We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never book this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roma Aurelia Antica
Ranked #994 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 12 July 2017

The hotel overall is a disaster. Very old hotel with very low maintenance . When you check the website you think It might be a good place to spend few days in Rome, but the real situation is Far from that. The rooms are smelly ( like a mid day ride in a metro in the middle of summer). There is a surcharge (16 euro) for the pool. Internet its 10 euros per day per divice. Breakfast it's very poor. It's located in the middle of nowhere, far from any shop or restaurant. No public transport around. The personal is rude and they don't care about you.In general Italy is not a friendly country to visit as they are sick and tired of turism. Do not consider this hotel is you are goind to Rome

Room Tip: Don't believe in star rating in Italy. 4 star Italian hotel it's a 2 US hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andresg311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed there recently but it's miles away from anywhere, no shops bars restaurants nearby, but they do run a shuttle bus for 3 Euro return to St Peters square at regular times through the day with the last one back at 2215.
However no free wifi, extra charge for the swimming pool drinks a bit expensive so they don't help themselves, good size rooms though but no breakfast included.
Free pool free wifi free breakfast people might go back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Articwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Word of warning to American tourists traveling to Italy - re-calibrate your expectations for Italian hotels. This may be a 4-star hotel as they consider them in Italy; for Americans, this would be a solid 2-star hotel. Some examples: get used to hot-and-cold running water for your shower. Meaning, one second it is hot, the next it is cold. No matter how you adjust the hot/cold in the shower, it will cycle. Second, the "breakfast buffet" - definitely NOT what you would expect from a 4-star hotel stateside. Coffee from a machine - uck. Aside from the fact that you are in one of the greatest cities in the world, you will feel like you are in a Motel 6. Don't get me wrong, it will get the job done, you'll get your rest & recharge. I'm just saying that "4 Star" does not mean in Italy what it means in the States.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank duanel549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

First of all there is not a single staff that smiles!
Food: a disaster, I got a diarrhea the next two days after my dinner starting the same night
Staff: except Valeria at the reception, they all looked terrible, especially the lady at the night shift, we called her for the AC problem, she said I will check and hanged the phone, 30 minutes later(around 11:15 pm) someone knocked the door, I told him sorry I cannot open I need to put my cloth on and wake up my wife to put something on, he said : Ciao, bye bye and left, I called the receptionist and she started shouting, I went down she kept shouting just because I told her at least Ma'am let me know you are sending someone and I asked her not to shout especially that she hanged the phone earlier, she denied all that and said: of course you are the client and it is my word against yours!!!
We checked out the second day and cancelled the 4 remaining nights, the manager did not even bother to talk to us,... the only person that was nice and compassionate was Valeria! All the rest are useless
Pay more and enjoy being respected
This hotel is a disaster

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Firas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

It was my first time in Rome. I stayed at this hotel for a conference. Rooms are spacious and conference areas were just perfect and well equipped. Flavia (the Resident Manager, if I remember well) was very professional and helpful with any of our requests. Hotel is not far from Fiumicino airport. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cha1838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel La Genziana
Hotel La Genziana
#492 of 1,272 in Rome
154 reviews
14.1 km away
Hotel Capannelle
Hotel Capannelle
#729 of 1,272 in Rome
1,429 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Rome Pisana
Hotel Rome Pisana
#649 of 1,272 in Rome
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 km away
Novotel Roma Est Hotel
Novotel Roma Est Hotel
#393 of 1,272 in Rome
981 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Midas
Hotel Midas
#579 of 1,272 in Rome
135 reviews
0.1 km away
The Brand Hotel Roma
The Brand Hotel Roma
#1,116 of 1,272 in Rome
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Aurelia Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Aurelia Antica

Address: Via Degli Aldobrandeschi 223, 00163 Rome, Italy (Formerly Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#351 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: RM 203 - RM 713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma Aurelia Antica 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Roma Aurelia Antica hotel is located in Via degli Aldobrandeschi 223, just a few minutes form the Via Aurelia and the Ring Road (raccordo anulare) exit Aurelia-Citta del Vaticano. The hotel is a magnificent modern structure surrounded by 10 hectares of Mediterranean park in a very quiet area close to the airport Fiumicino and just a few kilometres distance from Vatican city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma Aurelia Antica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Rome
Rome Sol Melia
Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing