We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Views and charm”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Lavender

Here you can see Casa Lavender in Spring looking over the lake and Isola Bella
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Here you can see Casa Lavender in Spring looking over the lake and Isola Bella
The breathtaking view from the top of the garden showing all three islands Lunch in the spring sun on the patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Here you can see Casa Lavender in Spring looking over the lake and Isola Bella
The breathtaking view from the top of the garden showing all three islands
Lunch in the spring sun on the patio
The view from the garden showing the house and lake
Looking up at the house from the lane that runs below Casa Lavender
The morning view from the master bedroom
The lounge/dining area overlooking the lake
The kitchen
The kitchen
The lounge/dining area bathed in morning light
The view of Isola Madre from the covered patio
Our favourite beach on Lago Orta. Notice the monastery on the island
The view from the master bedroom in winter
This photo shows the house, hammock, berceau/pergola and view over the lake including an island
Here you can see the berceau/pergola looking out over the yachts on the lake
This is the second bedroom. The two single beds can also be used to make a double bed
In this photo you can see the location of Casa Lavender just above Stresa
At the bottom of the photo you can see the barbecue area
This is the master bedroom with wonderful views over all three islands
This is the shady pergola overlooking the lake
Here you can see a lounger on a sunny terrace overlooking the house and trampoline
The house and part of the garden overlooking Isola Bella. Two of the three floors are visibile.
Lunch outdoors in the garden
The view over the lake from the shady pergola
the bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ferdi R
George, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fitness Test with a prized view”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderful reception from Simon - Local bread, cheese and a bottle of Prosecco were a really nice touch and appreciated.
Access to the house with luggage is difficult but nothing beats the view . The house has all required amenities for a very comfortable stay. A car is highly recommended.
We had a very pleasant week here but did not anticipate the forced exercise (we left fitter than when we arrived).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Access and Bathroom 2 floors below Bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
On our site listing we refer to the fact that a fair bit of climbing up and down stairs is required: "It should also be mentioned that you have to be reasonably fit as the house is away from the road and there are steps up to and inside the house which is built on three floors".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karenmcna...
San Ramon, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Views and charm”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Rustic farmhouse with wonderful views in a charming small village. The host/owner was very helpful. The house was very comfortable. Beds were comfortable and the kitchen was easy to cook in.bathroom was good size for 4 people. The owner greeted us in the village as the location can be tricky to find and parking is not available right at the house. When we arrived there was a loaf of bread some cheese and a bottle of wine which was unexpected but totally appreciated after a long day of travel. Its about 15 minutes to stresa through small italian roads so you wont likely just 'run to the store'. The location lends itself to just staying at the property for a day or two to relax. Quiet and relaxing. But still close to town and the train station. I recommend getting there in daylight. And do try the small restaurant you can walk to from the house owned and operated by a lovely couple (forgot the name but its the only one within 150 yards walking. They speak english as well). Be sure to check the stresa train station for trains to switzerland vs going back to milan central and backtracking. Try baveno for the boats and the large coop grocery. Stresa is hard to park in. Baveno is not as crowded and the grocery is huge. A day trip by car to Locarno is worth it. The drive is about 40 minutes. The boat is 3 hours. Try the public transport boats to the islands. They are large and relaxing and go to other cities as well as the islands and cheaper as well. The smaller private boat tour operators are good too and they will approach you right away when you arrive near the docks. The isle pescatore has the most restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thanks for your very nice review. I am glad you and your family enjoyed the time spent at Casa Lavender.
I would just point out that Stresa is only 5 minutes away by car when one takes the narrow, winding road that directly links the town with our village.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfection...... romantic..... spectacular!”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Spectacular views, charming small villa ideal for a couple or even a small group/family. It just says antique, rustic, but with all the facilities needed to be away from it all and just enjoy. Keep it simple, you will need a very small car but we didn't have one at all. Taxi transfer (Tamassucci link on the visitstresa website) from Milan Malpensa to the old church (Chiesa Antica) in Someraro then walk 100 mts to the number 8 Casa Lavender ( pronounced locally as La... VEN..da ). Everyday was a simple walk (30-40mins) straight down the hill to either Baveno or to the ferries at Stresa or the Lido Carciano.... and if its hot take your swimming gear and sit on the little lake side beaches dotted around. Lunch lakeside or on the Isole (Bella or Superioire/Pescectore).... but most importantly evenings spent in the superb restaurant Il Cardini just 120 mts from the villa in Someraro.... just to the right of the old church. The restaurant has stunning views from its terrace and the food is all home made but with a delicacy and sophistication you will ever find. The owner couple are wonderful too. Stresa is a delight, and do go into the shoes shop (David Calzature) for some amazing hand made italian/local shoes. Hotel La Regina Palace for incredible sophistication, Bar GiGi on the front for splendid euro cafe life, and cocktails at the Skye Bar at La Palma hotel nearby.
Most importantly Simon the owner (make sure you swap emails and mobile numbers) even though himself on holiday still replied to every request we had immediately whilst we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and the tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Lavender. I should also add that I am in great admiration of your walking prowess, especially in view of the high temperature this summer. I hope we can meet in person next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveUmbri...
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled to the property with another couple and all four of us were disapointed upon our arrival. Althought we did not show this to Simon as he showed us the property. The best part of the rental is the view. It is stunning, but then the charm of the view leaves very quickly. The property sleeps five but we found a mismatch of beach towels sitting on a shelf in a room off from the bathroom. The property does have a washing maching but it really would only hold one or two items at one time. No coffee pot. A kettle for heating water. The bar b q pit was full of a burned mixture of what have been wet wood and maybe coals. The terraced yard appeared to not have been mowed or weed eated all summer. Grass and tall weeds layed over the walkways. The sun tarrace could barely hold one chair. Simon told us if we saw a fig on the fig tree we cold help ourselves if we could make our way through the grass and weeds up the steep hill. We were given very fast instructions on how, what, where and when to seperate each trash item we had. Upon arrival it had been raining and the grass was very slippery. We had to carry ourheavy suitcases up a long, and very steep grassy path (and because of the rain, very slippery) from our car parked on the street. Then up another steep 20 plus steps! It was exhausting to say the least! We had to park a good distance from the property in a spot shared with others and were told that there should always be a place open for us. That was not the case and we had to part even farther down the hill once. Again it was raining the day we arrived and so we were instructed on where the fuse boxes were located because storms knock the electricity off sometimes, and to be very carefull to not turn another major appliance on if someone was using a hair dryer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The View
Liked least: No proper aminities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
We are really sorry that you didn’t enjoy your holiday in our house. We make great efforts to make it a lovely place to stay in; over the past three years our guests have always told us that they really enjoyed their time here.
We would like to think that your negative impression might have been influenced somewhat by the dismal September weather that week.
Anyway we want to thank you for your comments. We have taken them on board.
There is no denying that we took our eye off the ball by allowing the garden to get on top of us. The lawns near the house had recently been cut but we sincerely apologise for the overgrown flower beds and untidy paths in the top part of the garden. Also for the wet charcoal left in the barbecue.
We really appreciate it if guests do tell us directly if anything is missing from or needed in the house because, living locally, we can easily go to the shops and provide whatever is required the same day. We provide a kettle for tea and an Italian style coffee pot but are happy to buy any other appliances requested.
Thank you too for bringing the question of towels to our attention. All guests receive a set of two towels (a hand towel and a bathroom towel). Guests can help themselves to beach towels if needed but in future we will ensure that every guest is provided with a beach towel in addition to the other two.
One comment with which I would really disagree is your description of the grassy path from the road to the house as being long and steep. In fact it is exactly 40 metres long and has a very slight incline. From the house gate on the path there are then 18 steps up to the house. This winter we plan to start paving the path with paving stones.
Lastly, thank you very much for pointing out the power supply situation. The standard setting in Italian houses is 3 kilowatts supply; this is apparently government policy to encourage people to save energy as Italy is an energy-poor country. This means that the trip-switch blows if several energy-hungry appliances are on at the same time. We have now replaced our previous 3 kw supply with 4.5 kw to eliminate the risk of our guests being left in the dark.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Should have stayed longer”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Very friendly owner who provided some good advice about local attractions and restaurants. Peacefull little village with a friendly atmosphere and a fantastic view.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing