We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Max Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$282
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$170
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$95
US$93
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$259
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$348
US$254
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Hotel President(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$343
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$267
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
60
96
64
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
96
64
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstermini stationbreakfast bagboiled eggswould stay againfontana di trevithe hotel is cleanother attractionsquiet at nightcold meatsreception staffstayed here for nightsfloorcollosseumcheeseneighborhoodcerealtoaster
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

We visited rome at the beginning of October for our paper wedding anniversary and chose to stay at the hotel max.

The staff are extremely friendly and the rooms are very clean and adequate for what you need. After all in rome you spend hardly any time in your room at all so a gigantic room with all the mod cons is not required.

That said it still has more than enough for anyone Inc a free breakfast which is quite nice also. The staff were great. They will give advice on where to eat, drink ect... and also offer assistance wherever they can for example they called and booked us into a lovely restaurant on the day of our anniversary and arranged the transport.

It is also in a very good location within walking distance from 90% of all the attractions and if you are active 100%. Me and my wife walked all the way to Vatican city which is the furthest away right at the opposite end of rome.

Overall a great hotel and would stay again if we returned along with recommending to anyone else who is planning a stay in rome.

Thankyou hotel max

Regards

The Pinders

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jamie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loredana T, Proprietario at Max Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel and that you aprreciated the service we provide to our customers. Your review gives us the right energy to get better and better in order to meet the needs of our guests.
I hope you can come back soon in Rome and to be our Guest. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

This little hotel is nestled a couple of storey's above other premises. The location is perfect - a couple of hundred feet from the train station. We were going on a cruise after a four night stay in Rome and didn't want to be trudging about with our large suitcases - so this was perfect for us. The staff are very helpful. The rooms are small but very clean and fresh looking. We had four great nights stay - comfortable and cool - really no complaints about the room. We started off on the 5th floor and moved due to works down to the 3rd and were very kindly compensated for the disruption with a bottle of prosecco. Thank you very much. The breakfast was okay - a bit more choice of cereal would have suited us better - but we managed every morning to have a decent breakfast and feel full before we started our sightseeing for the day. Hotel is within walking distance of most places - 45 minutes to Vatican which is probably the furthest away. We liked the hotel - very good value for money and a great place for a base in Rome.

Room Tip: Higher up the better.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Macb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loredana T, Proprietario at Max Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the kind words in favor of cleanliness and staff. As you realized, during your stay we were doing maintenance work to improve services and make special the stay of our guests. I hope to not have caused too much trouble to you. Thank you for having appreciated the bottle of sparkling wine .... a small gift to forgive us for having made you change room. I wait for you during your next stay in Rome. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This hotel was just fine for a quick 2 nights in Rome where we didn't spend much time in the room. The shower is tiny, my husband could barely fit in it, let alone turn around. It is super close to Termini station so convenient to getting to/from airport and the metro. Was a fairly easy walk to the Colosseum and other sites. While the neighborhood isn't great, we found a couple of good restaurants a couple of blocks away. The air con didn't work great, but after we talked to the staff it seemed to come back on. We booked through their website and it was a good price and gave us a free bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

It is located 3 min from Termini station. The neighborhood is dirty and smelly, on the other hand it is a waking distance from the Coloseum, piazza Venecia, via Venetto and all the other attractions.
The hotel itself is small, is'a flat of a larger building. It is clean enough, fresh towels every day, with a decent breakfast. So for the money you pay- not bad

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank sretenBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights in July. We were greeted by very friendly reception staff who gave us lots of local information and provided us with a map of the city and pointed out a few attractions that I wouldn't have considered going to.
We stayed in room 2,it was very basic but it was clean. The room is very small too so there wasn't much space on the floor as our suitcases occupied most of it.
The air conditioning isn't that effective and is rather noisy so light sleepers might find it hard to actually sleep.
The bathroom is very clean and toiletries are provided. However the sliding door on our shower was hanging off but after we came back from being out that day it had been fixed without even having to mention it!
Breakfast is poor. There is the choice of ham, cheese, boiled egg,fruit and yogurt. Also a selection of cake which I found absolutely bizarre. Who has cake for breakfast?
One thing that did annoy me was the fact they have signs in the bathroom asking guests to leave towels on the floor if they need changed to stop wasting water etc which is fair enough, but everyday I would have to open a new bar of soap because the cleaner had binned it. If that isn't waste binning a bar of soap a day I don't know what is.
Location is very central just a mere few footsteps from Roma Termini.
Would definitely stay here again if I came back to Rome

Room Tip: Room 2 has a small balcony
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews