We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le 5 Vie B&B(Bergamo)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$96
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
b&b Donizetti(Bergamo)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
73
63
24
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
63
24
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationchair liftsteep staircasethe owneryogurtreception areacharming hotelstayed two nightscafes and restaurantswonderful stayheartvecchiasleepergpscappuccinorobescnn
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

This gem of a hotel was recommended by friends and we were thrilled to be able to stay here. The building is beautiful. The rooms are all different and incredibly luxurious. The art and decor feels historical to match the feel of the city. The staff is wonderful as is the location...within walking distance to everything.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank mtnspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Hotel Piazza Vecchia is actually located a short block away from Bergamo's picturesque Piazza Vecchia, which is a good thing: it is close enough that you can walk to the Piazza and all the nearby sights, shops, and restaurants literally in a matter of minutes, but it is far enough from the action to ensure that you can have a peaceful retreat when you need it.

Like almost all buildings in the Citta Alta of Bergamo, the hotel building is very old (as in 600 years old!), but the accommodations are completely up to date.

The staff are very friendly, although English-speaking staff members are not always at hand.

Breakfast is included, and is typically Italian, with cheeses, prosciutto, fruit, bread, and pastries. But you can also get cereal and yoghurt.

Be aware that there is a steep staircase to climb to get up to the reception area. There is a chair lift, though we didn't have occasion to try it out. From the reception area there is an elevator that goes to the rooms on the higher floors.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

It may not look like much from the outside, as the entrance is on the 3rd floor, using a very old and small elevator. The elevator may be old, but is works and is very quiet. The hotel is nice inside. Breakfast area is very tight.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank crumb148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piazzavecchiaowner, Proprietario at Hotel Piazza Vecchia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for your rewiew. Just to let other guests know, the entrance is on the first floor (and not on the third) .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This small hotel in an ancient building was perfect for us. We stayed over a freezing few days and stopped back in our room to warm up and regroup often. Our room was lovely and like others said had the best bathroom around. The owners were quiet yet friendly and were helpful when we had questions. The breakfast was lovely and had homemade hazelnut cookies I loved and great coffee. We were just so happy here, we heard opera at night and bells in the morning in a ancient Italian town. From an American standpoint the wifi was fast and had CNN on the tv in English which I almost wish they didn't!! I honestly don't know what more you could ask for. Also a wonderful restaurant they recommended was literally 20 feet from the front door Franco. We loved bergamo and this place just made it perfect.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank everydaycafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We stayed at this hotel with a group of friends in September. Overall, a centrally located family hotel, very pleasant experience.

Our rooms (5 of them) were all clean and comfortable, big enough for couples. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff was extremely attentive and helpful. Location in the heart of the old town is great, some minor issues regarding parking though if you are traveling with your own car.

Bathrooms were modern, good wifi connection and breakfast was plentiful. Within a 10 minutes walking distance you will find numerous lovely restaurants and some bars, Plenty to do during one weekend.

Parking was somewhat of a challenge, since there is no room for parking, but a few blocks away there is plenty of space. Also, we had our little adventure with the navigator, since the streets of old Bergamo are extremely narrow.

Would we stay here again if we would visit Bergamo? Yes, indeed.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews