We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“somewhat claustrophobic”
Review of Hotel Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Castello
Ranked #211 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in May. The positives: great location, helpfull staff
very good breakfast. The negatives: the room was very small and the TV didn't work. I know i wasn't there to watch TV but after a full day of sightseeing I just wanted to come back to the room and see what was happening in the world. For the price-139 Euros per night- the room was very small and somewhat claustrophobic as the ceiling was no more than 7 feet tall. Anyway if you want someplace that's close to the boat and St. Marks Square this place might be adequate. Venice by the way is very touristy and I feel also very expensive compared to the other cities we visited, Sienna and Florence.

Room Tip: ask to see the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diandira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 190 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2011

Have recently stayed at The Hotel Castello for 3 nights. The location couldn't have been better about 5 minutes from San Zaccaria. Directions from the hotel could have been better. The room was sufficient for our stay. There was a good choice for breakfast. We bought a 3 day pass for 33 euros which was well worth it. Just one complaint. I had some costume jewellery stolen which was in a jewellery wrap hidden under t shirts in a drawer. When i went to report this which was about an hour before we were leaving having only just realised it was missing the man at reception decided he didn't understand english, which he had been speaking very well during our stay. He then told us to go to the police which for one wouldn't have been worth it and we didn't have the time. So a word of warning

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolspooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We recently spent 5 days in Venice and stayed at the Costello Hotel. It was in a great location, a couple of minutes walk from St. Mark's Square. The staff were very helpful and friendly, expecially Christoph. The rooms were comfortable, especially the beds. We would have no hestiation in recommending anyone to stay at the hotel if they are going to Venice. We had a wonderful time

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

we booked this last minute and were not expecting a great deal and i must admit when you see these little hotels in the backstreets you wonder what you are doing, however, it was like a tardis. Staff helpful, rooms small ( as in all of italy) but clean and the breakfast was delicious, fresh croissants and rolls and the location is brilliant. Just a short walk from the waterbus and right near to st marks square. We were glad we didn't buy a 3day waterbus pass, we didn't need it. Venice is REALLY expensive so try and check the prices everywhere beforehand. On the last night we found the bar Aciughete which was a few yards from the hotel and it was the best place around. I didn't realise till we were home that it was in the quide book! This is not a five star hotel so do not expect to pay these great value prices and then moan. The bathroom was spotless. If you go with an open mind it is a really great base to seeVenice

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemorris116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

A 5 minutes walk from San Zaccaria vaporetto stop. Turned into a small (smelly) alley for the entrance. Once you get inside it was quite cozy. Our room was not finished by the time we arrived which was 2 hours past check in time. Quite troublesome as we needed to leave some of our stuff from the hand luggage, go to the bathroom and pray before going to the Dodge Palace. Well, we made do by repacking right in front of the concierge which is just in front of the dining place and used their bathroom nearby.

After we came back that later (tired and spent after walking trying to find halal food) we came to a very small (common I think), cozy, very clean room. Interestingly the bathroom is large. Our room was furnished with dark green wall paper which make the room looked even smaller. After few hours I got used to it. There is a fridge, TV with only one English speaking channel, closet (seems to part of the wall). One thing they don't have is tea/coffee making facilities which was quite important to us (but also seems common in Venice). Not much power outlet either as we needed them for laptop, phone charger, camera battery charger all at once. Another thing, they do have a wifi connection access but you have to pay EU6 for an hour or EU12 for cumulative 20 hours. The service is actually provided by a local telco instead of the hotel. We took the 20 hours connection and the connection was very good. Although they said we can use the connection on our 3G phone throughout Venice, actually that only applies for hotspots which we can hardly remember where.

Breakfast was nice the first day as we got homemade bread and croissant (we came from rice eating region) and homemade hot cocoa. They also have cereal, biscuits, cheese, ham, fruit. But after 3 days of the same thing may not be inviting anymore.

With all the downsides we did not regret staying there because there is a small halal kebab store just right at the corner which we frequent esp for dinner. The other halal kebab is far near Piazza Roma (20-40 mins away with vaporetto) They also sells pizza but the meaty ones are not halal. They say they will have the halal ones probably next year.

Also we were glad to stay away from hotels near the canal as there was aqua alta (flood) when we were there. The location is also very near to everywhere important esp St. Marco and you can get almost all vaporetto route at the nearest vaporetto stop (San Marco)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xyzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,021 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#119 of 385 in Venice
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 385 in Venice
2,159 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#85 of 385 in Venice
454 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#108 of 385 in Venice
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello

Address: Calle del Figher, Campo SS Filippo e Giacomo | Castello 4365, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: RM260 - RM893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing