Agnello for trips to Roman sites towards Naples - Pompeii, Herculaneum & Stabiae. We also found one or two reasonable restaurants in Sant'Agnello too.
Without wanting to sound as though we are in a rut, we would certainly go back to the Girasole for a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gansonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Warm and welcoming hosts that will do anything to make your stay comfortable. The hotel is a little further than most from the town centre but as you know you eat and drink a lot more, so the walk does one good. Its safe and an easy walk too. The best is that a few restaurants pick you up and drop you back after a meal with them. Beds comfy, views to Vesusvius, nice terrace and pool area. Train station a 10 min walk.

Room Tip: Ask to see Vesusvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
1.1 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girasole

Property: Hotel Girasole
Address: Corso Italia 302, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): RM511 - RM1,795
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Girasole Hotel is a nice family hotel in Sorrento which gives a warm and friendly hospitality to its guests. The private pool, immersed in the green of a wonderful orange–grove typical of Sorrento, is surrounded by flowers and plants. The pool bar offers a good selection of local dishes and sandwiches, cold drinks, ice cream and home made cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Girasole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing