We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior location, service and ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Ranked #59 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This quaint hotel was the perfect place to stay in Rome. It is literally steps away from the top of the Spanish Steps and walking distance from many must see sights. Our room was small (by American standards) but wonderfully and thoughfully designed. Every square foot was utilized and useful. Housekeeping was excellent and the owner was proud to talk of how his grandfather had built the building and he had spent much time designing our room. The included breakfast included both sweet and savory items. My husband mentioned every morning how much he enjoys his breakfast dessert, a chocolate cake so delicious I wanted to scoop it all up to save for later. If you are looking for an American hotel experience, look elsewhere. But, give up your expectations and experience Italian elegance and hospitality!

Room Tip: Go for the room with the view!
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scalinata, Proprietario at Hotel Scalinata di Spagna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review.

Best regards,
Fabrizio Jemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Free buffet breakfast (automatic espresso machine, fruit, yogurt, meats and cheeses, etc.), drinks and snacks in room. Great location to shopping, great restaurants, and Borghese park all within walking distance. Also Metro line right nearby. Friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scalinata, Proprietario at Hotel Scalinata di Spagna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review.

Best regards,
Fabrizio Jemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Excellent accommodation. Perfect location to explore Rome. We went with our daughter and grandchildren and stayed in the family suite. They were perfect for our needs. The roof top deck came in handy when the grandchildren were to tired to go out for dinner. We would pick up a pizza and called it a night.

Room Tip: Great location and very accommodating staff. Highly recommend.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scalinata, Proprietario at Hotel Scalinata di Spagna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review.

Best regards,
Fabrizio Jemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Great little hotel in Rome. Loved the location at the top of the Spanish Steps. Morning breakfast was very nice and staff accommodating. Rooms were very clean and nice and included complementary snacks and beverages in the mini-fridge - our room was quiet and included a city view. Room and bathroom are small compared to US, but more than adequate for 2 people. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank laura z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scalinata, Proprietario at Hotel Scalinata di Spagna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review.

Best regards,
Fabrizio Jemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This is a great hotel - staff was all friendly, rooms were quiet, and the location is outstanding! For my first trip to Rome, it could not have been a better location - especially for a single traveler. I felt safe and had easy access to anywhere I wanted to go. It is literally located at the top of the Spanish Steps which sees lots of activity both by day and by night. There's a great restaurant next door that provided me with some of the best meals I had on my trip. Breakfast buffet was quite extensive - unfortunate part was tours and flight times prevented me from enjoying each of the days I was there. The rooftop is a nice place to sit and reflect on your trip in the afternoons or evenings. Next time I travel to Rome for pleasure I will definitely plan to stay at this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kimwT8438ZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scalinata, Proprietario at Hotel Scalinata di Spagna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review.

Best regards,
Fabrizio Jemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#62 of 1,271 in Rome
673 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#44 of 1,271 in Rome
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalinata di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalinata di Spagna

Address: Piazza della Trinita' Dei Monti 17, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Family Hotel in Rome
#248 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: RM463 - RM1,447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scalinata di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the best location in Rome, at the top of the Spanish Steps, 3 star hotel Scalinata di Spagna offers a warm and elegant atmosphere as well as the most beautiful view of the Eternal City. Following extensive renovation works, the hotel is now ready to welcome guests in a more exclusive and elegant ambiance. Mentioned by the best tourist guides such as Fodor and Frommer, the Scalinata di Spagna is the best accommodation choice for those in search of a tiny and elegant hotel in Rome city centre equipped with all the necessary facilities for a comfortable stay in this outstanding ancient city.Guests will easily reach on foot all the main historical and tourist sites as well as the most exclusive shopping areas, such as Via Condotti, Via Frattina or Via del Corso boasting the best Italian fashion boutiques. The area also offers a wide choice of bars and restaurants, and Via Veneto, the famous street of La dolce vita, is just a few blocks away.Scalinata di Spagna Hotel facilities include a panoramic terrace, free wireless internet access and an Internet Point. Furthermore the hotel's staff is at your complete disposal in order to make the most of your memorable holiday in Rome.Please note: Complete renovation of the guestrooms and of the public areas has been completed in March 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Scalinata di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalinata Di Spagna Rome
Scalinata Di Spagna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing