We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Sistine Chapel
from US$28.80
More Info
from US$57.50
More Info
from US$41.40
More Info
from US$43.70
More Info
Reviews (18,042)
Filter reviews
18,042 results
Traveller rating
12,342
3,018
1,683
565
434
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12,342
3,018
1,683
565
434
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no photos allowed last judgement no photography taking pictures michael angelo holy place bucket list guided tour awe inspiring once in a lifetime dress code take your time skip the line in advance chapel ceiling silence
Filter
Updating list...
1,254 - 1,259 of 18,042 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The Sistine chapel is smaller than the larger St Peter’s but it is covered in some of the finest works of art in history.

I don’t really know how to express how much you have to go see portions of the Vatican. It is truly beyond words. I am rating them and marking where we were able to go during our half day tour.

Go see it and go see more than we did, book at least retail full days.

Breathtaking, awe inspiring, historic, amazing. It was spiritual.

Only distraction: the crowds. You have to be prepared to deal with the crowds and frankly if you allow yourself to pay too much attention to the crowds, you will miss the sights. Don’t miss the sights!!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank J8494DQmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Easter weekend was ridiculous! So busy and very rushed through but they were about to close parts of the Vatican for the Easter Vigil so it was understandable.
Still recommend the experience! Absolutely beautiful!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank BelleD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The Sistine Chapel is a masterpiece from and art perspective and the capability of the artists is unequalled but the space is not amazing and the annoying security telling everyone to be silent on a megaphone the whole time is annoying and far from silent. Very difficult in large crowds with young children. Kids found it hard.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank desinerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

A huge disappointment down to the number of people they stuff into the Chapel. It is a victim of its fame and it’s outstanding beauty. Completely spoilt I think by the commercialisation of the whole of St Peters. I could not see past the numerous shops in the museum, SistIne Chapel and the Basilica. Somehow they need to restrict the number of people, it’s was uncomfortable and painful for us.

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank Martyn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We went late in the afternoon so had no queue - we purchased a ticket that was for the museum and it’s expensive but you can see a lot for your money , still very busy inside but we walked to the chapel as we weren’t interested to see the religious history ( which there is plenty in all the corridors it’s packed with art, sculptures, religious articles) we just wanted to see the Sistine chapel.
Glad I have seen it and would recommend just to say you have seen it !
No photos allowed -

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank alyt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews