We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saxa Rubra Roma Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Rome
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
40
3
3
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
3
3
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2005

The hotel is located in the elbow of a busy intersection, so be prepared to risk death crossing the street. Also the neighborhood activity seemed to involve groups of guys drinking beer and standing next to their cars. It felt mildly threatening, but that's probably just my American paranoia kicking in.
Our room was in the attic. It had slanted walls upon which I smashed my head regularly. The room was clean and our hostess was very polite. The breakfast was quite good. I could hear word-for-word the conversation in the room below us. In my case, the downstairs neighbors were well behaved, but I could see noise level becoming an annoyance.
Some of the neighboring restaurants were especially good and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PolloKahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2005

The location of Saxa Rubra was decent, about a 20 minute train ride to the city. The hostess was very pleasant and nice, the accomodations aestheticly speaking were really charming and worth the price, HOWEVER, it was probably the worst nights sleep that we got while in Europe. Everything is wood, we heard every single creak and footstep and conversation from the guests staying above us, it was truly awful. We also reserved and were promised a private bathroom but it was across the other side of the dining room and accessible to everyone.
As beautiful as it was, we would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rohmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Frankfurt, Germany
14
Reviewed 15 November 2004

We should have seen a red flag when the proprietor, who was supposed to meet us, was not home when we arrived. We had to wait for 30 minutes in the taxi on the side of a busy road. We booked five nights but left after the first two. The upstairs rooms where very cramped and cold (my friend slept in her hat and coat), and were right above a permanent "guest" who watches TV –loudly—until the wee hours of the morning. The downstairs room was equally loud because the floor of the upstairs is the ceiling of the downstairs. No carpet, no insulation, just LOUD creaks and footsteps late at night and early in the morning. Adding to this is the constant traffic outside and the chatter of early customers of the downstairs coffee shop. All of this was disappointing, but we got a little angry when we requested the proprietor ask the downstairs guest to turn his television down. At first she acted like she didn't understand our English, and then she refused, saying that B&Bs are different from hotels (?). We would have been glad to politely ask him ourselves, but his door was behind another locked door, so that was not an option. We felt that the advertising –"quiet"!?!—was very dishonest, and that the proprietor had no respect for our basic needs (sleep in a quiet, reasonably warm place). Do not stay here!

Also, she charges Euro 60 for 2 people and Euro 80 for 3 people for a taxi shuttle from Ciampino. We found several hotel taxi services in Rome for only Euro 40, no matter how many people.

    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
334
Reviewed 5 October 2004

Our experience at Saxa Rubra is mixed. The B&B is located about 20 minutes from Rome by train and you will find Francesca, the owner and proprietor to be an absolute delight.

However, our accommodations were a bit cramped. Although our room was immaculate and charming, it was extremely small (10x10) and in the attic portion of the house, which had no windows to the outside, just a skylight. The roof was so pitched that we were only able to stand up in a small part of the room. We are only 5'5.

We had to share the one bath upstairs, which only had a tub and a hand held shower spray. Because there was no shower curtain on the tub, it made it very difficult to keep water off the floor.

To add to the situation, the other 2 rooms upstairs were occupied by some other Europeans who were very noisy and disturbed us well after 1:00 am with their endless giggling and chatter.

On another note, the hospitatity and the healthy breakfasts deserve five stars but the attic accommodations were only fair. If you stay at Saxa Rubra, request a downstairs room, which are much roomier.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews