We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #11 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is a deluxe hotel in the center of historic Naples - lux, quiet room with no view but large sparkling new bath. Central AC just the right temperature in a warm and humid September. The breakfast was fabulous, everything fresh, would have cost $35./person at the best hotel in New Orleans. The beds were rather hard, but it was lovely to be able to slink into our nice room after the culture shock of Naples. BTW I would not have missed Naples for the world. So different from Rome and Sorrento. No AC in most of the city and hot, so you can hear all the people in all the buildings. No dryers so clothes lines everywhere. Fewer tourists. Like Cairo.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maganista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 458 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the Palazzo Decumani which is located in the historic centre of town. This means that one is surrounded by dirty streets that don't feel very safe at night. However, the benefit is that a lot of the main attractions are right in front of your doorstep.

The hotel is nicely designed and furnished in a modern style. The room size is generous and bathrooms are very nicely equipped. Unfortunately, the room could have been cleaner with dust settling in corners.

What made the stay truly forgettable was the service. Check in was fine, but both ladies at the reception were indifferent to their guests. Each time they needed to answer a question, we felt that it was an inconvenience for them. There was no help with the luggage either. Pretty unacceptable for a 4 star hotel. We gave the bar a miss which seemed to have been a mistake given the great reviews of the barman. Breakfast was good with a decent choice of food on offer.

All in all, our experience in this hotel was ok, but it could have been so much better with a more professional management.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are a very good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

' Vedi Napoli e poi muori!' I was in the city to photograph the 'Quartieri Spagnoli", a run down and abandoned part of the city. I was anxious about the trip and the above phrase troubled me further, until I discovered it was a bit of positive PR, recommending one sees the city before the end comes. A terrific taxi drover allowed me to practice my italian whilst informing me about the positives of a city , which arriving at nightfall looked sinister. However, all this concern vanished as I was welcomed into the hotel, Palazzzo Decumani, near Forcella. This is a modern, cool hotel with splendid rooms and a balcony for rooms on the 3rd floor. It was truly splendid. The bar is restful and the wine good, as was the insalata caprese. Outside the area can make ones eyebrows raise, but you soon find this is the essence of Napoli. It looks worse than it is. In fact the people were as friendly as in any city of Italy. The city could do with investment . If you find yourself in Napoli, I suggest you visit this hotel and then walk round Forcella, and the QS, but the latter during daylight, retreating back to the Palazzo Decumani as the sun sets for a glass of Greco di Tuffo in glorious splendour.

Room Tip: a room on the front at 3rd floor level is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simon088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Knowing that I had the beautiful and comfortable Decumani to return to energized my visit to Naples. Their staff was efficient and friendly. They gave us good restaurant recommendations in the neighborhood. Our room was large and posh, as was the bathroom. We enjoyed welcome drinks and snacks in the bar. We were in walking distance of the Archeological Museum and the historical district churches and markets. Altogether a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanLarkspur_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

One is surprised to find such a wonderful boutique hotel in the slightly rough but nevertheless interesting surroundings of Old Naples. Palazzo Decumani is welcoming, with perfectly maintained rooms and facilities and the exceptionally friendly staff is eager to please and to be helpful. A generous breakfast buffet selection helps you to a great start into the day and the complimentary cocktails are a nice touch as an aperitivo before going out for dinner. I can only highly recommend this hotel, if you're after some great value for your money. It's not one of the huge luxury hotels at the seafront in Royal Naples, but in a great central location and well away from the rougher areas around the Central Station.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrbaniteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,167 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,516 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#7 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: RM564 - RM1,050 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing