We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (923)
Filter reviews
924 results
Traveller rating
663
226
23
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
663
226
23
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrastevere areasmall hoteljewish ghettogreat neighborhoodperfect locationwalking distancerestaurants and barsquiet streetaround the cornercharming hotelpastriesenjoyed our staymajor sightsthe hotel staffnice breakfastloved this hotelwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 924 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We are a family of 3, including a one-year old boy. We were very satisfied with out stay at the Residenza Santa Maria. The hotel is small, only six rooms (I think), which makes it calm and intimate. The staff is very nice and friendly, especially the breakfast hostess who is so fond of children.
The room was clean and serviced daily, and the breakfast buffet was just large enough for us to eat through in threee days.
The hotel is centrally situated in Trastevere, which gives you walking distance to most sights (depending on your preference to walk around), but still very calm.
Child cot was included for free.
Computer and guidebooks to use for free in the entré hall.
I would highly recommend this hotel!

Could be better: we missed a child seat in the breakfast dining room.
The room was just above street level, but yet it felt a bit like a cellar due to that the window is placed very high.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia_TripHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed at Reisdenza Santa Maria for 4 nights in Nov 2012. Our room was right off the lobby sitting room, wi-fi worked well, and the room was large and comfortable. The shower was the best we experienced out of many hotels in Italy, including some 5 star. The room was serviced daily,large fluffy towels, the breakfast buffet was very nice with a good variety, and the coffee was excellent.

Guests at the Residenza are also invited to the happy hour at the Hotel Santa Maria two blocks away each day where for the price of a drink, a nice snack buffet is offered from 5:30 to 7 each day. On days when we had late lunch, this was a nice substitute for dinner.

The Residenza is in a nice, quiet location, yet close enough to walk to many of the tourist sites across the river. The best walk, however, was to the top of Janicular Hill which gave us views over all of Rome and the Vatican. Loved the restaurants and shops in Trastevere and found a favourite gelato shop so really made ourselves at home during our stay.

However, the most important part of staying at this hotel was without a doubt the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They made reservations at the Borghese Gallery, suggested a limo for our airport transfer (only E5 more than taxi), and made the best coffee for breakfast! We were also welcome to return to use the lobby and computer before heading to the airport for our night flight. This hotel was a very good value and we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the room off the lobby if available. While it faces the front street, we found it large and quiet as there is little traffic on this street at night and no bars or restaurants.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hendomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Family of 4 - (including 2 teenage daughters) have just returned home after 3 nights at the Residenza Santa Maria. Trastevere was a great location and I would not hesitate to recommend this area and this hotel to stay at if wanting to explore Rome.. We walked to all the major sights with ease, finding plenty of interesting areas on the way. The area around the Residenza was filled with great places to eat and bustling with tourists and locals alike. The hotel was lovely, spotless and quiet. Breakfast set us up perfectly for a day traipsing across Rome, and the staff at the Residenza were only too happy to help with information/advice. A huge thank you to the taxi driver (arranged by the hotel) who drove back to the airport with my bag containing passports and tickets after me leaving them in the back of his car. The only downside to the holiday is that we only had 3 days. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 1 - away from other rooms - fantastic bath and shower.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBMridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed four nights at this delightful hotel in the heart of Trastevere, a district with maximum charm and (positive) attitude. The hotel staff were knowledgeable and very friendly; the accommodations were very comfortable, and the included breakfast was a perfect way to start each day. I would definitely stay at Residenza Santa Maria again, if I had the chance!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in October and loved the Residenza Santa Maria. Trastevere is a great location to return to at the end of a busy day touring Rome. Great restaurants and night life but still quiet.

Our room was lovely and made us feel like we were in a country inn (other than the obnoxiously noisy neighbors but that wasn't the hitel's fault). The shower was the best I experienced in all the hotels I stayed in from Verona to Venice to Flirence, including the Cipriano in Venice.

All of the staff were incredibly helpful and polite. Wifi is free but didn't work in our room so we had to sit in one of the lobby areas. But all the hotel areas are so nicely done that wasn't much of a burden.

We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpigletCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews