We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Residenza Ludovisi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza Ludovisi
Ranked #2,930 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were excited about staying here and when we arrived to check in they told us they were full.
We were shocked. They then had us go to Residenza Borghese. The older gentlemen saw us
with all our luggage and felt sorry for us so he paid our cab. Not a great first impression.
The room at the Borghese was adequate but no wireless only in their office where one of the gentlemen at the desk was down right arrogant. The female was lovely. We thought some sort
of breakfast was included again disappointment. No real coffee. Make your own instant. They
bring breakfasat to your room if you call. A dry piece of bread and banana. Oops the only thing we ate was a yogurt they had in the refrig every day. One one per person per day. We weren't looking for much just a cup of hot coffee and roll.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubomyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a short get away, even though we were only using the room to sleep in it was a little bit of a disappointment. Firstly it was VERY hard to find, there was only a tiny note on a buzzer which took us ten times to wall up and down the street to find. Once we got into the building it was not the warmest of welcomes. The man on reception was rude and demanded money straight away and said they had emailed us earlier int he day and that we should have known this (we were on a plane therefore could not read our emails).

Our room fro the outside looked like a storage cupboard, there was no room number and the lock didnt look too safe. The room itself was clean and had everything we needed, the bathrooms was kind of shoved in the corner with two very thin walls to hide it. We had a small balcony which was nice to look out from, and there was black out blinds and a tv. You could pay for sky tv, but the 'free' wifi was not accessible from our room, you had to sit at reception.

However the good points where that it was clean, had a reliable safe, and was serviced regularly. A downside was that the walls are very thin and our room was right outside were breakfast was served so we had very early wake up calls.

This hotel is great if you literally just want somewhere to rest your head after a long day of being a tourist, however for anything longer than a couple of nights I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobpool123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We almost couldn't find the hotel. It is on the third floor of an old apartment building served by a 60 year old lift (elevator). There is no sign at all that there is a hotel in the building. When you get up to "reception" there is one person sitting at a table to receive you. However the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is basic at best with 2 cereals, buns and tea or coffee. We stayed twice having pre-booked and paid otherwise we would have upgraded. The first room was very small with a broken shower door preventing us washing our hair. Our second room was bigger but very basic with a bed,one chair and a vinyl floor. There is free wifi but reception is minimal in rooms not close to the "reception desk".
However it is very well located, near the Spanish Steps and walking distance from other attractions. Friendly staff but not many services.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of their larger rooms and don't expect luxury, there isn't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 261Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Residenza Ludiovisi for three nights in July and found the accommodation to be great. To find the building the hotel is in it is best to google 30 via Lombardia as opposed to the actual name of the hotel - google gets it a bit muddled.

The gentleman running the reception area was so kind and generous and was happy to help out in any capacity.

Our room was a little warm and the air conditioner a little difficult to work out but it was clean, the bed was comfy and the shower was great! The walls aren't the most sound proof but they're a lot better than other places I've stayed. Breakfast was limited but enough to get you started for the day!

All in all we had a great stay and would come back no worries.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisFMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

If you ignore the fact that the BA website has it quoted as four stars, going in expecting the worst after reading some awful reviews, it was actually not that bad. The location is fantastic, it was extremely cheap, the room and ensuite were perfectly clean, and the fact that is is hidden within an old Rome building adds a lot to it's charm. However, the walls are thin, and our room was next to the reception so we were woken up early by lots of talking, the wifi barely worked and the breakfast was absolutely terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgia G, Direttore at Residenza Ludovisi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments. I would like to inform you that many changes have been recently made and I am happy to inform you that the wifi now perfectly works in every room and that the breakfast now consists of the following: a selection of cereals, bread and pastries, cheese and salami, yogurt, bread crusts, jam, butter and nutella, fruit and juices and home made cake.
We really hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Residenza Ludovisi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,018 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,272 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,272 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Ludovisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Ludovisi

Address: Via Lombardia 30, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,930 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: RM222 - RM1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Ludovisi 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical centre of Rome, the “Residenza Ludovisi” has 9 beautiful rooms, entirely restored that offer our guests a relaxing and comfortable stay.Surrounded by thousand-year-old history and exciting cultural fervor, this newly esablished designer apartment hotel opens up in the heart of Rome.Residenza Ludovisi is an exclusive lodging option that captures guests with its elegant designer hotel features, tempts them with its modern amenities, and conquers them with its prestigious location in the city center of Rome, a stone’s throw from Via Veneto. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing