We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint and Convenient, both”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heelntoe
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, the ugly”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Let me start with good stuff. This Rome apt is an a great location in the Trastevere neighborhood one block from the Sisto bridge. We stayed for nine nights, saw most of the major sights of ancient Rome and never stepped foot in a car, bus or Metro train.
There are many places to eat nearby. Groceries and bread shops are a block or two away. The bed(s) were newer and quite good.
The owner was pleasant and contacted us promptly after we arranged the booking.
She met us early in the day of our occupancy, which was especially helpful for us as it allowed us to have the first day as a full adventure day rather than waiting to get into the apt at the posted use time. We appreciated that courtesy. There is a computer to use. Even better is the WIFI router.

The Bad. This apt is very old and very worn. Lamps had burned out bulbs and leaning bases. There were water leaks and drips in the shower, from one of the radiators and, from the gooseneck kitchen faucet when it popped out of the fixture and sprayed half of the kitchen. While this was easily corrected, (I'm a licensed builder), it is not something that should be experienced in a rental unit. Note well: if you have problems with stairs you should know that the apt is located on what Americans think of as the second floor. There is no elevator and the stairs are steep and narrow. There is a LOT of street noise on the weekends, lasting until 2 or 3 AM. This was only a problem on Friday and Saturday.

The ugly. The apt is small. Despite having two bedrooms, neither enclosed by walls. this would be marginally suitable for 4 adults. It would probably do for a family with a couple of pre-teens. The bathroom is tiny and the door is a folding wood type (which was broken).
The water heater is small and will not provide enough water fro two consecutive showers no matter how brief. The kitchen has a fridge and stove, but no microwave. Everything in the kitchen looks like and functions like it was salvaged from the discard pile at a garage sale. Worst of all, this apt is deep to the bone dirty. Every crack and crevice is lined with grime. There are numerous broken floor tiles.

In summary, I cannot recommend this apartment. Despite the positives noted at the front of the review, you can do much better elsewhere.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dirty and worn
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CaliJoy
Folsom, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Live like the Romans do!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This flat is a wonderful place for a stay in Rome! It's fairly spacious compared to many of the other local rentals (2 rooms & 3 beds!). Here's the basic run down:

PROs
Trastevere has a busy night life (food, pubs, etc.)
The flat is close to taxis, bus & train
Markets (fresh produce & grocery stores) are nearby
ATMs are walking distance
LOTS of local restaurants take credit cards (Il Conte do Monticristo & Ristorante di Massi were favorites of ours)
You can walk to the Vatican, Coliseum, Circus Maximus & many other tourist sites
Plenty of gellaterias nearyby
Has 2 actual bedrooms plus a foldout couch
PC is available to use
Wifi is free
The property has a washing machine & an enclosed patio to hang your clothes
There is a refrigerator/freezer to use
Kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, dishes, cookware (I didn't want for anything)
Lots of tourist info & maps are available in the flat

CONs
The busy night life can get a little noisy (just close the window & most of the noise is muffled)
There is no lift (NOT a problem for me, but if you have mobility issues, this might not work for you)
Parking is tight (my suggestion - don't bring a car)

Because I was burned once, I'm very careful about using vacation rentals. Roman Reference did a great job handling this transaction! I had tried to rent several different properties but none were available. Paola from Roman Reference sent me a list of available properties & the flat on Vicolo del Bologna was what I ended up with. What a deal! Great price, a safe neighborhood & perfect location! Fabia, the property owner, is very helpful, speaks fluent English & is very responsive to communications. You'll feel well taken care of if you rent this flat! I would DEFINITELY stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersburg
Reviewed 14 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Netherlands
Reviewed 21 May 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing