We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 year anniversary stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Ranked #312 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Decent size room. Nice bathroom. Very clean. Front desk graciously called the chamber maid to clean our room so we could check in early all while they were dealing with a broken water pipe on the lobby floor. Beds are a little firm but seems typical for the area. Our room had a view of the courtyard four stories below. Besides the firm bed my only complaint was the noisey guests in the hallway outside our room while we were attempting to sleep but this is not the hotels fault. I was glad the included breakfast started at 6:30am being we had to be at the Vatican at 7:45 for an early tour. It greatly helps that the hotel is a block from the Termini station which is one of the main reasons I chose this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank annexplorer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

A very nice classical styled Italian hotel, centrally located, next to train station, walking distance to various point of interest, lots of cafe & restaurant around. The hotel is very clean, perfect breakfast with good choices. Front desk very friendly and flexible with requests. I look forward to stay again in my next visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nishchay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Visiting from the U.S.A. so if you're coming from US, Canada etc. you will need converters for electric items. Not a big deal and not uncommon when traveling overseas but easy to forget.

The hotel itself was very nice. The rooms were simple and decorated in a 'vintage' style. The staff was always pleasant and willing to help with bookings, directions etc. We didn't eat at the restaurant but had room service which arrived quickly and was well made. Our biggest adjustment was that the AC unit does shut off if nobody's moving around or when you leave the room so the room can get very hot. It was okay though because it does start up and cools the room down quickly when you get back. It took about 20 minutes to fully cool down the room.

The location is great because you can take the train from Termini to just about anywhere and there is a bus terminal right outside the hotel as well. You can walk to many of the monuments within 10-15 minutes.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

First off, the location is absolutely perfect. If you take the airport train to Termini, it's literally 2 minutes from the station to the hotel door. The room was spacious and comfortable, the tv has English, German and French channels, there was a minibar and the room was cleaned daily. A safe is in the room too as well as air conditioning. Good options at breakfast, cereals, pastries, bread, cheese and coldcuts. Breakfast is from 6.30-10. Nice booze laden cocktails can be had in the hotel bar too. All the tour buses leave from close by too which is very convenient.

Our room was on the top floor and facing the street and it was still a little noisy when the tram started to run at +/- 4.30am. If you need to leave before breakfast you can ask the reception for a breakfast box to take with you. I found this out after I took a croissant from the breakfast room to eat on the airport train on the way home and the waiter almost had a meltdown, I just ignored him and kept walking. I would certainly stay here again though.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed one night before going on a cruise. The room was clean, bathroom was large and well appointed. The staff was friendly and spoke English. We ate the breakfast buffet. The selection was great and the food was good. We really liked the location, even though some locals told us that it was in a "bad" part of the city. It was within walking distance to the Hop On Hop Off bus station that we used to get around the city. Also within walking distance to Eataly, a great place for a quick lunch.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvssunnsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#487 of 1,268 in Rome
533 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#243 of 1,268 in Rome
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#134 of 1,268 in Rome
325 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#97 of 1,268 in Rome
3,106 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#169 of 1,268 in Rome
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio

Address: Via Cavour 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: RM509 - RM973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1875 the Hotel Massimo d’Azeglio has provided traditional hospitality to its numerous Italian and Foreign guests. Although through the years it has been refurbished many times the hotel has maintained its “turn of the century” character. Its halls, bar and restaurant house an important collection of paintings and prints of the Italian “Risorgimento”. The wood paneled Restaurant, with its famous wine cellar, is one of the best known in the city. The Massimo d’Azeglio Restaurant and Hotel has been included amongst the historic hotels of Italy. The Massimo d'Azeglio Hotel has 185 Rooms,3 Conference Rooms, Garage, Bar & Restaurant, Air Conditioning, TV Satellite, Minibar, Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Rome
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing