We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
42
3
3
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
3
3
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2007

Being away we wanted nothing more than to have an authentic and intimate setting for Christmas. After doing a ton of research we decided Saxa Rubra was the perfect place for "a romantic refuge". Once we arrived we then realized that not everything seems to be as it actually appears...this place was a true disappointment. The pictures online were nothing like the reality. A cold barren house with no hot water, no noise insulation and no heat. Had we not brought our own mini Christmas tree there would have been no resemblance of holiday decor. Expecting our host "Sibilla" to greet us and at least show some presence at some point during our 3 day stay was maybe too high of an expectation. Instead we were minorally greeted by a gentleman who spoke nor English nor Italian, but French...how appropriate! The feast we asked for and were promised (aka "typical italian dinner" beautifully displayed on their site) did not exist unless you went downstairs to the neighboring restaurant . When trying to inquire about it with our french greeter he knew nothing of the sort and could only ask for cash payment and could ironically direct us to the nearest bank. We easily missed breakfast due to the fact that there was no alarm clock to wake us, but then again when we did make breakfast the next day we didn't miss much. One Egg Omelet with two slices of salami ,rice crispies, hard bimbo bread and pre packaged stale sweet rolls. To quote their brochure: "they come, leave and [i'm not quite sure who] return[s] taking with them unforgettable memories of their stay". "Unforgettable" yes.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Life_Beckons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2006

This was the worst experience I have had travelling. I requested 2 double en-suite rooms and recieved 2 rooms which shared a bathroom with another room. The rooms themselves where built in the attic so you could not stand up right. The bathroom was also in the attic and again you could not stand straight. The bath also did not have a plug as they say someone flooded the bathroom once. The host was very unhelpful, would not order a taxi when requested and told us lie after lie. After spending one night we decieded to cut our losses and found another hotel even thought we had paid for this one. Stay far away from this B&B

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richmond_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2005

The hotel is located in the elbow of a busy intersection, so be prepared to risk death crossing the street. Also the neighborhood activity seemed to involve groups of guys drinking beer and standing next to their cars. It felt mildly threatening, but that's probably just my American paranoia kicking in.
Our room was in the attic. It had slanted walls upon which I smashed my head regularly. The room was clean and our hostess was very polite. The breakfast was quite good. I could hear word-for-word the conversation in the room below us. In my case, the downstairs neighbors were well behaved, but I could see noise level becoming an annoyance.
Some of the neighboring restaurants were especially good and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PolloKahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2005

The location of Saxa Rubra was decent, about a 20 minute train ride to the city. The hostess was very pleasant and nice, the accomodations aestheticly speaking were really charming and worth the price, HOWEVER, it was probably the worst nights sleep that we got while in Europe. Everything is wood, we heard every single creak and footstep and conversation from the guests staying above us, it was truly awful. We also reserved and were promised a private bathroom but it was across the other side of the dining room and accessible to everyone.
As beautiful as it was, we would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rohmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2004

We should have seen a red flag when the proprietor, who was supposed to meet us, was not home when we arrived. We had to wait for 30 minutes in the taxi on the side of a busy road. We booked five nights but left after the first two. The upstairs rooms where very cramped and cold (my friend slept in her hat and coat), and were right above a permanent "guest" who watches TV –loudly—until the wee hours of the morning. The downstairs room was equally loud because the floor of the upstairs is the ceiling of the downstairs. No carpet, no insulation, just LOUD creaks and footsteps late at night and early in the morning. Adding to this is the constant traffic outside and the chatter of early customers of the downstairs coffee shop. All of this was disappointing, but we got a little angry when we requested the proprietor ask the downstairs guest to turn his television down. At first she acted like she didn't understand our English, and then she refused, saying that B&Bs are different from hotels (?). We would have been glad to politely ask him ourselves, but his door was behind another locked door, so that was not an option. We felt that the advertising –"quiet"!?!—was very dishonest, and that the proprietor had no respect for our basic needs (sleep in a quiet, reasonably warm place). Do not stay here!

Also, she charges Euro 60 for 2 people and Euro 80 for 3 people for a taxi shuttle from Ciampino. We found several hotel taxi services in Rome for only Euro 40, no matter how many people.

    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stay1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews