We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment - booking mix up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trastevere Terrace Suites
Ranked #3,132 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 October 2013

As others have said, the apartment is nice - we had a room with a sofa and balcony overlooking the street which was very pleasant, and the location in Trastevere is perfect.
We did however have a mix-up whereby the owner claimed not to have a record of our booking. The room had been booked through LateRooms who claimed they had emailed, phoned and faxed to confirm the booking. They did email me twice to confirm the booking (once when I booked, and once a couple of days before). They also phoned up the apartments whilst I was on hold speaking to their call centre, and claimed they had confirmed at the time of booking.
I was able to show the owner my booking confirmation, however he still claimed that LateRooms had not contacted him. I spoke to LateRooms and they claimed they had definitely sent multiple confirmations, and spoken to the owner on the phone.
Not sure what caused the mix-up and which party was covering up a cock-up.
The end result was that we had to split our stay between the Baldassini apartments and this one, which wasn't great as these apartments are nicer (check the comments from the owner on Baldassini reviews), and also in a nicer area. 160 euros a night for a serviced apartment, midweek in late October seemed steep, but I guess Rome is a popular place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuartmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We echo so many of the comments already made about the brilliant location, excellent accommodation and Francesco's helpfulness. We chose Trastevere Terrace Suites based on previous Tripadvisor reviews and they were generally spot on. We loved living in a real Roman neighbourhood and eating breakfast in the lovely friendly bar below with the local residents. You won't get muesli and fruit there but when in Rome ...
Francesco's restaurant and gelateria recommendations were perfect and we loved eating at these family-run places with great food and only a few minutes walk away.
Transport was good with the No 8 tram running to Trastevere Station in one direction (for trains to the airport) and Piazza Venezia in the other; also plenty of buses running along the main roads by the Tiber. We chose to walk almost everywhere which was perfectly practical..
Our room was spacious, spotless and comfortable and Trastevere Terrace Suites exceeded our expectations. We have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeandPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and I spent 7 nights in the Colosseum Room and really enjoyed the location very much. We had good night sleeps and especially appreciated Francesco's helpfulness in advising us how to get around correctly. We love to walk. Everything is accessible. We walked to the Pantheon, all the way to the Spanish steps, the colosseum and etc. We recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Rome.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie777_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Wonderful small B&B in a lively area just outside the main town. We had the room with a balcony overlooking the Church and threw open the windows in the morning to let in the sounds and smells of Rome and closed them in the evening to peace and quiet. Good safe area with lots of lively bars and restaurants and within easy walking distance of all the tourist sights. The room was clean and very well presented and Francesco supplied us with all the help and information we needed and let us get on with enjoying ourselves at all other times. It is set within a lovely old residential building with a quirky lift and you feel really part of the locality as you let yourself in and out the large front door like a real native.
Highly recommended for a trip to Rome if you want to immerse yourself in local life.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueAnnMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were impressed with this place - we made a booking about a week before we arrived. The room was very nice and comfortable and the bathroom a little small but very clean and well maintained. We saw another room that had a jacuzzi in it, so I know there are different room types. The bed was very comfortable.

Our room was overlooking the street, which we knew when we booked, and the owners provided complimentary ear plugs in case the noise was bothersome. It is a pretty lively part of town but we slept well with the ear plugs and didn't have a problem with noise. It was a Thursday night, the night before Good Friday. I'm sure the rooms that don't face the street are quieter, but as I mentioned, it was a bit of a last-minute booking and our room was the only one left.

The location is ideal for visiting room and the area is filled with restaurants and bars that are much less touristy than the ones in the centre.

The breakfast was in a bar just around the corner from the hotel. They offer you a hot drink, a glass of orange juice, a croissant of your choice and scrambled eggs with toast if you want them. We found the breakfast to be good, although it's always nicer to have a breakfast buffet.

I highly recommend this hotel/guest house. The hosts are very friendly and helpful too.

It's a little bit hard to locate as there is a very small paper sign, so I suggest looking it up on Google maps before you go. The front door looks like any ordinary residential front door, and the rooms are spread over two levels of a residential building.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room that doesn't overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanyatella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,921 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#351 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,883 of 3,734 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trastevere Terrace Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trastevere Terrace Suites

Address: Via Luciano Manara 4, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,132 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: RM387 - RM923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Trastevere Terrace Suites 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trastevere Terrace Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing