We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
204
150
40
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
150
40
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews economy room junior suite strada nova rialto bridge local bars and restaurants high ceilings venetian palazzo minute walk canal view beautiful hotel tourist area air conditioning water bus the main tourist grand canal fresh fruit first floor
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

A beautiful fitted out hotel in a quiet part if venice but very near all attractions. Staff very helpful. A real find. Own water taxi stop and near lots of hood restaurants away from maim tourist area

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CarolynP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay in Venice. Ideal location between the tourist spots and the local places. Highly recommended.
The staff were all lovely. Good limitless breakfast. All round fantastic value for money! (And the entrance is pretty special too).

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank moffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Go somewhere else . This is a rip off . There is no view in our Jr suite , the bathroom stank due to a huge stagnant hole in the shower full of black gunge. See photo. The staff except for Stephanie do not care . I asked for fresh scrambled eggs in the morning and was refused as the crusted orange ones should suffice. Rude staff . Only thing good is the area .

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lilly2014eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

On advice from a fellow traveler, I decided to stay a little out of the way rather than closer to St Marks square. This hotel is perfect ... 10 minutes to the station, 5 minutes to two vaporetto stops, 20 minutes to St Marks. Welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of it all ... fabulous room, great breakfasts and friendly, helpful staff !

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MarkH6072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Don’t get me wrong this hotel looks great in the photos - we thought so and you probably are thinking so right now. However my wife and I had the misfortune of booking a 4 night stay here only to find out it is nothing but a modern day scam. We left after 2 nights (for a hotel that deserves all 4 of its stars, recommendation below) because there were simply too many issues and it was ruining our holiday.

Here is a summary of what we found:

Room
* Random loud clicking and scratching sounds at any time of day and night. Loud enough to disturb sleep. Not sure of cause after 2 days.
* Can easily hear neighbours talking and moving about in room. No doubt they can hear the same of ours.
* Very poor lighting situation. Not helped by fact one lamp would choose randomly to switch off for a few minutes. Lighting cannot be controlled from the bedside and requires multiple trips to the various lamps around the room to switch enough lighting on to be able to see comfortably.
* Other than the door onto the canal, the room has a small side window which has no curtains or barriers of any kind to protect privacy or block light.
* Only one Europlug compatible socket and it is next to the door far from bed and desk. The remainder of the sockets are the Italian vertical 3 narrow-pin style which are incompatible with many Euro -> XYZ plug adaptors.
* The mattress is very hard and at a slight angle.
* We cannot set a pin code on the safe. Instead the physical key must be used, which offers no assurance staff/others have not accessed it. With a pin they would first have to reset the safe which would at least tell us they have tampered with it.
* 3 flights of stairs to most suites with no lift.
* Cracks in walls and ceiling easily visible

Bathroom
* Laughably small.
* Shower drain blocked meaning after 2 minutes your feet are essentially taking a bath and showers must be 5 minutes tops or the bathroom is flooded.
* Sink suffers from similar drainage issues.
* Shaver socket incompatible with my shaver plug, despite the same plug being compatible at other hotels in Italy.
* Manages to simultaneously smell of harsh chemicals from cheap cleaning products and years of neglect.
* Toilet paper was in short supply when we arrived and certainly needed replacement the following day and yet the cleaning staff failed to replace them until we specifically asked.
* Bathroom bin was not emptied before our stay.
* Toiletries are perched precariously on top of a wall-mounted tissue box in a manner in no way fitting of any respectable hotel.

Air conditioning
* Air conditioning is so ineffective it doesn’t cool the room down to a comfortable temperature.
* Controls for air conditioning are only on-off switch as is centrally controlled.
* Air conditioning unit is so noisy it prevents and disturbs sleep.
* Air conditioning unit has accumulated a lot of dust and dirt triggering allergies.

TV
* Terrible channel selection especially compared to other Italian hotels - there are only a handful of channels in total.
* Only 1 is in English and the picture is cropped rendering it unwatchable.

Staff and management
* Absurd rule that guests must leave the key with the front desk to be collected when coming back in. We abided by this rule for the first trip outside and when we came back we received our keys from a member of staff we had not met before with no identification, questions or hesitation.
* As this is a very small hotel the lady who manages the breakfast is also the lady who cleans your room (including the toilet)... and not always in that order! One morning I noticed her exiting a downstairs room with cleaning supplies only to return to the breakfast area a minute later.
* Morning manager laughed off our question about why the aircon can’t be controlled in a patronising way.

Amenities
* The description of the wifi as “high-speed” is exaggerated since bandwidth throttling occurs at 0.5 Mb/s which is slow by 2018 standards.
* The room has no kettle nor complimentary tea or coffee.
* The mini-bar is so jammed-packed full of expensive items there is little room for any personal food or drinks. There was more spare space in the minibar in both the other hotels we stayed at in Italy.

Although each of these issues may seem ok in isolation - the combined effect does not add up to a 4-star experience! Bear in mind that this was after we paid for a room upgrade since our original room was in such a poor state we had little choice but to fork our extra money for a slightly more tolerable room.

There was little point arguing with the manager about these issues since they were so many in number and they seem to be a matter of policy rather than oversight. Examples of cost saving policies are:
- Ancient, centralised air-con
- Poor maintenance of rooms and facilities
- Laughable TV channel selection

We voted with our feet and left after 2 nights since we felt conned by this hotel and wanted to end our holiday on a good note. We stayed at the Best Western Premier Sant’ Elena and had an amazing time there!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 720aryehg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews