We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in the Old Town”
Review of Albergo Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Marina
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Reviewed 1 November 2011

In the old town part of Monterosso, Albergo Marina just cannot be beaten! Whether travelling with a group or as a couple or just friends, this is the place to go. Nice rooms, food is fantastic, and the owners are just a delight. Stayed some 7 or 8 years ago, then took a group back here for a wonderful group dinner in September. They make you feel like you are part of the family.
After the flooding of this area in October 2012, we need to return these places to help them get back on their feet.

Room Tip: Higher floor gives you great access to lemon garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raggedcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 350 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel won our hearts with the warmth and friendliness of the staff. It is not luxurious by any means and you could make the case that the nautical decor might use some updating. But the location was excellent, nestled among the charming shops of the picturesque old town part of Monterosso and a short walk to the beautiful beach. The room was a good size, the bathroom was clean and well-supplied. We had a room on the second floor that had a small terrace with a table and chairs, and conveniently a clothesline for hanging our damp beach towels. The beach towels and a beach bag were supplied by the hotel, a nice extra touch. The breakfast, with made to order omelettes, was the best on our two-week trip to Italy.

Room Tip: We liked the terrace off our second floor room, It appeared that there were not many rooms with terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reillygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This little hotel was a real find in the Cinque Terre in the heart of the village! It boasts an incredibly friendly staff: starting with the desk clerk seeing us struggling up the cobblestones with our bags, and rushing out to help us carry them up and into the lobby.

The breakfasts were super with omelets cooked right there at the serving table and croissants hot out of the bakery. Really, we've never had croissants like these! Also, there was a late afternoon (2-6 pm) pasta meal. The various pastas and sauces were cooked to order, again at the serving table in the dining room. Because of these "free" meals, there was no need to buy food (except our nightly gelato). So it made these rooms a superb value at 110 euros/night (all inclusive cost).

The rooms were comfortable with terrific sofitted lighting at the ceiling, controllable by each side of the bed, so you didn't need to get out of bed to turn off the lights.

The parking is always difficult in Italy, and the CT is no exception. We parked in the main car park. Going back to the car at the end of our stay, we used the hotel's baggage service for 5 Euros total. This was a good value.

A final note is that the hotel's Wifi worked really well (costs 1 Euro/day).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireWilson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This small hotel is not fancy, but the hosts more than make up for any deficits. We arrived later in the afternoon after a train delay in Milan. Check-in was flawless and quickly done. The time for the afternoon buffet of snacks had passed, but they replenished the pasta and invited us, along with a few other late arrivals, to enjoy. As mentioned in previous reviews, the location is perfect and is an easy walk from the train station. We appreciated the WiFi and the convenience of a computer for the use of the guests. Breakfast was very good with freshly made croissants and omelets to order. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellabella_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is nicely located in a quiet area but just steps from the centre of town and all the restaurants.
A full buffet breakfast is served every morning with made to order omelets and very good waffles, along with a selection of cold items. The afternoon complimentary pasta is a nice snack after a day of hiking and the cold water and coffee (lattes, cappuccino etc) that's always available is a much appreciated touch.
The rooms, especially the bathrooms, are on the small size but they are clean and adequate. I could hear an air conditioner all night which bothered me but not my husband so whether it's an issue would depend on how soundly you sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.8 km away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
613 reviews
8.8 km away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
201 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
450 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marina

Address: Via Buranco 40, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: RM620 - RM751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Hotel Marina, just redone, is located in the historical center of Monterosso al Mare where even with just a few days or a little time, you can breathe the charachteristic air of the Cinque Terre. We are close to small shops in very quiet street just steps away for the best cafes, pizzerias and resteraunts in Monterosso. We are just 100 meters form the rotected seaside and beaches, form the trails and the ferries. It is possible to hike to all of the five villages, go snorkeling and mountain biking all on foot form our central location LEISURE ACTIVITES You can go hiking on the trails along the Cinque Terre, you can join local boat trips or swim in our wonderful sea, which is a protected sanctuary. With us you have free use of beach towels, snorkels and flippers, a solarium, ROOMS Hotel Marina offers ensuite facilities in all or our 25 rooms also including, 28 satellite TV, telephone, hair dryer, safe, air conditioning, and frigobar. Double triple and Quadruple rooms can also be accomodates with all seperate twin beds, however this must be requested and confirmed before arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marina Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing