We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Rome as part of a pilgrimage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Di Santa Francesca Romana
Ranked #175 of 1,178 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2015

This is a pleasant and welcoming hotel. Staff were superb, spoke good English and went out of their way to be helpful. Yes the rooms are basic but we found the beds comfortable. The shower was easy to use And kept very clean by the staff. I was a bit concerned that if I stood still long enough I might get a quick polish! We were on a breakfast only basis and this was a pleasant surprise as it consisted of fresh fruit, cereal, meats, cheese, yogurt and so. Tea and coffee was fresh and again the staff were pleasant and helpful especially to the less able in the group. There is one small lift which like all small lifts is inadequate at busy times.
The area the hotel is situated in has many restaurants all popular with the locals so you may need to make a reservation for an evening meal. It can also mean the narrow streets around the hotel are noisy at times. If you intend using a taxi have the hotel card with you as some of our party found an 8 euro fare extended to 18 when the driver lost his way...! The location is within walking distance of the Collesium and I suspect too far for most when walking if you are heading to the Vatican museum. Do not be frightened away from using public transport the buses are an easy way of getting around. So,good hotel, good staff, good breakfast!

Room Tip: It maybe that away from the main entrance (restaurant and shops there) would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2015

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights last week. I am solo traveler and the single rooms are small, but mine was clean, well furnished and the bathroom was more than adequate spacewise. Though there are a lot of 'pilgrims' the place is quiet at night. Now for the best parts: There is a garden that can be used 24 hours that is just lovely. There is wifi in the rooms and the public areas including the garden. The hotel is in the most beautiful part of Trastevere and so close to the bridges Ponte Rotto and Isola Tiburina that you are in the center of Rome in minutes. Also close to public transportation. Breakfast great, even for those who need bread and cheese. The staff is helpful for the most part. The tv is a little difficult to maneuver but there are both Italian and English channels. If I did it again, I might pay for a double for single use since the room got a bit small after a day or two and I would ask to look into the garden. The big thing missing from the rooms is a refrigerator. They should add that since there is no bar in the hotel and one might want to have a bottle of wine to drink in that magnificent garden. It is an old convent, I think, and still run, I believe by some facet of the Catholic Church. The public rooms and chapel are astonishing.

Room Tip: Decide if you need space and pay more for a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

This was our first visit to Rome and we were very pleased with this hotel and the staff. The location is excellent as it is within walking distance to some of the sights in Rome, near the bus line and a short walk to some authentic, reasonably priced restaurants. The rooms were very clean and comfortable as well as quiet. It's not Hilton quality but easily met our needs. The breakfast downstairs was good and was a great way to start the day. We made use of the charming courtyard for lunch, snacks and wine. We purchased our treats at nearby deli's and brought them back for a tasty, low cost meal. The staff spoke English and told us how to use the buses to get to the Vatican and to the Borghese. They also arranged for a cab for transport to another Rome hotel where we joined a tour group. BTW - the hotel is within the boundaries for fixed rate taxi fares to and from the airport. The hotel had Wi-Fi and it worked in the rooms we were in.
The Trastevere area is charming and is a comfortable neighborhood outside of the hustle of the "big city" and touristy parts of Rome. We used a Rick Steves audio tour to do a walking tour of Trastevere and of the Jewish Ghetto - just across the river.
I recommend this hotel for those interested in a moderate to low cost place to stay, who have a sense of adventure and who don't require first class accomodations. We'll be staying there again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Westolytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Casa di Santa Francesca Romana is a beautiful, immaculate, smoothly and graciously run facility that frequently hosts conferences for the Church. Rooms are rented to guests when theyare available.

-It is located on a very narrow street about a block from the Tiber River, but taxis can get right up to the front door.
-The Reception is staffed 24 hours a day by delightful people, and they are fluent in English. They can give you good information and recommendations and city maps, call taxis for you, and sell you bus/Metro tickets, etc.
-On the ground floor of the building is the reception, dining room, reading rooms, and garden patio. On the first floor there are meeting rooms, a beautiful chapel, and prayer rooms with full Church theme. On the second floor are the guest rooms.

-There is a small elevator that holds one person and all his luggage.

-Rooms are basic, but with air conditioning, T.V. with Italian channels, telephone, and modern bathrooms.
-Air Conditioning has digital controls and works well even in hot weather.
-Showers are square and tiny. Very tiny. If you are excessively fat, you will not fit in. I'm normal sized and it was a challenge to pick up the soap when I dropped it.
-Hot Water was always available, but we had to let the water run for a minute or two to get it..
-Beds are flat, slightly firm, and comfortable.
-The key is metal and very heavy. Do not drop it on the tile floor!!
-Wi Fi is free, and works well throughout the building but I couldn't get it in the garden patio.
-Maid Service for the room was daily and meticulous, but we never saw her or cleaning equipment in the hall.

-The /Breakfast/Dining Room is lovely, furnished with big pieces of heavy, solid wood antiques. Above the door is a small 'balcony' with a lectern from which prayers could be read during meals. Tables are square and covered with white tablecloths and set with china and glassware.

-Breakfast is the usual Italian cold breakfast buffet with bread & rolls, cereal, yogurt, fruit, sliced cheese & ham & salami, juice, and any kind of coffee you want from a machine that makes it. A staff member is always present to keep the buffet supplied and to help guests work the coffee machine and the juice dispenser.

-Trastervera, where this place is located, is the old section of Rome and is west of the Tiber River. While it is on "the other side of the river", it is as close to tourist sites as many hotels in the central part of town. Trastevera is old and looks decrepit and like it is falling apart, and the smaller streets generally have trash laying around, cigarette butts, plastic drink bottles, etc. That's how it is in Trastevera. The outside area of Santa Francesca Romana also looks like this, but it belies the jewell that is inside.

-Catholic Priests and Sisters are present only when there are conferences.

-Restaurants are all around the hotel in the little streets of Transtevera.. There is a little restaurant with outdoor seating which is100 feet from the door of the hotel, and with good food and nice servers. (Always check your bill in restaurants to make sure the charges are correct! They may be over, but they are never under!)

The web site for Casa di Santa Francesca Romana is http://www.sfromana.it/
Click the British Flag to get the booking screen in English.
It is a lot cheaper to book this place yourself than to go through a booking agency. (We used a booking agency for a convent in Florence and were charged 90 euro ($120) merely for the services of the agency!)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this property. The building itself is lovely and the staff are very helpful with any requests. The location is excellent and in the 4 days we were there we walked everywhere. We covered so many narrow laneways and enjoyed the Trastevere area immensely. The only negatives for us were the lack of a safety box, no tea & coffee facilities & no fridge in the room. The double room we had was very small & contained the smallest shower we have encountered. Breakfast was adequate.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#557 of 1,272 in Rome
280 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#531 of 1,272 in Rome
186 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#476 of 1,272 in Rome
269 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#10 of 1,272 in Rome
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Di Santa Francesca Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Di Santa Francesca Romana

Address: Via Dei Vascellari 61, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 1,178 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: RM384 - RM712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Di Santa Francesca Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Di Santa Francesca Romana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing