We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a budget stay”
Review of Dem Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dem Guesthouse
Ranked #578 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2015

This little guesthouse is absolutely perfect for a young friends/ couple looking for a budget stay in Rome. Having done A LOT of shopping around for somewhere affordable to stay with a friend, we decided on here and we're so glad we did. Firstly we didn't realise upon booking that their reception closed at 10 pm (so check this when booking your flights) and were a little worried that we wouldn't get there in time. I emailed Dem Guesthouse and had very friendly and helpful replies from a few member of staff with information on the best/quickest ways to get there from the airport etc and of course they assured us that they would be waiting for us regardless of what time we arrived.(There's a small charge if arriving after 10 pm). Great service and this helped reassure us that we'd chosen a nice place to stay before we even arrived. The guesthouse is very close to Termini central station which be aware, is not a nice area. It's close to the city centre, great for train connections, and always bustling with people but it's rough. Lots of people hanging around, selling tourist tat, gangs looking shady so I wouldn't advise you stay here if you don't feel comfortable in these situations or are with kids/ older parents. Once you're in the building though it's absolutely not a problem, you just need to get there first which takes all of about 3 mins from the station, so just be vigilant and know what to expect and you won't be disappointed. This of course is not Turati's fault though! Also be aware that this isn't a hotel, there isn't someone always manning reception all the time, it's more like an apartment so it's your responsibility to keep your key on you, be respectful of the property and everyone else staying in the few other rooms.

The room was perfect for a budget stay though. Towels, toiletries, slippers provided, free WIFI (connection really not great in our room however) and a flat screen TV on the wall. Air con, tea and coffee facilities in the entrance hall behind reception and a sink with basic kitchen utensils should you wish to have a snack. There's city maps that you can take, books to read. The guesthouse have gone above and beyond for accommodation at this price. Breakfast is provided in a little cafe across the road, they give you vouchers that you hand to the waiters each dat. Yes, it's basic. Toast, croissants and a coffee but what more do you need when you'll be eating delicious Italian food and treats all day?!

I've read a lot of reviews for this place and I think some are a little unfair. Rome is an expensive city and this place is GREAT value. You pay for what you get but this, in my opinion is better for what we paid. I've stayed in 5 star luxury hotels and some of the most basic Hostels and this place really surprised both me and my friend. No frills, comfortable, clean, friendly accommodation. I thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Better to be at the back of the property if possible. I would suggest asking them if they have one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2015

Its very convenient but very small just 2/3 rooms . no lobby and limited breakfast.
Rooms are clean and comfortable bed. bathroom is modern with all the facility.
Needs personal touch and few more variety in breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ashfaq H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Hotel staff are excellent. My luggage was delayed by the airport on the day I arrived in Rome.The hotel staff helped me to follow up with the airpor on daily basis, and thanks to them I got my luggage back after three days. Would recommend the hotel to my friends who travel in Rome:)

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cecilia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We've been to Rome a number of times and the Dem Guesthouse is by far the best one we've stayed at. The room was big enough for the three people in our party and very comfortable. Good sized bathroom with everything you could want by way of washing items supplied. In the house we stayed in there was even a mini kitchen for our use just by reception. Here you could make coffee, use the microwave or have some biscuits. Ideal for a short stay. The Dem is spread over three locations, all close together, I'm sure all three locations will be just as good. Extremely handy for the main train station ( Termini ), I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

This Hotel is close to Termini train station, which is so handy for travel, and the room was warm, spacious with a comfy bed, good hot shower and a view overlooking a garden area with an ancient ruin in it. Close to restaurants, buses etc the location was just so handy. The staff went out of their way to make you comfortable and assist you, like they did with us when we needed to make a phone call and have someone speak in Italian. The girl at check out was so friendly and let us leave our bags there after we checked out, until we had to leave. The breakfast was great and there was a tea and coffee machine, so that you could have a drink at any time.

Room Tip: Overlooking the park area was just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth3907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Charter
Hotel Charter
#464 of 1,270 in Rome
148 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#133 of 1,270 in Rome
1,400 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Scott House
Hotel Scott House
#639 of 1,270 in Rome
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#107 of 1,270 in Rome
1,507 reviews
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#103 of 1,270 in Rome
1,301 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#954 of 1,270 in Rome
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dem Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dem Guesthouse

Address: Piazza Manfredo Fanti 38, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #578 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: RM202 - RM635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dem Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dem GuestHouse is an exclusive group of hotel facilities, all of them very recently built . It is composed by 4 "GuestHouse", there is no a main house and annexes, each house is independent from the other. Located in the heart of the city they are all 5 minutes walking to Termini Station. Rome's main public transportation node, where you find national rail, buses terminal, two subway lines and links with both airport of Roma: Fiumicino and Ciampino. For these reasons the Dem GuestHouse results the ideal solutions for both tourist vacation and business travelling the residences are strategically located at the core of the city centre in Via Filippo Turati 48, Piazza Manfredo Fanti 38, and Via Rattazzi 22, all 150 meters far from each other, just minutes away from some of Rome's most breathtaking and major history sites like the Coliseum, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona, the Trevi fountain. The newest Dem Tiburtina GuestHouse of Via Teodorico 22, is located next to Tiburtina station the second main station of Rome, just 4 subway stops from Termini station. All our room's decorated with a modern design combine maximum elegance and comfort, always aiming to guarantee our guest a tranquil and pleasant atmosphere, Each room is equipped with: Air conditioning system, LCD TV set (21/26"), Mini fridge, Wi-Fi and cable internet connection, Electronic safe box - Soundproofed windows. Even the bathroom, in each room, contribute to create an high quality atmosphere, providing: shampoo, bath foam, hygiene courtesy set, towel, slippers, hair dryer machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dem Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dem Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing