We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$252
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$345/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Hotel President(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$280
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$170
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Residenza Argentina(Rome)
US$519
US$171
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$157
US$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$317
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$369
US$308
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
61
97
64
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
97
64
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstermini stationbreakfast bagmy husband and i spent nightswould stay againfontana di treviquiet at nightcold meatsreception stafffloorcollosseumneighborhoodcerealtoasterwardrobeeuro
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2015

The Hotel Max is a cute little hotel. It was easy to find from the Roma Termini station and only a 5 minute walk (if even that). The room was an adequate size. I loved the bright colors. Compared to American hotels, it was a pleasant change. Breakfast is very simple, but good enough to fuel your morning. They also offer afternoon water, pastries, and wine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There really wasn't anything too unpleasant about our stay. The air conditioning could have been better. It was 90+ degrees while we were there, and the room was never really cool. Also, the wifi connection was really poor. However, I don't go on vacation to stick around in my room all day. It was just a minor inconvenience because I did have to submit school work online; I ended up having to a restaurant down the street in order to do so. Speaking of restaurants, there are plenty to choose from near the hotel. There are also places to have coffee/espresso and bakeries for Italian pastries.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Stayed for 2 nights in hot July. The hotel is in 3rd floor and the elevator might not always work because of the electricity cut outs. Room was very small, hardly fit the double bed in it, but clean. Bathroom was neat, no complaints. The worst thing was though that air conditioning didn't work. The lowest setting was to 28 C° and that was way too much to stay in comfortably. We asked that to be fixed but answer was that since everyone is using the Air Con now, the temperature cannot be lowered. Breakfast wasn't very good either, basic pastry based europian one. Not a bad hotel, but definitely not more than 3 stars at highest.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hannimari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed in Hotel Max 3 nights. Nice standard. Enough space for one person with little luggage. The hotel is about 3 min from Termini central station which is central place for bus metro and train. There are also some good raiser and in the same or the streets close to the hotel.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank SandraMilenaIden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

This hotel is very close to the train station. The building is split in 2 with hotel max on the left side on floor 3 and 5. The building has 6 hotels. There was a small lift for 4 people or 2 people with bags. The stairway in the building is grubby and will put you off.

As mentioned the reception is on floor 3. We were met by a friendly man (can't remember his name) who supplied all the tourist info we needed. Our room 4 was located on floor 5. The hallway was accessed by a vault type door where there were 6 rooms in total. It over-looked a central court-yard and had a balcony.

The brightly painted orange room was a good size with a tv, safe, small empty fridge (for your water) and air con, which turned out to be not so great. The double bed was comfortable. The en-suite was a good size with a single shower which was ok for us but would be a challenge for a bigger person. It could have done with a shelf as everything had to sit on the floor.

The wifi was free and worked ok with my wife's phone but was hit and miss with my tablet.
The room is cleaned every day and the towels changed. No issue with noise in this room.

The breakfast the next morning was from 7.30 till 10 and was typical continental. It was a very small room beside reception with 6 small tables.
Choices were cereals, yogurts, cold meats, cheese, fresh brioche, choice of coffee from the server and some sweet cakes.

The metro at Termi station was just 3mins away. Make sure you have change as we never got any ticket machine to take notes and even the Italians around me confirmed this.

This side is where you can get the romeairportbus.com for €3.90. The other side of Termi station is where the Terravision/Ryanair bus stop is located.

Walking distance to St Peters Square, the furthest attraction for us, took us around 60mins. The other major attractions, Tevi Fountain, Colosseum, Pantheon and Spanish steps were about 20mins walking. But every corner you turn in Rome has some attraction.
We liked to take backstreets as you usually came across some attraction or church. We never had any hassle doing this and we were only hassled at major attractions with Indian people selling selfie sticks.
At the Colosseum we took the chance on the people selling the group tickets for €25 each with a guide. A bit sceptical at first but we had a great informative tour for 1.5hrs.

I would advise to get a tour that continues with the same tour guide across to the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. If you don't get a guided tour buy your tickets at the Palatine Hill entrance where there are no queues as they are long at the Colosseum entrance and no shade from the sun.

Some guide books advise caution in this area of Rome but we were out late each night and had no issues. I did see a pickpocket in action on the metro but the guy with the bag moved away and of course the pickpocket started to talk loudly as if he was wronged and not the other way around. There are security people on the metro platforms advising people to keep your bags on your front and to watch out. Why they don't just get rid of the pick pockets off the metro is anyone's guess.

Overall it was an acceptable hotel and we paid €317 euro for 3 nights. If the air con was working properly it would have been perfect.

There is a city tax to be paid at the end of your stay. It is €4 per person per night for this hotel and must be paid in cash.

Tips: Bring a sun umbrella as most of your queuing will be in the sun. If using guided tours make sure the one guide completes all the tour. Keep change for the metro.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We had a lovely four night stay at MAX Hotel early June 2015 . Great location , just a few minutes walk from Rome Termini (and the Leonardo Express). The hotel was easy to find and is on the 3rd floor of a building, there is an elevator.
The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. I was very grateful for the assistance that two of the front desk staff gave me when I was trying to contact the lost and found office at Leonardo Da Vinci Airport to locate a jacket that I had left on the plane. If it hadn’t been for the two staff I wouldn’t have been able to get the jacket back.
The room was very clean and a reasonable size with a comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. Breakfast was very good.
I am happy to recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loredana T, Proprietario at Max Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your beautiful review; I inform you that was a pleasure for the staff to have helped you and we are very happy that at the end you got the jacket. I'm also very glad that you appreciated the cleanliness of the room and the good quality of the breakfast.
I hope to accomodate you early at Hotel Max....may be in autumn-winter so that you can bring with you your favourite black jacket !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews