We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Nearby Hotels
US$362
US$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colombina(Venice)
US$152
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aqua Palace Hotel(Venice)
US$365
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$151
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$268
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$206
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$97
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$222
US$179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$324
US$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rialto(Venice)
US$354
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,139)
Filter reviews
1,139 results
Traveller rating
755
313
52
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
755
313
52
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuseum of natural historytrain stationsan staesuperior roompastriesquiet arearialto bridgewater taxivenetian styleminute walkgrand canalfamily roomthe hotel staffvaporetto stopour honeymoonhard boiled eggslovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
492 - 497 of 1,139 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

A group of 10 adults traveling together and we were all able to get rooms at this wonderful hotel; reserve early or it will be sold out! The hotel is beautifully decorated as well as the individual rooms. We asked that all our rooms were in the hotel and not in the adjoining building where they have an apartment. We all thought the location was perfect and enjoyed walking and getting lost (it's Venice!). It is near the train station and was an easy walk with luggage (only 1 or 2 bridges to get over). The breakfast was also nice and they made it especially for us since we were all leaving on an early train. Great service!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the hotel vs the apartment. Top floor room had lower ceilings and it was hard to get hot water in the shower. If you want a bathtub you should request it as not all rooms have one.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I went to Venice after finishing a cruise. We stayed at this hotel and the staff were so friendly and helpful, especially Michelle. I have attached photos of the wheelchair accessible room and though not the standard we are used to in North America, it was pretty good after our experience in Barcelona. The hotel is very clean and in a good location by the Museum of Natural History (Museaodi Storia Nautrale) and very quiet. They offer a delicious breakfast in the morning, which is a great way to start your day before riding around on the water taxis (free if you are in a wheelchair). Of course our room on Holland America's Nieuw Amsterdam gave us much comfort to see parts of Europe, it was welcoming to have a hotel like this to finish our trip. Venice is VERY difficult in a wheelchair because of all the bridges being steep and staired. It was a real challenge to get around and we would not return to here because of those issues. The most accessible place we found in Venice was the Island of Lace (Burano) as it was very flat with many options of getting around and not so many staired bridges.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and speak with Michelle. Her english is very good and you can explain what your needs are. Our friends stayed on the 2nd floor which was very spacious but you would need to be able bodied to have this room as it had stairs to the bathroom.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahfromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Five-star service at a three star hotel. In fact the only service lacking here to get to the four-star level is on-demand porterage. This 13 room hotel has recently undergone extensive rennovations and many of the rooms are sparkling new and beautifully appointed. The staff could not be more accommodating. We have been to Venice before and were in need of some assistance to get us to our eventual ski resort destination in Cortina. The staff were very attentive and communicated with us regularly by e-mail. Katarina and Michelle who we saw most frequently could not do enough for us and gave us some restaurant recommendations which were spot-on! They referred us to Anfora - possibly serving some of the best pizza in the world. We prefer the less-busy locations away from the crords and this hotel just off San Giacomo Square near the San Stae vaporetto station is now our Venice "home away from home." The included breakfast is attentively served in two delightful dining rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms are tasteful, but Room #1 on the first floor is very well-appointed, has radiant floor heating and is adjacent to the dining rooms and receiving lobby.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had difficulty finding the hotel walking from the train station. The brochure shows the hotel as being situated "on the canal" when in actuality it is located a little further down from the canal. Once we were checked in, we found our room to be very nice,clean and the staff were eager to accomodate. I liked the location and like everywhere in Venice, well within walking distance to the Rialto bridge and San Marco square. Despite that the hotel is on the pricey side, I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTM0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel was nice, and we were given a red elegant triple room. But when we got in, there was a used towel hanging on the bathroom door. I also didn't like the location. There was a vaporetto stop a few blocks away from the hotel, but if you are staying there for one or a couple of nights, its difficult to get there with your luggage. And its far from the tourist spots. On hindsight, i would have gotten other hotels with their own water taxi service or somewhere near San Marco. Although those hotels are more expensive, the prices are almost comparable. If you think about the fares that you will have to pay for a water taxi or vaporetto everytime you go around, it might turn out to be actually more expensive to stay at this hotel. What also turned me off is how they handled a problem that I encountered with a gondolier. This gondolier accidentally dropped my camera in the water and i lost my camera and all the pictures of my trip (this is subject of another write up). I know this is not in any way the fault of the hotel. In fact, the hotel referred us to one of their accredited gondola companies, but we were not able to go there and ended up taking another gondola service. But i was a really disappointed when i later asked for help from the hotel. Since I didnt get the name of the gondolier at first, they just told me that they cannot do anything about it. Sure they contacted their boss and he gave me advice over the phone to file a police report, but i really felt as if I was on my own. As a first timer in Venice, and coming from a friendly country, I was actually hoping to be taken care of by the hotel. I really hoped to get some extra effort from them to help me at that time or lets face it, just to make us feel better despite what happened. Well maybe thats asking for too much, but its just that I have stayed in hotels in Italy and other countries where i felt the warmth and hospitality of the hosts, and i couldn't help but compare.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BraulloBogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cateburi, Direttore at Hotel Al Duca di Venezia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear Client,
As we read the review you posted to Tripadvisor,
we were really surprised, really astonished !!

Every day we are trying to do our best for our Guests and even with you we think we did anything it was possible to do.

We do understand that you are upset about the accident you had, you have lost your camera with all your pictures
and we are really sorry about that but .... what can we do ????

Try to see the problem from our side!

What can you do if a Guest go out of the hotel
during the coldest winter of the last 30 years,
he takes a Gondola Ride near Rialto Bridge
and ask to a Gondolier to take a picture of him
but doing that the Gondolier loses the camera from his hands,
letting it falling into the water ... ,
is it our fault ???

If you consider that it was our fault,
we are ready to pay for it !!!

We think that it was an accident,
nobody wanted it to happen but it happened !!

We suggested you to go to the Police Station to report it and fill a
form in order to have a prove of it and be refunded by your insurance company.
This was the only thing to do !!!

Your review hurts us, it is something we do not deserve
and you know it!!
We gave you our best room available, we tried to suggest you the best places to visit
and the best things to do in Venice,
we even do not complaint when we discovered that your friens smoked in their room
knowing that our rooms are non smoking rooms.
(we had to live the room empty with open windows for 24 hours).

We honestly think that you were upset about the accident
but now, you had time to reflect, you had time to consider what happened
then we are sure you do recognize
that you made a mistake in accusing us !

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel because we really
want you to have a nice souvenir of our wonderful city
and forget the accident you had during your first visit.

Our door is always open for you!

We wish you all the best,
regards,

Manager
Caterina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews