We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay in Rome”
Review of Dem Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dem Guesthouse
Ranked #536 of 3,764 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Dem Guesthouse was a decent place to stay during our stay in Rome. It is about 2 blocks away from Roma Termini which is the main train station in Rome. This is super convenient and was the main reason we stayed here.

The room itself was decent. The bathroom wasn't huge but it was decent and shower size was good. They have different locations so the place we stayed only had about 5 rooms total so it was pretty quiet. Some times you can hear others coming in and out of their rooms but it wasn't anything to keep you awake. There's tons of restaurants right around there too so we just spent a lot of time eating at the various restaurants there when we didn't have much time to venture out farther.

My husband complained about the bed being a little harder but I thought it was OK. When in the room you don't hear much going on outside which is great when trying to catch some ZzzZ's after a full day of touring.

One minor issue I had was that it was a bit hard to get a hold of hotel staff if you had a question unless you called them or emailed them (and email is sketchy because my American phone wasn't too great with their wifi---it was slow). It's not like most big hotels where there is always someone at the front desk. They're only there when they're expecting someone to check in so if you had a quick question you have to do some work to get a hold of them. We didn't have a major issue I just wanted to know if they do laundry. And the answer is no. But there's a nearby self-service laundry you can walk to (we ended up doing laundry in Venice which worked out well too).

I would definitely consider renting here again for the price and convenience and location to everything.

Room Tip: 2 blocks from Roma Termini which is the main train station in Rome. Very convenient to get to and fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Stayed for 2 nights. The rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful. The place is next to the Termini station so it is in an excellent location. I needed some extra pillows and within 10 minutes of calling, I got what I needed immediately. No frills, but the basics were there. I would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in Via Rattazzi are better than rooms in Via Turati
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Stayed here 2 nights. Room was very clean, with everything you needed, and a lovely comfortable bed. Coffee whenever I wanted. A great nights sleep after long days sight-seeing. Good value for money. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

The guesthouses themselves have various locations which are more like rented out apartments than a hotel. Our room was cleaned daily and felt fresh. The breakfast was basic continental, however you can help yourself to tea or coffee whenever you liked. The wifi was good and the staff, when we saw them, were friendly and helpful. The location as well was great, less than 5 minutes from the termini station, metro and bus station which made getting around easy. It's a nice walk to some sights like the colosseum, but other sights are easier by metro or bus which is cheap.

The only criticism would be our shower which was broken so we couldn't adjust the height and there was only hot water for 30 seconds. This meant having to sink wash throughout our stay which, if you have long hair like me, is not ideal! We frequently visited the reception area to inform someone however no one was ever there. They seem to only work when they know someone is checking in. Overall, if you're not looking for anything fancy but good value, this is a good place to stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank elysiatay95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stopped here one night to break a journey up. It was ok for what we paid. Like a few hotels we stopped at in Italy it was more an apartment renting out rooms than a hotel.

Room was clean and quiet and we had a good night's sleep. En suite was tiny but clean. Our bedroom opened straight on to the communal kitchen. Breakfast very limited (e..g rice crispies in a plastic disposable cup!). The locale wasn't great, outside there was a strong smell of urine but it was very close to the station.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b21r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#184 of 1,273 in Rome
428 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#199 of 1,273 in Rome
738 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#930 of 1,273 in Rome
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Marcantonio Hotel
Marcantonio Hotel
#348 of 1,273 in Rome
234 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#113 of 1,273 in Rome
1,518 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#225 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dem Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dem Guesthouse

Address: Piazza Manfredo Fanti 38, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 3,764 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: RM198 - RM685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dem Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dem GuestHouse is an exclusive group of hotel facilities, all of them very recently built . It is composed by 4 "GuestHouse", there is no a main house and annexes, each house is independent from the other. Located in the heart of the city they are all 5 minutes walking to Termini Station. Rome's main public transportation node, where you find national rail, buses terminal, two subway lines and links with both airport of Roma: Fiumicino and Ciampino. For these reasons the Dem GuestHouse results the ideal solutions for both tourist vacation and business travelling the residences are strategically located at the core of the city centre in Via Filippo Turati 48, Piazza Manfredo Fanti 38, and Via Rattazzi 22, all 150 meters far from each other, just minutes away from some of Rome's most breathtaking and major history sites like the Coliseum, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona, the Trevi fountain. The newest Dem Tiburtina GuestHouse of Via Teodorico 22, is located next to Tiburtina station the second main station of Rome, just 4 subway stops from Termini station. All our room's decorated with a modern design combine maximum elegance and comfort, always aiming to guarantee our guest a tranquil and pleasant atmosphere, Each room is equipped with: Air conditioning system, LCD TV set (21/26"), Mini fridge, Wi-Fi and cable internet connection, Electronic safe box - Soundproofed windows. Even the bathroom, in each room, contribute to create an high quality atmosphere, providing: shampoo, bath foam, hygiene courtesy set, towel, slippers, hair dryer machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dem Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dem Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing