We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$208
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Europa(Rapallo)
US$206
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Astoria(Rapallo)
US$247
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
L'Approdo(Rapallo)
US$168
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Excelsior Palace Hotel(Rapallo)
US$405
US$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$111
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,051)
Filter reviews
1,051 results
Traveller rating
412
405
138
65
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
405
138
65
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restauranttop floorle cupolevoyage privelovely hotelminute walkpool barglobus tourfree wificinque terrecoastal pathsea viewwellness areanice walktrain linebeautiful buildingfabulous views
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,051 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived at Rapollo 5 days ago,always find how you should be, don't cricacise until you work the area, location; facilities out.
On like some who obviously came to moan!
Yes it's on the outskirts of Rapallo, but 15 minutes walk into town which grows on you quickly.

The bus stops every hour outside the hotel, 3 euro return. Rapollo is a fantastic
place to discover the wonderful Luguria coast. Portafino-just go there 13 euro return, I wish I'd had money. Do not miss it.x.
The Hotel has been an enjoyable experience, yes you can find fault with anything. But we have no complaints - a few more days to go and we will enjoy every moment.
Totally recommend the hotel K&D UK.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAOLO F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your review and the beautiful words written. Congratulations are always welcome! Thank you ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Have recently returned from this hotel after a 7 night half board stay. The hotel is well run and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
We booked a de luxe sea facing room and it was beaufiful with lovely views across to Santa Margarita and Portofino. There is a construction site with a large crane but this is not the fault of the hotel and did not affect our stay. My only tiny criticism would be that there was no full lenght mirror.in the room.
I would advise anyone thinking of booking this hotel to seriously consider the half board option as the rooftop restaurant is stunning and the food is fine dining at its very best. Yes it is expensive but it is so worth it. It was lovely to try the local dishes, knowing they were perfectly executed and presented. The breakfast on the terrace is also very good. There is also a pianist playing on the terrace in the evening so delightful for a pre dinner drink.
The hotal runs a complimentary shuttle bus into Rapallo, Santa Margarita and Portofino but this stops in the evening. The walk into Rapallo is approximately 20 minutes but it is quite hilly in parts so not suitable if you have difficulty walking.
The train station is in Rapallo so is very convenient for trips to the Cinque Terre, and Camogli. Be very vigilent on the train as I had my bag snatched and did not feel a thing. Luckily there was nothing of any significance in the bag apart from some euros but it could have been much worse it I had been carrying passports etc.
Overall I had a lovely holiday and hope to return to this hotel very soon.

Room Tip: book sea facing room overlooking the bay
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAOLO F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your review and the beautiful words written. Congratulations are always welcome! Thank you ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Bristol Hotel. It is in a lovely location overlooking the bay but the view was spoilt by a large crane and building works on a property opposite. Also the hotel was refurbishing the conference centre so there was construction noise. The room we had was on the side so we had a partial view of the sea. When we got there the shuttle bus service was finishing so we had to rely on the local buses or a 20 minute walk into the centre of Rapallo. This didn't really bother us but if you were elderly it was a bit of a trek. The pool which was beautiful was also extremely cold so there were very few hardy swimmers in it. Breakfast was very good indeed and the hotel restaurant situated at the top of the hotel was beautiful but very expensive. However I would recommend this hotel very much indeed.

Room Tip: Best views are at the front overlooking the bay
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAOLO F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your review and the beautiful words written. Congratulations are always welcome! Thank you ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

My husband and stayed two nights in this hotel as a luxurious treat. We had booked through Voyage Privee so £150 per night bed and breakfast in a great room overlooking the sea. We parked our car in their underground car par which was 15 euros per day. We did eat in the restaurant each evening and the food was very good with excellent service. However, it is not cheap, the portions are small and there is a lot of fish on the menu. There is a five euro cover charge. However you do get some amuse Bouche which were delicious and a fabulous bread basket. Drinks are expensive but we had a good chianti classico for 29 euros each evening which if you are eating out is reasonable. We thoroughly enjoyed our two evenings there but would not have eaten again. There is a shuttle bus into Rapallo which is free. You can walk the distance quite easily. We walked back from Rapallo and it took about fifteen minutes.
The spa facilities are free but not the treatments which are also expensive.
Breakfast was very good. Good continental with boiled eggs and scrambled eggs. Lots of great coffee. Eating on the terrace is a great way to start the day.
It is a pity there are no tea and coffee making facilities in each room. There is of course water- that comes out of the tap in the bathroom but a couple of glasses rather than plastic cups would have been nice.
The staff are very helpful and solicitous about your comfort. You go get a free welcome drink: fruit juice or a glass of prosecco which is served with copious amounts of crisps and nuts.
We plan on treating ourselves again to a short stay here.

Room Tip: Get a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilaryleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAOLO F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Sirs,
Thank you very much for your review and a perfect description of our hotel. We are happy to have found well, we are still waiting for our Guest ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Bristol on a half board basis from the 08/09/2017 until the 17/09/2017 in room 303. This is a very good hotel with efficient and friendly check-in staff. Dinner was served in the Le Cupole restaurant on the top floor of the hotel each evening with fantastic views over the Tigullio Gulf. The eating experience was fine dining as its best, with a good variety of dishes well prepared and presented by friendly and knowledgeable staff. The hotel swimming pool was heated and nice for a relaxing afternoon. A courtesy bus was provided by the hotel not only for travel in and out of Rapallo but also to Santa Margherita and Portifino. The rooms and the public areas of the hotel are spotlessly clean and tidy, with a resident painist playing in the bar each evening. OK the drinks are a little bit more expensive than in town but the value for money dining experience more than compensated for this. Rapallo is a convenient location for visits to the Cinque Terre, Portifino and Santa Margherita. A visit to Genoa is well worth while with a great aquarium and art galleries. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel , book half board and get a sea view or a side sea view room you will not regret it.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view from the room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank micke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAOLO F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your best review.
We are happy to have some relaxing and peaceful days ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews