We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality hotel in a convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starhotels Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Starhotels Metropole
Ranked #160 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel in a convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is a decent hotel in a very good position; many of the main attractions are within walking distance. Smart and spacious public areas and good sized, well equipped bedrooms. Breakfast is reasonable without being outstanding. Staff are without fail friendly, with many going out of their way to be helpful (take a bow Renato from the breakfast team). Nice bar area - a bit expensive but that goes with the territory

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    972
    230
    58
    31
See reviews for
465
889
55
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel. We had a deluxe room on the 4th floor facing inwards to courtyard and it was very nice and quiet for a busy city. The room was large and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities and a mini bar.
Service was good and attentive and breakfasts better than normal for Italy with a good selection of dishes available, albeit not all warm enough for us.
I was concerned about some negative comments about the location I need not have been worried as we encountered no problems at all and the benefit of all types of Rome transport virtually on the doorstep surmounted any downside.
We took a shuttle bus from Fiumicino airport direct to the Termini station and it only cost E4 each way and was quick and easy.Recommended

Room Tip: We found deluxe room facing inwards excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gollWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas area
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was an adequate hotel. We recently travelled with a Globus tour of Europe and stayed here two nights. It was clean and adequate. The staff were adequate; friendly enough in a distant kind of way. This was our first overseas visit and there were a few things that we were not used to - no coffee in the rooms, the rooms were hot (a/c is centrally controlled). If we had not been able to open a window to the cool night March air it would have been very uncomfortable. The lobby is nice and spacious. The breakfast is large and good (the eggs are not cooked to American standards - they're kinda raw). Very large and nice bathroom. Having travelled extensively in America our experiences in European hotels were very different. 'Just rolled it into part of the overall experience. Also, a general bit of advice; many European hotels do not provide wash clothes. Buy up a set of cheap ones to take with you and just throw them away after you've used them.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ls1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel and we definitely will stay here again.
The rooms are spacious, modern and clean with tea kettle and minibar. The reception is welcoming and ready to help. Breakfast is plentiful, though could offer slightly more variation. But the food quality is good. Service is perfect - all waiters are attentive.
The only thing I can come up with is that the hotel should consider is free WiFi in the rooms. However they offer free 30 mins WiFi in the lobby which is a very good option to check the email etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DePo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Clean hotel, rooms are large, I would rate it a 3 star (I travel a LOT), it's not a 4, no way. The staff don't know the meaning of being nice, polite or friendly (they sucked in fact). Overall a nice hotel but not great (we stayed in Venice one night at their Spendid Venice and it was far superior).

Room Tip: We had a street side room and it was fine in regards to any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCrumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#103 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#123 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#174 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#128 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#101 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Metropole

Property: Starhotels Metropole
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Rome
#95 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#146 Family Hotel in Rome
#200 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): RM641 - RM1,330
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Metropole, one of the most beautiful modern hotels in central Rome, Italy. We're a few steps from Termini Station, the Opera House and close to Rome's historic wonders.Come and enjoy vibrant spaces and places to relax, dine and chat; the hotel was recently completely refurbished, to stunning effect.Our 4 stars hotel in Rome has 236 bedrooms and suites with every home comfort, our superb Apicio Restaurant, Rendezvous bar, a new fitness room open 24 hours a day and nine dynamic meeting rooms for up to 180 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Starhotels Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome
Rome Metropole
Starhotels Metropole Rome
Metropole Rome Starhotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing