We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice but......”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beehive
Ranked #5 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

There's a lot of great things to say about the Beehive, however I wouldn't stay there again. We stayed in 2 different rooms 3 night each. The rooms were nice enough. A nice common kitchen was available. Staff was absolutely just great. In the basement is a small cafe which serves delicious organic food prepared by a another wonderful staff person. So what's wrong? Street noise was very loud. Received very little sleep every night we stayed there. Our first 3 nights the room was streetside. Heard drunks & people just hanging out all night until about 4 am. Then at 4am the street cleaners/garbage collectors come by. The last 3 nights we were on the courtyard side & that was very noisy also. People fighting & kids crying,kids just being loud. It was just too much for me. Had very little sleep during my stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaatTheBeehive, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear BlueFiddler, I'm very glad you were happy with your room, thought our food was delicious and that our staff was great. I am sorry you had trouble sleeping during your stay. I agree, Rome is a noisy city and while we can do our best within our own walls to try to ensure our guests have a good night's sleep, I'm afraid anything outside our walls - rubbish collection, kids crying, etc. - is simply beyond our control. Anyone coming to Rome should be aware that Rome is noisy and if you are a light sleeper or live in a home that is very insulated from external noises, then you should come prepared with ear plugs or other noise buffers during your stay in Rome. Best regards, Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 419 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed in the dorm for 3 nights in July. The room was spacious and lovely, with bright floor tile, wall decor, plus spotless sheets, and perfect for chatting with other travelers. I had a great chat with Steven and we became friends!

Yes, it's fan not a/c, but hey, Rome gets pretty cool at night! Def no need for a/c! It's kinda hot in the day but you won't sit around all day there right? The receptionists, Steve, Francesca and others, were extremely friendly! Chef "Ming" at the kitchen told me where to buy moka pot. There's a Bialetti counter at UPIM for all the supplies! The kitchen was a nice breakfast place for comfort food. But better do as the Romans do, be a regular at your favorite caffe, stand up, order "cappuccino e brioche", and do it quick.

Via Marghera was a pleasant neighborhood, north of Termini, quieter than the south. I also stayed at Bluehostel, it was on the south, in a Chinese community, it's not as lively and close as the north. The majorities in the dorm were American/Aussie and Korean, just for information.

I would definitely choose the Beehive next summer without a second thought. And try their massage I forgot to do last time. Methink Beehive is the place to stay for the rest of my life when traveling to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Best Value of any of my accomdations in Italy, friendly staff, clean room and bathroom, Felt very safe, Not a party spot. Best if you are looking to see the sights. Close to the Rail station and other transportation options

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briggt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This hostel/hotel is a delight. I stayed in one of the rooms with shared bathroom and kitchen - and it was so great meeting such friendly fellow travellers. The walk-in shower was a delightful surprise as my previous experience of Italian showers has been old, and not v user friendly!
The staff are friendly and helpful, and we even spent one afternoon in the small garden courtyard because it is so pleasant. V convenient central location and peaceful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatesheadgallivanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hostel/hotel is an absolute gem,and we can't recommend it highly enough. We spent a week there in early September,and then a night on our way home. This was our very first visit to this amazing city,and the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Re:a previous comment about feeling unsafe,we felt completely safe. Termini Stazione is literally 5 minutes away,as are the buses. We walked most places within a half hour stroll. We stayed in the Classics rooms,and found them clean,comfortable and cosy. Bathrooms and toilets were spotlessly clean,as were all other areas.The garden is a peaceful oasis,and we always felt safe there,even at night. What really makes this place special though is its unique atmosphere,that really makes it feel like a home from home.Hopefully we will visit Rome again,and we will definitely stay at the Beehive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heathersmile24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,194 in Rome
277 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#2 of 1,194 in Rome
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#14 of 1,194 in Rome
1,141 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#29 of 1,194 in Rome
774 reviews
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#104 of 1,194 in Rome
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: RM 189 - RM 571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Beehive 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing