We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #90 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We arrived by private motor launch from the airport which in itself was a fantastic journey. After winding its way through the gondola's, the launch arrives at the waterside terrace and luggage was taken straight to the room. Great start to our trip. The hotel is next to the gondola station at the entrance to the grand canal. The atmosphere was everything we expected and had a glass of Prosecco plus a bottle of local beer, (€24.50). The room had just been refurbished and was immaculate. The marble bathroom was perfectly laid out and the workmanship of high quality. Saturday breakfast watching the gondolas. The coffe was a superb house brand. We had our meal on the terrace in the Sunday night. Food of high quality and service excellent. The setting was perfect and we had a great evening. Three course meal with wine and coffee €220.00). Sunday lunch saw a private function with accordion and singer in great voice. Not a budget trip but surpassed every expectation, our thanks to the staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: Our room was over a narrow street so got very little light. Don't know price of waterfront rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JandBonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We booked this through Thomson lakes n mountains as a twin centre holiday, lake Garda first. Fantastic hotel, wonderful view from the front veranda, where we had breakfast each morning. We enquired as to how much to upgrade to a canal view room and was told £75pppn. We opted out, as we thought too expensive. Hotel is in a central location right next to St Marks square and walking distance to all local places of interest. We were offered a free trip to the Morrano glass factory which was a lovely boat ride from the front door to the small island. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a holiday on The Venice Simplon-Orient Express with Titan. Upon our arrival we were met by staff and promptly told that we were not allowed to sit outside on the terrace by the water as we were with Titan. We went outside to take a couple of photo's later on in the evenging to be told by the Restaurant Manager that we were also not allowed to go outside to take photo's, there were only a couple of people sitting outside, so we were not invading or intruding on anyone. We complained to the reception on the way we were being treated, but they did not want to know. Surely if we have paid to stay in this hotel we can venture out onto the terrace. We were smartly dressed, very polite to staff but unfortunately were not met with the same respect. This hotel is a nice hotel, in a fantastic location however the attitude of the staff that we encountered was very poor, as was breakfast. Because of this we did not bother to eat or drink in the hotel, there are much better places nearby. We will never choose to stay in this hotel again, and in our opinion, Titan should consider their customers before sending them to this hotel. A big let down after a wonderful 2 days experience travelling on the Orient-Express.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy-Wolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We asked for a canal view room and must have got the lowest quality room. We paid over $500 US a night. They gave us a room on the 1st floor right in front of the gondola stand. That was pretty much our view. The bathroom door did not shut and the shower's condition was terrible. We won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Unfortunately, I had a very bad experience at this Hotel where I stayed for three nights in August 2017.
I booked two rooms as we are 5 in the family. One room was quite nice but the other one (a junior suit) had a disgusting smell coming from the bathroom.
When I complained about this the answer that I got was that the hotel was full and that they could only offer me another room at the opposite part of the hotel that, by the way, is the old part that has not been refurbished since middle ages.
The worst part of it is that there were no apologies, no sense of willing to solve it, no follow up, no detail and not any kind of care at all for us.
With so many hotels in Venice there are better options and less risky that this hotel.
Important to mention also that the breakfast is the poorest I have ever seen in a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank javiervL2775GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2017

Dear Guest.

it is with real disappointment that I read your review. You refused to be changed in the presidential suite without any supplement. This suite has a surface of 35sq. a large sitting room and 4 windows overlooking the Lagoon, the Grand Canal, San Giorgio Island, Giudecca Island and the most important monuments of Venice!!!!This suite costs daily Euro 2.ooo without breakfast.You refused all this.

Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 385 in Venice
1,637 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#163 of 385 in Venice
398 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#58 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#97 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#125 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: RM761 - RM3,492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 92 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first Casino. Today it is a very special space for events like Weddings, Gala Dinner, Conferences and Meetings from 10 to 600 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing