We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda Orseolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Locanda Orseolo
Ranked #3 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This Hotel exceeded all of our expectatios. From the well appointed rooms with Murano glass chandeliers, to the perfect location to the friendliest Hosts possible. We loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,872
    57
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
254
891
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Three nights in a room overlooking the courtyard. The service was incredible they went out of their way to help us in any way they could. The food was amazing, from the buffet to the cooked omelets and crepes. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was small but serviceable. This was our first hotel in Italy and it set the standard very high

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at this b&b based on it's no. 1 tripadvisor ranking but unfortunately were disappointed to the extent we changed to a hotel. On the plus points the staff are friendly and it is located near to St Marks Square, some parts of the b&b are apparently a thousand years old but the room we stayed in allegedly overlooking the canal did not live up to our expectations. We did not expect perfection but the wallpaper was torn in areas, the bathroom was really out of date, very small and I would have expected a better bathroom even in a budget b&b than the one we had. The view to the canal is there if you are prepared to lean right out over the window, it is not visible by looking out of the window. Although not the b&b's fault, it was incredibly nosy on the night we stayed. We were in a 'double room' however it was two singles bolted together and at first I thought springs had come through but it was the bracket to connect the singles together and wasn't comfortable at all. Perhaps the biggest disappointment for us was the much raved about breakfast. It was a real let down, a small buffet the size of my dining table with three warmers containing hot dog sausages, croissants with cheese and what looked like tinned mushroom pieces. The juice wasn't pleasant, the coffee was in small cups and consistently almost entirely of froth (we both asked for lattes). I was really looking forward to the crepes but these were not great, 1 small very average crepe with a small kiwi decoration.
I would really love to give this b&b a good review, I came to the b&b with realistic expectations but with a £230 a night price tag this is terrible value for money, a noisy and tired room with an unappealing bathroom closet and food which was not of good quality or quantity - sorry but I do owe it to fellow travellers to give a fair review. Despite this we paid the full bill for the night and we do appreciate that this b&b may appeal to some travellers but for us its a thumbs down.

Room Tip: I would recommend a front facing room on the 1st or 2nd floor to stand a good chance of seeing the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank anonymous445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I'm writing this on returning from a four-night stay at this super place. We were incredibly lucky to have dry sunny days in March, but the warm and friendly welcome at Locanda Orseolo outshone the weather. Tasty breakfasts kept up going for most of the day, and Igor, Barbara and Gigi were so helpful - they must have saved us hours. Restaurant recommendations were spot on, and any questions or requests about excursions, shops and viewpoints dealt with knowledgeably and expertly.

We had a superior room on the second floor overlooking the canal as this was a special occasion. It was immaculately clean and beautifully furnished. Free wi-fi was reliable (a real bonus), the mini-bar was well stocked and a small jug of fresh milk was a welcome touch. There was some noise from delivery boats in the morning, but this wasn't a problem for us and you can always close the shutters. The only negative we could find is that the bed and pillows were both rather firm. At the end of our stay Gigi very kindly brought our luggage down while we were out for the morning before our transfer by water-taxi via the famous window. We'll return here without question. This is a real gem!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennpenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were in Venice for the first 4 nights of our month long Italian Honeymoon in October 2011 . As soon as we arrived, we realized that this was something special. The accommodations and service were exceptional. When we arrived we were greeted by Alex. It was immediately apparent that Alex truly wanted to make our time in Venice the best possible. During our stay, the entire staff, Bruno, Gigi, Barbara, Igor, and Emmanuel also made us feel so welcome and did so much to make sure we were comfortable and enjoyed Venice to the fullest – they made recommendations and reservations, and even purchased our train tickets for us - fantastic. The breakfast at the hotel was the best breakfast of our trip and the dining recommendations from the staff were exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler8132011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#7 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Orseolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Orseolo

Property: Locanda Orseolo
Address: Corte San Zorzi San Marco 1083, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price range (per night): RM998 - RM1,327
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Orseolo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Locanda Orseolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orseolo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing