We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Locanda Orseolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Orseolo
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This Hotel exceeded all of our expectatios. From the well appointed rooms with Murano glass chandeliers, to the perfect location to the friendliest Hosts possible. We loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PacificSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 709 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Three nights in a room overlooking the courtyard. The service was incredible they went out of their way to help us in any way they could. The food was amazing, from the buffet to the cooked omelets and crepes. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was small but serviceable. This was our first hotel in Italy and it set the standard very high

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at this b&b based on it's no. 1 tripadvisor ranking but unfortunately were disappointed to the extent we changed to a hotel. On the plus points the staff are friendly and it is located near to St Marks Square, some parts of the b&b are apparently a thousand years old but the room we stayed in allegedly overlooking the canal did not live up to our expectations. We did not expect perfection but the wallpaper was torn in areas, the bathroom was really out of date, very small and I would have expected a better bathroom even in a budget b&b than the one we had. The view to the canal is there if you are prepared to lean right out over the window, it is not visible by looking out of the window. Although not the b&b's fault, it was incredibly nosy on the night we stayed. We were in a 'double room' however it was two singles bolted together and at first I thought springs had come through but it was the bracket to connect the singles together and wasn't comfortable at all. Perhaps the biggest disappointment for us was the much raved about breakfast. It was a real let down, a small buffet the size of my dining table with three warmers containing hot dog sausages, croissants with cheese and what looked like tinned mushroom pieces. The juice wasn't pleasant, the coffee was in small cups and consistently almost entirely of froth (we both asked for lattes). I was really looking forward to the crepes but these were not great, 1 small very average crepe with a small kiwi decoration.
I would really love to give this b&b a good review, I came to the b&b with realistic expectations but with a £230 a night price tag this is terrible value for money, a noisy and tired room with an unappealing bathroom closet and food which was not of good quality or quantity - sorry but I do owe it to fellow travellers to give a fair review. Despite this we paid the full bill for the night and we do appreciate that this b&b may appeal to some travellers but for us its a thumbs down.

Room Tip: I would recommend a front facing room on the 1st or 2nd floor to stand a good chance of seeing the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank anonymous445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I'm writing this on returning from a four-night stay at this super place. We were incredibly lucky to have dry sunny days in March, but the warm and friendly welcome at Locanda Orseolo outshone the weather. Tasty breakfasts kept up going for most of the day, and Igor, Barbara and Gigi were so helpful - they must have saved us hours. Restaurant recommendations were spot on, and any questions or requests about excursions, shops and viewpoints dealt with knowledgeably and expertly.

We had a superior room on the second floor overlooking the canal as this was a special occasion. It was immaculately clean and beautifully furnished. Free wi-fi was reliable (a real bonus), the mini-bar was well stocked and a small jug of fresh milk was a welcome touch. There was some noise from delivery boats in the morning, but this wasn't a problem for us and you can always close the shutters. The only negative we could find is that the bed and pillows were both rather firm. At the end of our stay Gigi very kindly brought our luggage down while we were out for the morning before our transfer by water-taxi via the famous window. We'll return here without question. This is a real gem!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennpenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were in Venice for the first 4 nights of our month long Italian Honeymoon in October 2011 . As soon as we arrived, we realized that this was something special. The accommodations and service were exceptional. When we arrived we were greeted by Alex. It was immediately apparent that Alex truly wanted to make our time in Venice the best possible. During our stay, the entire staff, Bruno, Gigi, Barbara, Igor, and Emmanuel also made us feel so welcome and did so much to make sure we were comfortable and enjoyed Venice to the fullest – they made recommendations and reservations, and even purchased our train tickets for us - fantastic. The breakfast at the hotel was the best breakfast of our trip and the dining recommendations from the staff were exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler8132011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,951 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 385 in Venice
1,320 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,882 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Orseolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Orseolo

Address: Corte San Zorzi San Marco 1083, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: RM807 - RM1,499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Orseolo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Orseolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orseolo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing