We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Monaco - Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #90 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We asked for a canal view room and must have got the lowest quality room. We paid over $500 US a night. They gave us a room on the 1st floor right in front of the gondola stand. That was pretty much our view. The bathroom door did not shut and the shower's condition was terrible. We won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

Unfortunately, I had a very bad experience at this Hotel where I stayed for three nights in August 2017.
I booked two rooms as we are 5 in the family. One room was quite nice but the other one (a junior suit) had a disgusting smell coming from the bathroom.
When I complained about this the answer that I got was that the hotel was full and that they could only offer me another room at the opposite part of the hotel that, by the way, is the old part that has not been refurbished since middle ages.
The worst part of it is that there were no apologies, no sense of willing to solve it, no follow up, no detail and not any kind of care at all for us.
With so many hotels in Venice there are better options and less risky that this hotel.
Important to mention also that the breakfast is the poorest I have ever seen in a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank javiervL2775GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2017

Dear Guest.

it is with real disappointment that I read your review. You refused to be changed in the presidential suite without any supplement. This suite has a surface of 35sq. a large sitting room and 4 windows overlooking the Lagoon, the Grand Canal, San Giorgio Island, Giudecca Island and the most important monuments of Venice!!!!This suite costs daily Euro 2.ooo without breakfast.You refused all this.

Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights at this wonderful hotel. Perfect location to walk the city. Staff are beyond gracious and helpful. Room 201 was lovely. The decor was a perfect combination of old and new, comfortable, classy, chic. We could open the windows and listen to the lively street sounds and church bells or close the windows and it was cool and quiet. Lobby is beautiful light and modern. Library with soft sofas and shelves of art books. A well from the old campo. Breakfasts were delicious and sitting on the veranda watching the endless parade of boats is priceless. I would stay here again gladly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Having stayed at this hotel on 4 June 2018 my husband and I would certainly not recommend it to anyone. The room, for the price, was very small, overlooked an alley and there was black mould around the bath. The staff were very rude i.e. at reception, the terrace restaurant and the cocktail bar.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank bainanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

My husband and I had only one night in Venice, but I couldn't be happier that we chose to spend it at the Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal. I was drawn in by the pictures of the terrace over the Grand Canal. The hotel lobby was very modern (and very air conditioned!) and the front staff was incredibly helpful. Room was very fancy with chandeliers and beautiful decorations. Most importantly though, it was clean, and very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic on the terrace and it even included a bottle of Prosecco to make mimosas. Overall, I wish we had longer to stay and it was a gorgeous hotel which lived up to the pictures. Also, very close to St Mark's Square. Great location too

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#63 of 385 in Venice
1,657 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#160 of 385 in Venice
405 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,866 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#59 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#97 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#125 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: RM697 - RM3,118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 92 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first Casino. Today it is a very special space for events like Weddings, Gala Dinner, Conferences and Meetings from 10 to 600 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing