We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,703)
Filter reviews
1,703 results
Traveller rating
1,031
480
121
46
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,031
480
121
46
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club infinity pool byron restaurant star hotel beautiful hotel lord byron eden rock sea view cinque terre old world italian riviera ligurian sea our honeymoon santa margarita buffet breakfast superb location fabulous views
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,703 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Beautiful hotel with amazing views. We had a room with a view with large balcony with table and chairs. Service was excellent at the hotel and the restaurant. We ate at Eden Roc for dinner. Service, view and food were all amazing. Perfect location, it was a 10 minute walk to town and the ferries. We enjoyed the beach club with 2 pools and plenty of chairs. The only thing we would have changed is we should have stayed longer. We will definitely choose this hotel on our next stay in the area.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Well, it does have the views and the setting, thats for sure. The beach club was very nice laid out over a few levels with access for sea swimming. The room was well appointed and general hotel nicely decorated. It felt to me like it was lacking another bar/lounge area with just one that wasn't always open.

We had a couple of service issues and messed up reseravtions through the hotel. The concierge was, I would describe, clinical when dealing with problems rather than sympathetic which took the edge off the place for me.

Would I return, maybe one day but only after I'd tried out the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

My wife Lise and I staid here from 23rd of July to 27td of July 2018, we had booked a
Exclusive double room.
Already from start when we arrived, from parking staff, receptionist, concierge, cleaning personnel and all people in restaurant, it was a pleasure, nice, helpful and really competent people.
We really feet us welcome and home.
The hotel is an old hotel, with an old history, but that's just a charm.
We where, upgrade from hotel side, to room 107, fantastic suite.
If there is a small problem or mistake, staff is very nice and quick to respond and fix.
We really can recommend this hotel and there personnel.
Thank you very much, Excelsior Palace, Rapallo, from Lise & Lars, Denmark.

Room Tip: Rooms, with sea-view.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arrangergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

We stayed at the Excelsior in July 2018 and totally enjoyed it. Some may complain that the hotel looks a little out dated, but that was part of the charm for us. We live in Miami Beach and are so tired of more than perfect looking places that seem to have been designed by the same architect. The rooms were really huge, clean,and well decorated, with oversized terraces. Bathrooms came with both shower and bath. Turn down service is offered in the evening. Breakfast is really good and there is basically everything you could want, but even an average breakfast would be great with that stunning view of the Mediterranean. The service at the hotel is 5 stars, staff is always ready to help and never make you feel that you are bothersome. Valet parking is a breeze and the hotel is very well situated. If you wish to take a boat ride, it just a matter of crossing the streets.
They also rent scooters 50 Euros for 6 hours, we did not try but we were happy to know that the service was available if we wanted to.
Old paintings of European nobility of time past are everywhere on all the walls, in the common areas as well as in the rooms. Some may like the decor and others not, as I say it's a welcome change from the same looking hotel rooms.
Highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Rapallo. Portofino is just a few minutes away by car.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karlexantoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our ancient furnishings and the old paintings of European nobility.

We are happy that the Breakfast was considered very good by you.

Thank you for the consideration about our 5 star service and for writing that the staff was always ready to help.

Looking forward with pleasure for a next stay, we remain to disposition in the meantime.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We booked 3 rooms for a family of 5. The views from this hotel were spectacular. Two of our rooms were sea view superior rooms and we were lucky to be staying at this hotel during the feast of the patron Saint of Rapallo (Madonna of Montallegro) and were treated to a phenomenal fireworks display during our stay.

The hotel is dated and shows signs of age but the rooms were clean. However, there was some wear and tear with broken floor tiles in the bathroom.

Breakfast was average and there is a long wait at the egg station with only one chef catering to a roomful of diners. Service at breakfast was also very average.

Food and service at the Lord Byron restaurant was excellent. Reservations are required for this restaurant but we were able to walk in for a late night dinner. We also ate at Eden Roc and service was good but food not memorable.

Access to the hotel (if walking) maybe difficult for older people or small children as you will have to climb many steps and walk part way up/down a steep driveway. If you are driving to/from the hotel, access is not a problem.

The city of Rapallo and the neighboring cities of Santa Margherita and Portofino are a beautiful and a must to visit. We preferred the restaurants in Santa Margherita to Rapallo.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the views.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AG1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for the review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the views from the hotel.

Regarding your consideration of a dated hotel, we are pleased to remember that the hotel property dates back to 1901, it was totally renovated in the 90s and since then, every year, renovations are regularly carried out, but we thank you for the remark about the tiles in the bathroom, the maintenance has already been notified.

Thank you for rating excellent the food and the service at the Lord Byron restaurant, we are sorry to read the general comment about quality of the food at Eden Roc, for this we remain available if you wish to share more info.

Best wishes.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews