We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel della Posta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel della Posta
Ranked #50 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed 30 September 2014

I stayed one night in Genoa en route from Cinque Terre to Milan and wanted something handy for the main train station, which this hotel is. The rooms and breakfast are basic, and it's a bit of a walk to the centre, but it's clean and the service was good. The walls are a bit thin - my neighbours in the next room were having a good time.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Seumas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2014

After our original booking failed, my daughter and I scrambled to find a hotel for a couple of nights and found Hotel della Posta. It's very conveniently located close to Genoa's main train station (Piazza Principe). The room itself was quite small and the design quite garish, even to someone as uncouth as me! We were on the top floor and the room featured one wall painted a sea foam green right next to another that was blue grey with golden flourishes and faux stone in the corner. Worse still was the stark fluorescent ceiling light, which felt more suited to a police station. But on the plus side the bathroom was large and clean.
The room included a small fridge but it didn't seem to work. And worse still for my 13 year old daughter was the spotty wifi service. After our arrival, I spent the better part of an hour with the staff member downstairs trying to make it work. Initially I was told it might be a problem with my Apple devices, which seemed odd. The staff member was helpful in that he tried to get others to address the problem, but mostly without success. He spent much of the hour repeatedly saying "allora" which even to me sounded defeatist! At one point a woman described as "the boss" came into the lobby, but she showed no interest whatsoever and did not engage. Eventually (several hours later and quite inexplicably) we had some spotty wifi connectivity, but it was inconsistent at best. On our last day I noticed a repair person was in to look at the wifi, so perhaps it has since been respired.
Despite some problems with service, the room itself was relatively clean and the bed comfortable. We also had a large patio off our upper floor room which was a nice surprise, but there were no chairs nor any way to make use of it.
Upon reflection, if there had been more time to decide, I might have selected a different hotel, but in a pinch it was okay and the price reasonable.

Room Tip: Some top floor rooms had terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Genoa is a gem. This hotel is clean, located close to the train station and we felt really safe staying here. Wifi was excellent and the reception was very friendly and helpful. The surrounded restaurants are great and the city is very easy to navigate using the metro!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank jaetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is well situated for the Port, Station and City Centre
Rooms not big but clean and bed comfortable.
Minimalist breakfast in the downstairs area
There are some fabulous restaurants in Genoa and its worth using the ones not in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.
Small bar downstairs.
Friendly and professional staff running the hotel

Room Tip: Book a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quarterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Well situated hotel - not luxury but clean rooms with view of Main Street

friendly and helpful staff
Little area to have a drink, no opportunity to sit around
Breakfast served downstairs - functional and lacking choice

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewelleryq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.1 km away
CIT Hotel Britannia
CIT Hotel Britannia
#28 of 91 in Genoa
625 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Actor
Hotel Actor
#43 of 91 in Genoa
86 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#47 of 91 in Genoa
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#30 of 91 in Genoa
157 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#75 of 91 in Genoa
54 reviews
1.6 km away
Soana City Rooms
Soana City Rooms
#42 of 91 in Genoa
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel della Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Posta

Address: Via Balbi 24, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: RM265 - RM963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel della Posta 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel della Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Della Posta Nuova Genoa
Della Posta Nuova Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing