We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore Rome from here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Centro Storico di Roma
Ranked #3,163 of 3,780 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here before we went to Frascati.Great place to explore Rome from.Within walking distance from central train station.Was given a warm welcome and no hassles at all.Would stay there again. Breakfast could be a little better. Liked this place

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank philipandclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Best described as...interesting. First off, I have to say it's a very good location, and very good value for money. I'd probably return, knowing what I know now. We had the 3 person room (there were 3 of us!). Having read the issues of finding this 'hotel', I emailed the owner with a Google Streetview screenshot to confirm the location. He replied quickly confirming it. Also, having read that credit cards were not accepted, I emailed about this and was told that of course they were. So, we eventually found it - wish I'd taken the streetview pic. Be aware that the rooms are in a block of apartments, and you'll need to use the left hand set of buzzers. Be patient when buzzing...the rooms are on the 3rd floor and it'll take him a while to get down. He just managed to get himself and 3 cases into the lift (elevator). Smallest. Lift. Ever. Bedroom was ok, bathroom could use some tlc, especially mould and mildew remover around the shower and the ceiling above it flaking. Breakfast was interesting. Wasn't expecting much, but a perfectly acceptable continental breakfast was delivered at the time requested. Nowhere to eat it though. A small box of rice krispies was included. Unfortunately, the owner supplied no bowl (or milk) and when I asked for one, he suggested that I eat them dry, out of the packet. Oh well, it takes all sorts! The advertised internet wasn't working on the day we got there. I was assured that the 'technician' was sorting it out the next day - still wasn't working 2 days later. Also, the lock on our (sliding door) bathroom didn't work, and when I asked what was going on he said this was "normal". I think not. Came to settle up, and I presented my credit card. "Oh no" and a shake of the head was the response. I pointed out to him that I'd emailed previously and he'd said it was ok, and he reluctantly produced a credit card machine (although he insisted the local tax be paid by cash). I hope he replaced the keys (you need 4) that he dropped down the lift shaft when we were leaving, but I wouldn't be surprised if he hadn't! Basically a 1-man operation so don't expect miracles. Oh, and I suggest you wear earplugs to bed if you're sleeping there on Friday morning. He gets his weekly food delivery at 5:15am, and it takes forever for him to answer the door. The buzzer is VERY loud and the delivery person does a VERY good job of ringing it. As I said, everything considered, I'd stay again. Forewarned is forearmed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Owlhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I paid for a room in hotel in Rome and it was nothing close to it. the place has no name, no identification on the street. I was looking for it with paper on hand until a person open the door of a "condominium building" I asked and they directed me to a third floor on a very narrow lift (one person only) once I arrived there was and apartment door open and that was the "hotel" a flat that rents rooms with no other service around. The person in charge didn't speak English. total disaster.
I am complaining to the agency that sold me this service as a hotel room, where there is like a clandestine place renting rooms inside a flat without any identification name.

Room Tip: be careful do not choose this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rifalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

A very clean place. Room was not very big but large enough for resting after long walks around rome. Breakfast was continental and although not very exciting was sufficient ready for a busy day ahead. The chap on reception was very friendly and pleasant and helpful although English and Italian limited. All in all brilliant location to get to everywhere, conveniently located 15 min walk from termini station and around 10 mins from the collaseum. Pleasant neighbourhood, felt safe. Good value

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helsbels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Hi
I travelled with my teenage daughter. It was a bit hard to find as we didn't understand the building. and stood outside looking at the bells!. However once we rang the bell we were welcomed warmly and shown every curtesy.
They could do with a picture of the door so you understand where you ring!"We were pleased with the room. It was spacious and very clean.breakfast was delivered every morning.If you are on a buget this is a little gem. Nice clean towels sheets etc. The collesum was less than 3minutes away. Just around the corner!. We were stunned it was so near.The sights were easy to walk to.Just note the termini was a short walk(10 min or less) and the bus to the airport was $4 euros! compared to $48euros for a taxi! Also go to the termi to buy any bus tickets as they have better offers on for winter There was a good selection of shops to buy food very near and several resteruants. We found the best was manuelle? which is left out the door to the bottom of the road cross the road and go up to the top of road. It had wonderful home made foods especially desserts. I would say it is a grown up traveller place .Not a hotel but much much better than English B&B. All in al a little gem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Conte House I
Conte House I
#755 of 1,272 in Rome
179 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,272 in Rome
272 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,547 of 3,780 in Rome
16 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Centro Storico di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Centro Storico di Roma

Address: Via Merulana 117, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,163 of 3,780 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: RM 230 - RM 557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Centro Storico di Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Centro Storico di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Centro Storico Di Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing