We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveller rating
144
372
179
87
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
372
179
87
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piazza navona roof terrace great location around the corner top floor taxi rank within walking distance seen better days breakfast room good size pastries spanish steps long weekend nice breakfast rooms are small major sites main attractions
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 851 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Spent 7 nights here. Easy walk to Piazza Navona and Pantheon and walkable to Vatican and ancient Rome area. The front desk man was friendly, easy to communicate with. Breakfast help was also friendly. Breakfast was decent and 6th floor dining was very pleasant. Only minor complaint is that the bar is essentially gone. They do not restock it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bhansen009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Better thsn I could have imagined tiny room but equipped with everything aircon v modern. Shower always hot water. Cleaned v well. Quiet room ..1 night group made noise but this was sorted out ..
Lovely breakfast v generous with everythong laid on really fresh rolls and patisserie
..also fruit etc ..loved views and tubs pf flowers on terrace. Close to everything even really good buses...castel aant angelo and vatican near ..I followed river too to trastavere area and Jewish quarter too.
Bar tiny one just next to hotel do lovely quick snacky meals and gelato...also cute expresso with lid on...Lovely girl and parents ran this and were v kind ...prices chesp for area ...only ate once in piazza navona not v hood at all.
Surprisingly good pizzaria last day in hidden square nearby start of taxi rank university building oppsite ...
best food at family run hostel di trevi restaurant 10m from fountain ..you could feel at home and did first class pasta and insalate di mare....patrone is an old man v friendly...look for it as some places a rip off to be honest ...down same side street family gelateria too ...
Visit tivoli and cinqueterre under your own speed too if you have time. Glad to have skip the line for colisseum and vatican. Also near termini dioclesian baths and church wonderful....
Well hotel lived up to exactly what I wanted...central base with taxis outside v cheap too...I also bought cheap bus pass dont bother with hop on unless v limited time

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank LynnBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We stayed at Hotel Genio for 4 nights and were very pleased with our choice. The hotel is excellently located for major sites, and for travel to anywhere a little further out as there are bus stops and a taxi rank on the same street. Getting to and from the airport was straightforward with the FL1 train to Ostiense, then bus route 30.
The room was well sized and clean. Maybe it's a little old but it's in character with the building. We overlooked the Main Street but noise wasn't a problem with the window closed, and heat not a problem with the air-con. Kettle and hairdryer are provided, clean towels daily.
Breakfast was buffet style selection of bread, pastries, meats, cheese, fruit, yoghurts, cereal, scrambled egg. The white chocolate croissant was particularly amazing!
Stunning views from the roof terrace where you are welcome to take your own food and drink once breakfast has been cleared and finished.
The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. They proactively offered information about leaving luggage etc and responded really quickly whenever we had queries or requests.
Overall very impressed and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliandsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We have stayed at Hotel Genio many times - the best hotel in Rome (and I have tried others). An excellent location and a good service - I will certainly come back. And a wonderful terrace on sixth floor for eating breakfast ...

Room Tip: The higher the better
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia_Plama, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Genio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thanks for choosing our hotel for your Roman holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Very easy stroll to Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. While some may think the hotel is a bit dated we found it full of character. The room was huge, even with a third (very comfortable) bed added to the space.The aircon worked perfectly but the wifi was a bit sketchy. Bathroom was large and modern. Breakfast was more than adequate - served on the terrace on the top floor with a 360 degree view of the city. Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make the stay comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone specifically not wanting a super modern hotel that you could find in any city but rather a more authentic experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBotha100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews