We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, friendly hotel, but expected a bit more.”
Review of Albergo Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Marina
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Well, let's call it 3 1/2 stars. I had read so many positive reviews about how helpful and friendly the hotel people were that perhaps my expectations were too high. Note: This is not a complaint. The accommodations were fine, the food was good, the staff friendly enough. However, my wife and I didn't see much of the owners. The young man who was behind the desk when we arrived didn't tell us anything about what the hotel offered or provide much by way of area information. We even had to ask for a map. The only person who expressed any interest in us was the man who prepared our breakfast omelet. I do want to reiterate that we had a perfectly pleasant stay, but just not as positive as reviews would have led us to expect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unicorn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 234 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We loved staying at the Hotel Albergo Marina in Monterosso. The owners, Marina and Eraldo, were very helpful and kind. Our room had a balcony and was very clean. Would definitely recommend it in Old Town of Monterosso. Allen prepared omelets to order and in the afternoon Eraldo prepared deliciious fresh pasta and salad for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony. There is a gentleman who would sing daily while walking to and from hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAGirlUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A lovely family run place giving a great insight into the Italian way of life. They were generous not only of their time but offered more inclusions than I've seen anywhere else. Not only did they offer a terrific breakfast but included a lunch as well!! The food was wonderful & plentiful.They also provide just about anything you would need for the beach, including a canoe. Rooms provided all you need, with added decor touches & everything worked well. There was also the bonus of the top gardens & sitting areas which unfortunately we couldn't use for breakfast but I believe are usually utilised. However we did make use of the little front porch for a quiet drink & people watch. The position can't be beaten. Still very close to all shops & eating places, it is just far enough away to provide a quiet haven away from passing crowds. Also Monterosso has many interesting little streets & all the old town shops are in a level area. Don't miss Eraldo's new shop selling delicious meats, cheeses & breads at great prices and very close to the albergo. The staff were really helpful & I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with fancy modern American style amenities this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a great quiet location with clean rooms, and a wonderful staff you have found your place. The owners and their staff make you feel like family, and go out of their way to be accommodating. The wonderful breakfast, and afternoon light meal is included in the price. This is a warm friendly place that I would highly recommend to travelers that love the rich culture, and warm hospital feeling that the Italians have to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdwalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed for two nights with a friend in early October 2013 and we both loved this place. Location is easy to find and tucked into a great street in the old part of the town. The room was clean, comfortable and the rooftop, although closed for the season, was still accessible. We spent several hours there enjoying the view and a glass of wine. There were some issues with WiFi, but we experienced that in most places in Italy. After 12 days of traveling and having only European style breakfasts, we were so excited to have eggs, cooked any way we liked, and real toast!!:-) A great way to start the day before hiking on the trails. The hotel also provides a pasta lunch from 2-5, cooked to order as well. The pesto is delicious! The staff are very, very friendly and helpful. I hope to return to Cinque Terre some day and I would definitely stay in Monterosso at the Albergo Marina again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.8 km away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
614 reviews
8.8 km away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
201 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
451 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marina

Address: Via Buranco 40, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: RM621 - RM748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Hotel Marina, just redone, is located in the historical center of Monterosso al Mare where even with just a few days or a little time, you can breathe the charachteristic air of the Cinque Terre. We are close to small shops in very quiet street just steps away for the best cafes, pizzerias and resteraunts in Monterosso. We are just 100 meters form the rotected seaside and beaches, form the trails and the ferries. It is possible to hike to all of the five villages, go snorkeling and mountain biking all on foot form our central location LEISURE ACTIVITES You can go hiking on the trails along the Cinque Terre, you can join local boat trips or swim in our wonderful sea, which is a protected sanctuary. With us you have free use of beach towels, snorkels and flippers, a solarium, ROOMS Hotel Marina offers ensuite facilities in all or our 25 rooms also including, 28 satellite TV, telephone, hair dryer, safe, air conditioning, and frigobar. Double triple and Quadruple rooms can also be accomodates with all seperate twin beds, however this must be requested and confirmed before arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marina Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing