We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give Piccolo Guerrato a try”
Review of Pensione Guerrato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pensione Guerrato
Ranked #147 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2007

This apartment is rented through the Pensione Guerrato. The instructions they give you for getting to and from the Pensione and the apartment are to leave everyone at the Rialto vaporetto stop. come to the Pensione and collect the key, pick up your party and head out for the apartment.

This is good advice and sounds like a bit of a bother. It isn't at all. I walked over the Rialto and down the street for 2 minutes and found the Pensione with no trouble. I let them know we were going to join them for breakfast (5 Euros per person) and left with the keys. Walked back across the Rialto, picked up my party and cruised to the apartment following directions from the front desk staff. Friendly and good English.

The apartment is very clean, and warm once you turn on the hot water/heater. I didn't ask about it but we figured it out quickly. The controls are in the kitchen which is well equipped. It's located near a church and has a lovely view of the piazza.

We picked up food to keep in the refrigerator which could be reheated in the microwave for a snack. This turned out to be a good option because the dining in Venice was pricey.

We liked having the freedom to come and go without passing back the key. The kids slept in the kitchen on two twin beds. Our bedroom was one of the largest I had during my trip, as was the bathroom.

We were easy walking distance to St Mark's and the Rialto. We had a blast getting lost.

One night we got lucky enough to hear a serenade from a gondolier as they rowed under the bridge. Amazing. I LOVE Venice!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc_and_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 491 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2007

Lovely hotel just steps from Rialto. Good location to explore the area and not too far from St.Marks Square. Our room was very large but some of the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor are quite small and dark. The view from our room was fantastic...however we were on the top floor (4th) and there are NO elevators....Keep that in mind when you book your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLLocalyocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

by far and away the best pensione we stayed in in europe. great location a short stroll from st marks square. located in wet fish and food market area.

very helpful and friendly staff, rooms are huge or ours was anyway and very clean. ambience thru premises is lovely. breakfast room and breakfast streets ahead of anything else in this class of accomodation.

anyone who can complain about this one could never be pleased

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ziggystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sm8587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kimz92684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#97 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#121 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#106 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#150 of 385 in Venice
946 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#187 of 385 in Venice
531 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#64 of 385 in Venice
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Guerrato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Guerrato

Address: Calle drio la Scimia 240/a | Rialto, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#113 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: RM289 - RM786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensione Guerrato 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the pulsing heart of Venice, adjacent to the vibrant and brightly colored Rialto fish market, it's the perfect place to start experiencing life the venetian way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pensione Guerrato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Guerrato Venice
Pensione Guerrato Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing