We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #183 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed in one of their family rooms for a couple of nights last August (2011). We picked this Hotel mostly based on Rick Steeves’ travel guide recommendation, the good location and reasonable rates. However their impressive website fool you, it just doesn't match reality, at least not for the room they put us in. The furnishings and decor is not nearly as clean, spotless and maintained as it looks on their website. The bathroom was ridiculously tiny (for four), smelled mouldy and had a A/C drain pipe coming out of the ceiling, dripping directly into the shower stall. Because room service left the floor mat neatly folded on the shower threshold, it soaked up some of the A/C drain fluid and caused it to leak all over the bathroom floor. The staff was not particularly friendly and the breakfast was simply not worth sitting down for, (if you can find a table in a very cramped and noisy dining area during peak morning times) - nothing fresh, just pre-packaged foods, including the 'croissants'. In regards to the A/C charges, beware they will charge you as long as you have the remote in the room, even if you don’t actually use it. I made the wrong assumption they monitored A/C usage with their computer, as most hotels are able to control the A/C from the front desk. Even though we didn’t use it the first day, they insisted on charging me. It wasn’t so much the 10 EUR/ day, as the attitude I received from Sabrina which really annoyed me. We also had noisy neighbours above us, (kids jumping on beds it sounded like), and when I made enquiries at the front desk, they told me that the floor above does not belong to the hotel, and are private residences. The one good thing was the location in terms of nearby attractions, however the actual street (via Venezia) and building entrance was very unattractive, sooty and dirty. Overall not a great value. I emailed the manager after our return to tell him of our experience and he said he would try to address some of the issues I had raised.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear Sir,
I personally think you posted your review by referring to a wrong Hotel .

More than six months have passed and maybe now it is a bit confusing to
remember each travel experience during the same period ( specially if you visited many places during your trip ) .

Please email us directly to discuss this !

Best regards,
Gabriel / HOTEL ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Italia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 338 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in September. It is in a great location, close to the train station. The rooms were very nice and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The exterior rooms are quite nice, if they have any available.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear Robin ,
thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor .

We all hope to see you in 2012 .

Best regards,
Sabrina / HOTEL ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel Italia from December 26th, 2011 to January 1, 2012 and everything about our stay was excellent.

The staff are friendly, helpful, and always available. They helped us with arrangements before we arrived and made reservations/recommendations for us and answered all of our questions while we were there.

The room and bed were comfortable. The entire hotel was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast very good. The coffee is some of the best we had during our visit to Rome.

Hotel Italia is located right off of Via Nazionale and is located a few blocks from a Metro stop. It is within walking distance of everything from the Colosseum to Vatican City. Having the Metro stop nearby makes traveling to outside the city very easy. The neighborhood is safe relatively quiet (remember, this is a big city.)

The cost of the hotel was a good value.

All in all we were very happy with our stay. We will gladly stay there again and recommend them.

Room Tip: The rooms are different buildings, across the street from each other. Logistically it is easier if...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabrielRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, Front Desk at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Guest ,
Thank you so much for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.com
Hotel is very pleased for having offered good service and value .

Best regards,
Abdul / HOTEL ITALIA Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We were pleasantly surprised when we stayed at the Hotel Italia, in Rome, last evening.

Having followed the advice given in earlier reviews on Tripadvisor, we asked for the family room in La Residenza. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The room itself was spotless. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of space for our family of four to make ourselves comfortable. Breakfast, moreover, was comprised of fresh pastries and capaccinos on demand, and set us up nicely for a day of sightseeing.

It is true that one could hear outside traffic, at night, but this is probably the trade-off for staying so centrally in Rome. Most attractions were within walking distance and, otherwise, the 64 bus took one almost directly, door to door, from the hotel to the Vatican (tip: you can buy your 1Euro bus tickets from the hotel reception on your way out the door).

All in all, this hotel lived up to its reputation and is good value for money!

Room Tip: Well worth it to pay for a "superior" room
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, FRONT DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Donna ,
Thanks for sharing your experience through Tripadvisor .
We are all pleased you had a wonderful stay .

Staff wish you a Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year !!!

Regards,
Gabriel / HOTEL ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a small boutique hotel located perfectly for walking to most of the historical sites. The rooms are small, but we spent little time in them anyway. (led a group of 18 persons) Very comfortable beds, very very clean. A small negative.......the corner showers are tiny! (Heaven help you if you drop the soap!) The included breakfast was more than adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful. Another small negative......the reception is on the second floor, and there is just a small cargo elevator. Quite a few steps. On balance, this hotel offered the essentials at a very good price. Would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Start with location when in Rome.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, FRONT DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Guest ,
Thanks for having stayed here with your Group .
We are glad you all had a pleasant stay .

Best wishes ,
Abdul / HOTEL ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#100 of 1,267 in Rome
1,485 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#155 of 1,267 in Rome
1,312 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#130 of 1,267 in Rome
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#106 of 1,267 in Rome
669 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,267 in Rome
895 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#119 of 1,267 in Rome
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Via Venezia 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#163 Family Hotel in Rome
#275 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: RM306 - RM1,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Italia!In the heart of the storical Rome next to the Quirinale, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Termini station and the Colosseum, an exclusive and elegant place is going to offer you a relaxing and confortable stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing