We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marcella Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Medici(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,838)
Filter reviews
1,838 results
Traveller rating
965
656
152
47
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
965
656
152
47
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvia flaviaroof gardenlovely hotelrecommend this hotelwithin walking distancemain attractionsquiet streettrevi fountainspanish stepspastriesshort breakcity breakreception staffst petersaround the cornerbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,838 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed here for a week as the location was only about 15 minutes to walk to centre and most of the sites so we could see 2 or three sites plus shopping each day
the room was a lot smaller than a lot we had stayed in before but was ok the only thing missing was a kettle we have stayed in 3/4/5 star and cannot remember any not having any facilities for making a hot drink when you get back to your room cold and wet
so take a travel kettle and mugs . there was a mini fridge in the room and the bed was good as was the cleaner and all staff and a fair choice for breakfast self service on the top floor with good views . my only other little gripe was the bar was on the balcony of the top floor so if you did not want to sit outside in the cold you had to sit in the dining room which was either empty or in darkness .it did not make us want to go up for a drink . if the bar was downstairs you could relax on the comfortable suites and get to know other guests . but apart from the kettle and bar we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank madhouseleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella R, Direttore at Marcella Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Madhouseleyland,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Marcella Royal Hotel.

I'm delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us!

However, I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy our terrace and the atmosphere of the internal room.

Naturally we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at the Marcella Royal Hotel.


Kind regards
Alessandro D'Ilario
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve always wanted to go to Rome and my husband took me for my birthday! We choose a city break in december as it’s our favourite time of year this hotel was brilliant. The location was great as we walk on our holidays, we were close to nearly everything! Walked to Trevi fountain our first night, this is brilliant for anyone who doesn’t mind walking. Also just to mention the breakfast was brilliant and lots of choice, only down side is that the local restaurants weren’t all that, we did go to a couple but none were as good as the ones closer to the city centre. Please stay at the hotel is a hidden gem, oh I forgot the concierge was amazing he helped us with getting around showed us things we didn’t have on our radar to visit.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CReddy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella R, Direttore at Marcella Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Creddy,

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback about your experience at Marcella Royal Hotel.

We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed our overall services and all staff members!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another Experience at Marcella Royal Hotel!

Best regards
Alessandro D'Ilario
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is tucked away on a quiet street, but a fairly easy walk to most of the main attractions. The vatican is a slightly longer journey (around 45-50 minutes walk) , so a taxi might be preferable for that.
Our room was a 'superior' one, and very pleasant. Not large, but pretty much had everything we wanted. The one exception to this was the lack of a full length mirror! The one in the bathroom was at face-height only, and I really would have liked to check how I looked before going out.
The rooftop restaurant and bar was lovely. Breakfast was OK - nothing too special, but plentiful and all the essentials.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella R, Direttore at Marcella Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jane,

Thank you very much for your kind review!

We are really delighted to hear how much you fully enjoyed our services.

Thanks for your suggestions about the full length mirror in the room, almost all our rooms have one.
However we will add it in the near future in the rooms where it's missing.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards
Alessandro D'Ilario
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

My wife and I spent five nights at this beautiful hotel. Rooms were excellent and
the staff very helpful. The breakfast on the top floor with incredible views of Rome
was a real bonus. Plenty of restaurants nearby and in a lovely quiet street.
We would certainly recommend this hotel and will return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella R, Direttore at Marcella Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with us!

We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay at Marcella Royal Hotel, especially the panoramic roof garden.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards
Alessandro D'Ilario
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Just had a wonderful 4 day break in Rome,staying at the Marcella hotel ,what a lovely hotel ,the room was beautiful spacious clean ,lovely bathroom plenty of room space complete with a balcony which was an added bonus.
The roof top garden was amazing so lovely to sit out .
Staff were very kind and informative nothing was to much trouble.
The hotel was in a excellent location for all the sightseeing attractions,we hope to return again .
A BIG THANK YOU to the Marcella Royal Hotel.

Stayed: March 2018
2  Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella R, Direttore at Marcella Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Simon,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience at Marcella Royal Hotel.

We are delighted to hear how much you fully enjoyed our services, reviews like this are the best gratification for us!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards
Alessandro D'Ilario
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews