We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills really means no frills”
Review of Casa Sant'Andrea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Sant'Andrea
Ranked #205 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at the Casa Sant'Andrea B&B/budget hotel for four nights a the beginning of June. On the plus side it is really conveniently located close to Piazzale Roma where there is the main bus depot and also a major stop for the vaporetti or public water bus service. There is even a water bus stop right outside the hotel from where you can do a circuit of the Grand Canal and visit Murano. The main rail terminus is just on the other side of the canal too. It's easily walkable into the old town and to restaurants and there is a supermarket within about three minutes walk.
On the negative side however the hotel is really basic. Our room on the 2nd floor (which had a good view over old rooftops to the harbour) was clean but in a poor state of repair. The floor had tape over holes and there was peeling paint on the ceiling. The shower had mould around the tray.The bed was two singles pushed together and an alarming gap down the middle covered only by a thin sheet. The airconditoning unit made a sound fit to wake the dead and leaked water (not a small issue given the current outbreak of legionnaires disease). Leaving the window open meant we got badly bitten by mosquitoes. Perhaps the worst aspect was the "continental breakfast" which really was dire-sugar coated cheap cereals, processed ham and cheese and cakes in plastic wrappers; no fruit in sight. Some guests brought in their own breakfast cereals and others like us ate little and paid a fortune for good coffee in a cafe nearby.
All in all though it was a good base and what we presumably saved in hotel costs easily got spent on touristy things-Venice really is an expensive destination.
Tips for visitors:
-Do buy a pass for the public waterbus network at Piazzole Roma-you can go everywhere including Murano and it's much cheaper than paying for fares as you go. You can add on a pass for the Grand Canal which includes an audio commnentary
-avoid the gondolas-very expensive and tacky
-water taxis are also expensive but pretty cool
-get bus 5 from and to the airport to Piazzole Roma-it's only Euros 5 each way and stops very near the hotel
-avoid the unlicensed street sellers with counterfeit designer bags-hefty fine for you if caught at the time or at the airport
-Piazzo San Marco/St Mark's Square is a must but you can't eat or sit down in the square (presumably to preserve the monopoly of the hugely expensive cafes in the square). The museum is expensive and the Euros 20 pass for 11 museums looks like good value until you realise that are probably not where you really want to go. The Accedemia Art gallery is a must even if you're not an art lover
-walk everywhere you can-it's a totally amazing city

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HelgaBreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed in Casa Sant andrea prior to our taking a cruise from Venice. The hotel was perfect for our needs as it is very near the People Mover station for cruise passengers, Piazzale Roma where buses stop, the vaporetto stations and the train station. The rooms may be basic but it was large enough, very clean and comfortable. Since this was an old building, i expected the bathroom to be outdated but it turned out to be newly remodelled and was very large and clean. Breakfast is simple but filling and plentiful.
The hotel could however improve the lighting in the stair landing. Also, the elevator which could be used only for luggages, was a bit difficult to operate. Staff however were available to help you out.
In all, i would recommend this hotel especially for people who are looking for a short stay in Venice prior or after taking a cruise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank evillaManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was a good size with large bathroom. We had a double and single bed in the room. The only thing was the wardrobes separated the room so we were separated and couldn't lay in bed chatting. It was nice to see the original beams and exposed brickwork. The room was very warm. The breakfast was ample and replenished all the time. The staff were very helpful and room cleaned daily with clean towels. We took the bus from the aiport and the hotel was quite easy to find from the bus station. The water bus stop was just around the corner from the hotel, this took you to St Marks Square and other stops en route. The main station is about 5 mins walk which is very handy when moving on to next location. We booked a walking tour and gondola ride (separate) in advance of travel. This saved wasting time when we got there, not sure if it saved money. The gondola ride was worth every penny (just under £100 for the 3 of us). Make sure you have comfy shoes on, a rain mac was advisable whilst we were there. Plenty of places to stop off for food/drink.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor. There is a lift but you have to request this at reception. The stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here in this 2 * hotel in a double room for 3 nights in April 2012. First impressions of the room were that it was quite small but it was comfortable and impeccably clean. Ideal for a couple planning to use it as a base, as we did....we were up early and back late to make the most of our time in Venice. It was about a 15 minute walk to San Marco and very accessible to many restaurants. It was also nice and quiet despite being behind a bus station. There is Wi Fi available as well. Breakfast was fairly basic (continental style), but adequate for our needs as it's a must to sample the local delicacies as you explore this wonderful city! (Save money for your visitor tax upon check out, adaptor with extension lead would come in handy for charging phones, cameras etc.). We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 103 (first floor) was very quiet, could pick up wi fi in the room as near to wi fi area but sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraJWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very nice hotel, the bathroom was huge , the bedroom was great , location brilliant. I agree the breakfast could be better a bit of fruit would be nice

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shedevil49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#336 of 385 in Venice
371 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#93 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#245 of 385 in Venice
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#188 of 385 in Venice
528 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#139 of 385 in Venice
943 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#190 of 385 in Venice
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sant'Andrea

Address: Santa Croce 495/b, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range: RM246 - RM624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Sant'Andrea 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Casa Sant'Andrea" is a former monastery built in the 16th century and modified in the 18th century, that has recently been beautifully renovated to become a typical Venetian Palace. Overlooking the S. Chiara canal, “Casa Sant'Andrea” offers the unique combination of a relaxing Venetian atmosphere and the convenience of being only a few minutes away from the Venice airport (by bus), the railway station (walking), and main roads. Designed to offer accommodation to business parties and groups as well as private families, it offers elegant interiors and light and spacious rooms, with or without bathroom, decorated in a modern and comfortable style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sant`Andrea Hotel Venice
Casa Sant Andrea Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing