We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never saw the owners”
Review of Il Pirata Rooms

Il Pirata Rooms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Il Pirata Rooms
Ranked #32 of 39 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 October 2011

All the communication beforehand was via email with Nohelia but we never met her or her partner. Their husbands were too busy to come and help us with our luggage before 11:00 am but we had to leave so handling the luggage was a struggle. Not even an apology but one of the twin told was that the service was 'not part of the service offered'. I was so tired going up the hill with all my bags I did not offer to show him the email I had from Nohelia promising help with our luggage. Also the day we arrived we were told the next morning the cafe was closed so they were going to give us our breakfast that evening and the coffee was in the room. They gave us a few leftover stale pastries from that day and they were so horrible the next day we left them in the room. I think I had the right to know this detail before we arrived.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

The Il Pirata restaurant is just up the hill from the train station. We arrived late in the day and they had someone meet us there even though they were closed. We get up early, otherwise the cars beeping their horns as they go around the bend in the road in front of the hotel would've bothered us. Breakfast is at the restaurant... Fresh orange juice, latte and fresh pastries, we loved the ricotta filled pastries. They're not open for dinner every night so ask on your first day if you're interested. Vernazza was our favorite town by far.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We just got back from our trip to the Cinque Terre, what a beautiful, unforgettable place! This was our "home base" for our vacation; Vernazza is such a charming village to stay in. We checked in on a day the associated restaurant, Il Pirata was closed. A local guy they hired to meet us led us up the hill a ways to our room, no sweat. The building is split into 2 studios, I think. The room is average size for Italy and the bed was pretty comfortable, the bathroom was fine. The temps were warm but the room stayed cool, especially with the provided fans. The babbling brook outside your window acts like a noise machine to help you sleep. Don't expect cleaning service every day, it's every 2 days instead. They also have a little shared kitchenette you can use if you want. No WIFI in the room, but it's free at Il Pirate restaurant, about a 3 min walk. Our "neighbor" was a guy who liked to listen to his music REALLY loud before dinner time, right when my wife and I usually take a little nap. He turned it down a little when we asked, but be warned the walls are THIN.

Finally, the breakfast was included and really excellent. The brothers that run that restaurant are masters of their craft, especially pastries (don't even think about asking for eggs & bacon). They are also really nice guys.

Overall the value was excellent, especially staying IN Vernazza. The breakfasts were amazing, and the room itself was pretty good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

As expected our stay in the studio was top notch and the brothers delivered their normal hospitality and kindness. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Of course the breakfast and dinner at the Il Pirata adds to the entire experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leland1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We booked the studio apartment for three of us. Our 13 year old daughter had a cot that was really comfortable. The studio is very clean and modern. The air con works really well which was a godsend in August. There was no TV but who needs it in Cinque Terra - there are so many other interesting thongs to do.

The studio is on its own on a little alleyway off the village's main walk to the water, away from the other Il Pirata rooms that are at the top of the hill (other side of the train station) close to the Cafe where you eat you'd included breakfast.

Someone met us at the train station and brought us to the studio up many stairs, a necessary gesture as we never would have found it ourselves.

Breakfast pastries, bruschetta, fresh orange juice, berry smoothies and cappucino were all great, inspiration hailing from Sicily where the owners are from. Noelia was very helpful if we had questions.

Wifi is only available in the cafe and the signal is sometimes weak but this is such a minor inconvenience. Ah, there is also a self serve laundry around the corner from the studio. And I wanted to mention that although there is a balcony at the studio, there isn't really a view to speak of.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.2 km away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#8 of 39 in Vernazza
210 reviews
2.4 km away
Agriturismo Graziella
Agriturismo Graziella
#7 of 19 in Vernazza
29 reviews
0 km away
Affittacamere Tonino Basso
Affittacamere Tonino Basso
#27 of 39 in Vernazza
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Casa Cato
Casa Cato
#3 of 39 in Vernazza
109 reviews
0.3 km away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#11 of 39 in Vernazza
196 reviews
1 km away
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
#13 of 39 in Vernazza
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Pirata Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Pirata Rooms

Address: Via Gavino, 36, Vernazza, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing