We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Splendid
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 60% below average rates

The price you found is 60% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpi(Baveno)
US$140
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azalea(Baveno)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Sorgente(Baveno)(Great Value!)
US$93
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Feriolo(Feriolo)
US$99
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
359
142
20
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
142
20
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachlake viewrestaurant terracebusiness eventspacious bathroomaperol spritztriple rooman upgradeoutdoor poolunderground parkingbeautiful locationmini baran amazing viewcroissantsitalian lakessmall balconyisola bella
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018

The staff were rude and inefficient. Our room was not made up until mid afternoon on one of the days.
The restaurant staff were insolent and unhelpful. Half way through our breakfast we were told to move to a group table as our table had been reserved. There was no reserved sign on our table so we refused. Nearly all the tables were free. He was very belligerent.
Not a lot of guests in the hotel (this was in early May) but this did not surprise me.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hermione W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

One of the most beautiful Hotels I have been, charming, romantic and sophisticated! Staff and General Manager were 5 stars, always caring about our group ♥️ Congratulations to all team. I truly recommend to all that visit the wonderful area of Lago Maggiore

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Splendid Hotel Zacchera in Baveno

Snooty joint. Pretentious staff with Stepford Wife smiles, making it impossible to establish rapport. The Lakes District, bordering Switzerland, caters to people with money. It's one of those places where they think you're made of money and want to unload it on ethem. Service, therefore, is worse than in cheaper, normal places. Personally, I have a problem with people looking down on me. I also have a problem with paying more money to get abused by pretentious people who will will never have money themselves. They forget that they cater to group tours, such as Trafalgar bus tours, and that their hotel is actually moderately priced.

Service in the restaurant was horrible. Eight people pretending to be busy, using it as an excuse to ignore you. Ask for more bread and they ignore you. They refuse to serve you tap water and then charge $8.50 for a bottle of water. Food was OK at best.

Pros: The appearance of the hotel is excellent. Wifi in room 132 was very good, even in the evening. Hot water was hot. Breakfast buffet was OK.

Cons: Refrigerator was locked (non-sensical if it had a mini-bar). Bathroom was large but layout was poor - toilet in a corner behind the door, towel rack flush with the wall and over the bidet, bathtub slippery and with no hand rails. Toilet didn’t flush that well. They’re chintzy with the wifi - first gigabyte is free, you pay after that. Bedside tables are not near the beds. The other usual European hotel room omissions, such as no clock or microwave in the room.

Like Paris, the hotel would be a nice place without the staff.

Staff 1/5. Wifi 1/5 for cost, 4/5 for speed. Dinner 1/5. Building 5/5. Breakfast 5/5. Overall: try someplace else.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexwolf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Here for a workshop in February when most places in the neighbourhood are closed, I stayed three nights with wonderful views across the lake, a well appointed room that was clearly looked after, and a friendly welcome from a staff who couldn't have done more. Of course when the hotel is quiet it is not difficult to provide good service, but surprisingly few places do. This was a step back in time into the era when service to guests was more important than squeezing every cent out of the operation. It was nice to be a guest rather than a customer.

Room Tip: Lake views are stunning but all rooms are of high standard
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russellgww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Great property on the banks of the lake. Offers amazing views. Rooms are well appointed. Staff provide excellent service. Hotel has a lot of conference rooms to conduct corporate meetings. Offers access to the lake shores with the mountains in the backdrop. Great place to stay

Room Tip: rooms that offer a view of the lake
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews